We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Much for too little but great potential”
Review of Beech House

Beech House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beech House
Ranked #5 of 5 Greystoke B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a lovely old house with a welcoming landlady who cooks an excellent breakfast mostly of her own produce. It is close to an excellent and well known pub for you supper. However, £80 for a double room for a night is far too much. Our room was totally lacking in detail and facilities. By all means stay here - there is lots going for it - but whilst the rooms are is so spartan don't pay the present asking price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipConwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

I find myself confused by the other reviews.
My friend and I stayed one night and certainly Jill is friendly, but the overwhelming sense was of starkness. I was in a large room with four single beds and absolutely no decoration apart from a few stuffed toys - no pictures, one chair, one chest of drawers. There were no drinking glasses, no kettle and no TV or radio. Jill did apologise without prompting, for not offering a cup of tea on arrival, but I, in common with many, like a fresh brew when I get up in the morning, and sometimes during the night.
Increasingly internet access is becoming prt of dailly life, mobile phone signal in Greystoke is very shaky, so wifi would have been a boon - its available in the nearby pub, but not at Beech House.
Cooked breakfast was good, we were driving, but you could cycle all day on it!
This is a great old house, in a lovely village, but it does need a little more attention before it can be described as any more than a basic B+B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Having tried to book into the local pub in Greystoke which was unfortunately full, the landlady passed us onto Beech House who had a room available, still within the village, which was great as we were visiting friends in Greystoke. What a delight Beech House was! In fact we were quite pleased the pub was full, and we had to stay at Beech House instead. Will and Jill bent over backwards to accomodate us and couldn't have been friendlier. They gave us a tour of their fantastic garden, as we are both keen gardeners, and showed us their pigs, ducks and hens. The breakfast in the morning consisted of their own sausages from their own pigs and fresh eggs from their hens. It doesn't get fresher than that does it! The house itself, and the grounds, have been beautifully restored. Greystoke is a charming village, definately worth a visit if you are in the Lakes. This break was a refreshing change from dingy B&B's and we will definately come and stay at beech House next time we visit our friends in Greystoke. thank you Will and Jill for lovely stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Beech house in January whilst cycling the coast to coast route. Will and Jill have created a really special bed and breakfast with perfect facilities for those both cycling in the area or just visiting. The house itself is a testament to their skills - having been a wing of a country house it has been renovated to an amazing standard, the kitchen is especially charming, complete with copper pans and lovely old range. The bedroom was fab, making such a welcome change from the usual drab, formica ridden hovels that you find yourself in quite often when doing thigs like the coast to coast. The real strength of Beech house though has to be the breakfast. these guys are obviously passionate foodies and produce not only their opwn eggs and veg but there own bacon and sausages too and my god they were good..! Greystoke is a lovely little village and a walk around the castle grounds is recommended, but really, for us, the highlight was this cracking little home run by people who have put thought and love into what they do. If ONLY this was the case more often.

Room Tip: great double bed in family room for 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank DevonHendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greystoke hotels
3.6 mi away
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
#1 of 1 in Greystoke
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stafford House
Stafford House
#1 of 5 in Greystoke
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Boot & Shoe
The Boot & Shoe
#2 of 5 in Greystoke
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House

Address: Beech House Berrier Road, Greystoke CA11 0UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Greystoke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greystoke
Price Range: $118 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beech House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech House Greystoke, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing