We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wrynose Cottage

Boot village beneath Scafell
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boot village beneath Scafell
Wrynose cosy living room Sleep well after a day out on the fells!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Boot village beneath Scafell
Wrynose cosy living room
Sleep well after a day out on the fells!
Newly fitted bathroom with slipper bath and separate shower
Wrynose living room
Wrynose romantic bedroom
Brand new slipper bath
Wrynose Cottage Bedroom
Afternoon tea in our gardens beside the river, looking out on the fells
Boot Village Signpost
Ride on the Ratty - Dalegarth Station is a mere 400m walk from the cottages
Devoke Water
St Catherine's church, Boot village
Wastwater, England's deepest lake
Eskdale Mill, England's oldest working mill, adjacent to our cottages
La'al Ratty! Eskdale and Ravenglass Narrow Gauge Steam Railway
Doctor Bridge over the River Esk
St Bee's beach
Exploring the Roman ruins of Hardknott Fort
Surreal Sunset at Whitehaven Port
Hardknott Roman Fort, situated at the top of the Eskdale Valley
Lingcove Bridge in the Upper Esk Valley
Cycle along the Eskdale Trail
Walking boots airing on our pink granite dry stone walls
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Boot, Eskdale, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
0111690
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The cottage was amazing as were the views, just what I was looking for, will defintaly be booking again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2018
We are delighted you liked the cottage and views and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards from the Select Cottages team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart29
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great little place located in a terrace that includes the other cottages let by the same owner. Lovely setting, only 50yards from the Boot Inn and another pub only two mins further.

The cottage is very well equipped with a lovely stand-alone bath and separate shower, small but we'll set out kitchen and a nice room upstairs.

Parking at the cottages is tight, but no problem.

The owner is very helpful - an item we left was posted to us as soon as we asked them to have a look for it.

We used the cottage as a base for a birthday weekend away and to cycle the Wrynose and Hardknott passes, for which it was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2016
Dear Stuart,

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed the birthday celebrations and your time with us. We are most impressed you managed to cycle up (and down!) Wrynose and Hardknott passes, you certainly took on a tough, but no doubt rewarding challenge there, it's definitely not for the fainthearted!

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo P
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage in an amazing location”
Reviewed February 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage last summer to explore the Lake District. Boot is a great location and we were able to walk direct from the cottage on a number of walks in different directions. The pub (which is literally 'two doors down' the road) serves good food and is a lovely local pub to grab a drink at the end of your walk. There is also plenty to see around Boot with Eskdale Mill next door, St Catherine's Church, Stanley Ghyll Force and Hard Knot Pass / Fort not too far. The Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway is great - we spent the day in Ravenglass. Scafell Pike is also very close.
The cottage itself was lovely - fine for 2 people. Cosy living room with table for dining - and kitchen with everything you need. Parking was tight (luckily I have a small car!) but enough spaces for all the cottages. There is a garden behind the cottages with BBQ facilities and a stream running down the bottom, with great views of the hills above you.
Highly recommended!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review and for highly recommending us. The location is indeed amazing.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J0hnMarsd...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“First Class Cottage in a Lovely Hamlet”
Reviewed January 25, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Bridge End Farm offers 7 cottages to stay in in Boot, Eskdale. We spent a long weekend in Wrynose Cottage which has one bedroom. The cottage is superbly finished, well equipped, warm and homely. Every aspect has been finished to a high standard. This is our second stay here – our first was ten years ago and we returned as an anniversary treat!

The cottages are situated in a small hamlet. Despite this there are two pubs in easy walking distance - The Boot Inn and The Brook House Inn. Both have a good selection of beers and other drinks, friendly helpful staff and excellent food. Of the two Brook House has a more adventurous menu and is a bit more expensive. (There is a third pub half a mile away called The Woolpack Inn but we felt no need to go to it).

Boot is well located for reaching all the main walks such as Scafell and Black Combe, as well as there being many walks around the village and surrounding area.

Select Cottages through whom the bookings are made are excellent to deal with.

I have absolutely no hesitation to recommend these cottages to anyone who wants a comfortable base to explore the western Lake District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 9, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 9, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and comfortable set up
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;