We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely local Inn with lots of atmosphere”
Review of The Boot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boot Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Boot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Although we did not stay in the Inn but at a campsite up the road we thought the food and atmosphere in the Inn we great.

The conservatory is lovely and airy with a big comfy leather sofa and also tables for eating, this was the perfect place to relax after a long day's walking.

Both the staff and locals are very welcoming and make you feel like friends. The Brook House down the road just doesn't have the same feel about it at all.

We would definitely recommend here and will be back the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCGC20007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 380 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2010

We stayed here for just the one night - and we were relieved it WAS just for one night because the room was terribly small and cluttered to the extent it was impossible to move around without consulting each other what our movements would be, plus our view (which was extolled on the website) was obscured by the extractor fan on the kitchen roof. The landlord was very friendly and welcoming so full marks for that, but the room was sadly lacking. Yes, we had a dog with us so weren't expecting a luxury room, but our double room bed and breakfast cost £90!! Shabby furniture, crammed into a room that should have been a single, with a fairly basic en-suite bathroom. However, the bed was very comfortable and we had an excellent night's sleep.

The atmosphere in the bar was really good - on the Friday night we were there it was full of locals as the pub was hosting a "Chip Shop" night. It was basically fish and chips, chicken and chips, sausage and chips..........my vegetarian choice was cheese and onion pie and chips. I wasn't impressed - the chips were very nice, my husband really enjoyed his meal, but there was just nothing on the menu for me. Call me fussy, but I prefer to eat something that's not deep fried in lard and I would have liked to have had the choice of something a bit less greasy on the menu.

So a mixed review - location brilliant, deep in the "proper" Lake District, and a brilliant walk straight from the door the next morning (to walk off the chips.....), very friendly and welcoming staff, comfortable bed and very quiet location, but the room was desperately in need of a bit of TLC. If I'd have paid £50 for it I'd have been well pleased, but it was just too expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

A great little pub and small hotel, made us and the dog feel very welcome.
The rooms aren't massive and because of it's remote location there are no TV's in them either. The food and drink were great and was the host's.

Forget the older poor reviews I'm glad I did while booking it.

If coming from the south forget sat navs and drive to it via Ulpha Fell

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We headed for the Boot Inn purely for the New Year celebrations with friends. Word of mouth was that the owners really push the boat out at New Year and we were not disppointed. We did not stay at the hotel as it was fully booked, but certainly aim to in the future as we were very pleasantly surprised by what we did see. Some reviews were critical of the rooms but I understand that they have been recently refurbished and certainly appear to be much better value than other more expensive accomodation in the area. Good beer , very reasonably priced food, an original menu and excellent locally brewed beers. Locals people were friendly and the staff very efficient and welcoming. The new year fireworks could rival the Edinburgh Hogmany, absolutely first class display. Free buffet and a fanntastic location. I can only asssume that the poor ratings for this hotel are dated and have not taken into account the improvements that the new owners have made.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rc1blackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

My stay in the Boot Inn was a no frills very friendly experience.
I was glad i did not take any notice of some of the reviews on here.
I went there with my husband and 10 month old dog who all the staff made a huge fuss of.
Our room was not very big but i was not expecting it to be having stayed in other inns around cumbria.It Was cleaned every day
I was in the room over the kitchen and there was a fan that was on during cooking time but then was switched off.
I thought the sheep made more noise.
The food was freshly cooked with real potatoes and fresh veg nice home cooking and the smell when you passed the kitchen was to die for.Breakfast was more than adequate for a long day walking on the fells,The evening meals were large and i thought i was going to split my sides my stomach was so full.
There was a good range of beers and spirits at the bar all served by friendly staff .
There is a lovely beer garden and childrens play area.
Being a walker i could not think of a better place to stay in Cumbria and i have stayed around the lakes many times.
I think i have found the best place i have stayed in and when i visit again the Boot Inn Eskdale will be where i will stay.
The walks around Eskdale valley are for most ability's and well sign posted for myself who loves being on the top of mountains i was spoilt for choice.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshwalker46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed at The Boot 5 years ago and enjoyed it, so were happy to return. The location is fabulous, in a small village on the quieter western side of the Lake District, which we prefer to the Ambleside/Windermere side, always filled with hoards of tourists.

The Boot changed ownership 3 years ago, we discovered, and is now owned by Robinson's' Brewery. The bedrooms have been brightened up, but the range of real ales offered has reduced because of the brewery tie-in.

If you need a modern, large, comfortable hotel room then go elsewhere: The Boot's bedrooms are olde worlde, our bed would have been too firm for many, the room was too warm at night (with the heating off!) and the shower temperature was very difficult to regulate. There are no TVs in bedrooms because, they say, the reception is poor in the area.

However, there are compensations: staff members are welcoming, cheerful and helpful. Breakfasts are superb: a full range of fruit juices, cereals, yogurts , Cumberland sausages, English bacon, eggs any way you like, tomatoes, mushrooms and beans.

We paid £40 per person per night for bed and breakfast and £20 for our daughter sharing our family room. We thought this was a little expensive compared with other places we've stayed.There is a dinner bed and breakfast option but bear in mind that there are lots of other places nearby which offer good dinners. Perhaps our opinion of The Boot's dinner was spoiled by the fact that they had sacked their chef the previous day and brought in an agency chef who was still finding his way around. Waiting for an hour for our main courses and only receiving a late apology did not impress us!

The Brook House Inn is a 3-minute walk down the lane and offers a wider range of real ales, at lower prices, and we had a good meal there one evening. An even better meal was found on our final night 5 miles away at The Bridge in Santon Bridge.

Overall, a nice place to stay for a short visit but if you can find better at a similar or lower price in such a fabulous location grab it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackPear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2008

Great village, lovely views and countryside, great base for walking.
Lovely beer garden and well kept beer!!
Super playground for kids and plenty of seating outside.
Had to book DBB as it was after April30th.
Rooms dated, need re-furb, but bedding clean and at least we had a family room (so hard to find)
Rooms very hot at night, only 1 window, tea & coffee facilities and clean towles.
Evening meal had to be the biggest let down ever. Ordered at 7.15, a couple of starters arrived by 8-15 , kids starters had been put down as side orders so they didn't arrive.
Then there were dishes that we couldn't have but we did not find out until 8.30, kids were starving and when food arrived it was awful.
I have never had to complain about food but I had to this time, manageress not helpful at all when she asked was there something wrong with food and we said yes it was dreadful ,she told us to complain elsewhere not to her, go and have a go at someone else. She did not like it when we reminded her that she was responsible for the service and food. Thankfully her husband was fantastic and agreed that we could just stay B&B and would not be charged for the food.
it was such a shame, the waiter was superb and worked his socks off.
breakfast was far better (change of chef!!) and plenty of food and choice .
Such a shame a beautiful location, super beer, and atmosphere they should forget cooking evening meals until they find a chef who can cook!!
Don't believe everything it says in brochure or on web, I am still looking for evidence of a belgian chocolate dipping pot and homegrown strawberries. There is plenty of pie on the menu , game, chicken and steak but the chef can't tell them apart , they all loook and taste the same
I would go back to stay but only for B&B

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tabitha22Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boot
3.7 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
7.0 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Woolpack Inn
Woolpack Inn
#2 of 3 in Boot
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
585 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bower House Inn
Bower House Inn
#4 of 10 in Eskdale
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boot Inn

Address: Eskdale Valley, Boot, Eskdale CA19 1TG, England (Formerly the Burnmoor Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale > Boot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boot
Price Range: $116 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boot Inn nestles in the tiny hamlet of Boot, deep in the heart of the Eskdale Valley. Within easy walking distance of The English Lake Districts largest and most majestic fells, yet only 7 miles from the sea. We provide first class food, drink and accommodation with nine letting bedrooms, bar, conservatory and snug areas, we also have ample car parking and a large beer garden. The inn itself has been catering for the hungry and thirsty travellers since the 17th century, offering a selection of traditionally kept cask ales, fine wines, sprits, continental beers, soft drinks and excellent food. At the Boot Inn we endeavour to source as many of our ingredients and most of our produce locally including the almost legendary cumberland sausages. Everybody is welcome included our four legged friends. With real log fires for those chilly autumn, winter or even summer days, a warm welcome is always guaranteed. The valley provides a wealth of opportunity for outdoor activity with Scafell, Great Gable, Harter Fell, Bowfelll, Crinkle Crags and many others all within walking distance without having to cross a single road! Cyclists can pitt themselves against the Hardknott and Wrynose passes, the steepest section of road in England leading to the Duddon Valley and Langdale. For those of a more spiritual and historical interest there is to be found the remains of a Roman Fort in the upper reaches of the valley and the beautiful 14th century church of St Catherines only a short stroll away. Slightly further afield attractions such as Muncaster Castle and Eskdale Golf Course are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Boot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boot Hotel Boot
The Boot Inn Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing