We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“New Year Getaway”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Gillbank Cottage

Gillbank Cottage from the track
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gillbank Cottage from the track
Living room with wood burning stove. large sofas and wide screen Sky+ TV Wood burning stove in oak fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Gillbank Cottage from the track
Living room with wood burning stove. large sofas and wide screen Sky+ TV
Wood burning stove in oak fireplace
All bedrooms individually made up with linen, towels, shampoo and shower gel provided
Private, secluded cottage accessed by private track and set in its own grouns
Fully enclosed gardens with views across the Birker and Muncaster fells toward Ravenglass and the Ir
Beautiful setting opens on to hundreds of fell and tarn walks from the doorstep
The Eskdale & Ravenglass miniature steam railway runs from the village terminus at Dalegarth
Wastwater and Wasdale are a short drive or a lovely half day's walk from the cottage
St Bees Head and the start of the Wainwright Coast to Coast walk is only miles away
Private track leads up to the cottage from the village of Boot
Step out of the front door into the fells of Eskdale and explore the wonders of the Lake District
Duckegg twin-bedded room with its own sink
Lindsay-tartan twin-bedded room
Library downstairs twin-bedded room
Fell bedroom includes desk and shower ensuite
Living room with leather sofas, throw cushions, oak wood floor and wood and coal burning stove
Private cottage nestled in the fells of the Eskdale valley, Scafell in the background
Floorplan showing ground and first floor rooms
Table football table in the boot room with slate flag stone floor and bench for getting into and out
Kitchen with dining table
Kitchen with cooker
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Boot, Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emilyashe
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Year Getaway”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Stayed over the New Year break with 2 other families and our children. Therefore there was 6 adults and 8 children, ranging from 2-11. We really enjoyed ourselves, however it is very isolated and the hill up to the cottage isn't fun with tired children. But the owner was very accommodating and the actual accommodation was very nice. The only downside was I felt it could have been a little cleaner in places, however it is an old cottage so cobwebs are to be expected and we couldn't really use the log burner as the logs were slightly damp. However this didn't impede our stay at all and I would recommend it for a complete getaway!

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The number of bedrooms and being so isolated
Liked least: The climb back up to the Cottage
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieH03...
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect rural retreat”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We wanted an isolated rural retreat with great views and character and this is what we got. Absolutely perfect, we feel in love with the cottage and would have stayed longer. The kitchen is well equiped, the rooms were clean and ready, even the outside light had been left on for us. Once there we didn't use the car, there are lots of beautiful walks in the area and if you don't want to cook then there is a choice of pubs in the area to go to that serve food. With no light pollution we were able to glimpse the milky way when the clouds parted. Be prepared for no mobile communication until about half way down the hill towards Boot.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Isolation and views
Liked least: Walking back from village up the steep hill
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thods2014
Northampton
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had such a fantastic time as a family, playing games by the fire each night. The local pubs are friendly and great to eat out.
The cottage was amazing with all the room we needed for our family. The football table was a great laugh as well

Date of stay: October 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishka827
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really fantastic stay at Gillbank Cottage”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage was clean and supplied clean bedding and towels and had a well stocked kitchen. Very conveniently located 10mins walk from the local pub which serves great food and some lovely walks right from the doorstep. Had a lovely weekend away with 10 friends. Perfect cottage for a group booking or large family. Table football was an added bonus! Being right at the top of the hill outside if the village meant great views and lovely view of the night sky as was so dark. Loved it!

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INGA A
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow! Don't think about it book it.”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for just 2 nights and wished we could stay longer! The cottage had so much room. .Our group of 7 , three generations. grandparents, parents and 3 teenagers loved the cottage The youngest granddaughter loved the large window seat/ledge in her room and
made a little nest to sit in and read and admire the views, which were fantastic from all of the rooms. None of us wanted to leave and the family who were visiting from Canada voted it as one of the highlights of their holiday in England. I do not understand thecomments made in the last review. The place was spotless, beautiful bedding, comfortable lounge, and very well equipped especially having the wifi. Outdoor there was a large table and plenty of seats for relaxing, eating drinking playing games and the table football was a great hit! We had a very relaxing two days Thankyou Matthew for providing such a great place to stay.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views great kitchen, sitting room and bedrooms
Liked least: The pristine white tablecloth!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mogwah
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, but not 5 star accommodation.”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The lake district is a truly wonderful place to both relax and stretch your legs a bit on the many wonderful walks. However Gillbank cottage was not quite the 5 star luxury cottage they make out it is.

The house although newly renovated could do with some maintainance. The lock on the tiolet door was missing, we had a morning without hot water, the toilets have been renovated to a poor standard and the toaster had seen better days (to be fair we did get a new one delivered). We had scalfolders taking down their scaffolding in the morning which almost caught one of us out whilst trying to us the tiolet. The house was also not that clean and 3 of us had confirmed food poisoning half way during our stay (we were the only ones who drank lots of tap water!!)

You could forgive most of these things but at this price and with the claim of luxury accommodation you expect alot more. Also when we mentioned these problems the owner was not very helpful and we were polite every step of the way.

Review by Alan Young (guest in May 2014)

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasiders...
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“weekend stay”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

good directions to cottage ,lovely cottage, great setup super location with good local pubs with real ale, a nice big table in a well stocked kitchen for everyone to enjoy meals . There were 9 adults and 2 children aged 9 and 5 to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary,everybody enjoyed the weekend with good walks or just sitting round relaxing in the secure gardens for everybody ,we stayed Friday to Sunday ,the weather was good ,which set us up for me and the wife's trip to New York on the Monday

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location . the cottage and my familly of 11 people having fun
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing