We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy pub”
Review of The Boot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boot Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Boot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

very beautiful pub, however I felt the service was slow and the food was not particularly tasty given its pricey menu! The menu says that all mains come with roasted potatoes, and we had to beg them to bring some potatoes!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for The Boot Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 373 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

we went to this pub today with 5 more people and I found it was one of the most beautiful pubs I've ever been in the UK. The food is quite expensive for what it is, it's meant to be a gastro pub, however I wasn't impressed particularly with neither the service nor the food itself.
The menu said that all the mains were served with roast potatoes, however we've found that we had to ask a couple of times to get them and they made a few mistakes in our bill. I would recommend going purely based on how beautiful it is though.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We are seasoned travelers and decided that a couple of nights in the. Lake District sounded good. Having done some internet searching, we found the offer on the Boot Inn website of dinner, bed and breakfast for 2 nights for 2 people for £150. I'm glad we did. Upon arrival, we were advised that the bedrooms haven't yet been refurbished but are perfectly adequate. We were not disappointed with the room in any way. It was clean, warm comfortable and plenty of space. There was no TV but this was a welcome omission. We also really enjoyed the food. A short menu with a specials board, but this gives the reassurance that the food is real food and not out of packets. Also, fantastic chips and burger! The breakfast is amazing and keeps you going all day until evening meal time. A good mix of guests and a really friendly, homely atmosphere. So much so that we all sat in the conservatory together watching x-factor! Great area for some peace and quiet and real ale. There are also 3 other pubs in short distance and also the narrow gauge railway that runs to Ravenglass. I only wish we had booked another two nights.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Knobjunior1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were staying in Boot and this pub was on our doorstep so perfect for our evening meals....or so we thought. We ordered our meal at 1945 and we were still waiting to eat at 2100. The food was very good but the service was appalling. We were not advised of the delay and no apology was made. Upon paying the barman asked what we had to to eat as he had forgotten. Needless to say, we found somewhere else to eat each night after that!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reiki1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We visited the Boot Inn last year about this time and were extremely disappointed at how things had deteriorated in many ways, following a change in owner/manager. What a relief it was to visit recently and find the place has been taken over again by new owners, the Pennington's, who own a few places in the surrounding area but who have invested time and effort in bringing the Boot back up to scratch. The place has been refurbished and decorated in a very sympathetic way, reflecting the traditional country pub it is. There is a lovely garden area to sit in, on a sunny day. So peaceful and the scenery is out of this world. There is a conservatory area with tables and chairs for eating at and there is the lounge area with open fire for those cold nights where you can also sit and have some food. We found the staff very friendly and informative, unlike those who were working there last year. We ate in the Boot one evening during our stay at Eskdale. The Menu is not huge but ample and reasonably priced. We decided to go for their Fish and Chips with Mushy Peas. It was gorgeous. Large portion of fish with a light, tasty batter and a home made tartare sauce that was to die for. Fantastic real chips and, though I do not really like them that much, good mushy peas. Very satisfying. All washed down with a great selection of well kept real ales. Great to know that we can once again frequent the Boot Inn on our visits to Eskdale. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jinty059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

After a disappointing start to our camping holiday, the Boot Inn and its fantastic staff were our saviours. We checked in on Wednesday evening, under very stressful circumstances. We were immediately put at our ease by Richard, and John. The food was excellent, the newly refurbished bar area cosy and welcoming. Our room was lovely with everything you need. Our dog was made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble, indeed Deborah and Kelly along with Richard and John made sure our stay was a success. Great service, fab food and a very warm welcoming atmosphere. whether you're sharing one of the meat platters, having lamb, breakfast or just coffee the standard is excellent. This truly is a hidden gem, and I can't wait to return. Thanks guys, you were great .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No1cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night to walk scafell. The good. The bar is nice and the food we had that evening was great. Cant say the same about breakfast- see below. Also had a great choice of real ale. The young lad behind the bar was really attentive, shame the older chap behind the bar was not. When asked for a glass of water it came without ice and was warm.
The bad. Stayed in room 4 which was dirty and damp. Bed had seen better days as was lumpy. No internet and no tv in room. Breakfast served in dining room - which has not been renovated old dirty and breakfast served on sticky tables. No menu no fresh fruit or yoghurt. No choice - burnt hash browns, beans or at least tomato sauce served in tiny dish that would usually be used for mayo. Given choice of white or brown toast or mixed. Chose mixed and got all brown some burnt some untoasted. Breakfast not done to same standard as bar food. Asked for no black pudding and surly waitress said cant you just have everything and leave what you don't want! Standard of bed and breakfast appalling- don't let the pictures of the bar sway you- it's window dressing and hides the true state of the rest of the place! Will not return here- ok for a nice pint and a meal but if want to stay over night go elsewhere!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikef63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boot
3.7 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
6.4 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Woolpack Inn
Woolpack Inn
#2 of 3 in Boot
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brook House Inn and Restaurant
4.4 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
573 reviews
2.6 mi away
Forest How Guest House
Forest How Guest House
#1 of 10 in Eskdale
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boot Inn

Address: Eskdale Valley, Boot, Eskdale CA19 1TG, England (Formerly the Burnmoor Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eskdale > Boot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boot
Price Range: $114 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boot Inn nestles in the tiny hamlet of Boot, deep in the heart of the Eskdale Valley. Within easy walking distance of The English Lake Districts largest and most majestic fells, yet only 7 miles from the sea. We provide first class food, drink and accommodation with nine letting bedrooms, bar, conservatory and snug areas, we also have ample car parking and a large beer garden. The inn itself has been catering for the hungry and thirsty travellers since the 17th century, offering a selection of traditionally kept cask ales, fine wines, sprits, continental beers, soft drinks and excellent food. At the Boot Inn we endeavour to source as many of our ingredients and most of our produce locally including the almost legendary cumberland sausages. Everybody is welcome included our four legged friends. With real log fires for those chilly autumn, winter or even summer days, a warm welcome is always guaranteed. The valley provides a wealth of opportunity for outdoor activity with Scafell, Great Gable, Harter Fell, Bowfelll, Crinkle Crags and many others all within walking distance without having to cross a single road! Cyclists can pitt themselves against the Hardknott and Wrynose passes, the steepest section of road in England leading to the Duddon Valley and Langdale. For those of a more spiritual and historical interest there is to be found the remains of a Roman Fort in the upper reaches of the valley and the beautiful 14th century church of St Catherines only a short stroll away. Slightly further afield attractions such as Muncaster Castle and Eskdale Golf Course are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Boot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boot Hotel Boot
The Boot Inn Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing