We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab New Years Break!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Myself, my partner and our friends with twin babies decided yo get away from our home town for New Year, a nice log cabin with a hot tub we thought, but seeing as we decided this a week or so before Christmas we knew it was a tall order. We found Thanetwell on Hoseasons and booked up for a Superior Lodge with said hot tub!! When we arrived, after asking directions... always a good idea to print off the directions that are given as our satnav gave up and Thanetwell really is in the middle of nowhere! Once found the park managers were very helpful and gave us the keys and left us to settle in, clean, spacious and with great views I would have no complaints whatsoever, although after our first nights sleep the beds could do with being a little bit bigger! but apart from that all good, fab hot tub and great lodge facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheSmiths02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 453 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2010

Arrived at Thanet Wells to be greeted by freindly helpfull staff. Lovely spacious lodge with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, walkin wardrobe, open plan kitchen & living room. Fantasic views overlooking the mountains. Very clean & well equiped, home from home. We stayed in a superior lodge 2, number 28, which also had a hot tub, amazing, relaxing & lovely & warm. Views may be a little different if your lodge is set futher back. If booking request a lodge with front mountain views. Cannot fault it, the only down side, is that local pub (Boot & Shoe) great food, is about 4 mile away, but the taxi has to come from Penrith to take you back & costs around £30.00 to get back to lodges. Ask at reception for card with Andys, tel number on as he is a local who will take you back for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joco37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

The part itself is clean and well looked after. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The lodge was moderately clean. Now for the bad stuff...

Superior lodge? I don't think so. As far as I could make out, it was classed as "superior" because it had a hot tub, but the lodge itself barely rated standard. Internally it lacked comfort we associate with superior. Towels and bedding of the cheapest quality. There was no homely factor e.g. pictures on the walls. Supposedly for 6, if this was adults I'm guessing they'd be very small people to be accomodated here.

I read somewhere they had an environmental policy. However, none of the many internal lights were low energy. Switch on the ceiling light in the living area and on comes 6 standard light bulbs. How about a floor light? I don't want to have to sheild my eyes in the evening while watching the TV!

However, the one thing that really will prevent us going back here or recommending it is the astonishing lack of privacy. Sitting in these lodges is like sitting in a fish bowl. You're about 14 feet either side of the next lodge and they all line up perfectly. This means you can see into the next lodge, through its windows into the lodge on the other side of that. At the very least some of these lodges are facing the wrong way. Somebody just hasn't thought about it.

Again, don't be fooled by the photographs on their website, lots of the lodges don't have views.

Finally, Thanet Well, like so many others don't consider leaving guests a little welcome pack of a dishcloth, some dishwasher tablets, etc. Little things like that matter yet cost only £2 - £3 a time. By the way, if you want to buy dishwasher tablets in the onsite shop they're 50 pence each, so be warned, that's an indication of the shop's pricing.

We aren't returning and not recommending here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randolphous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We spent a lovely anniversary at Thanet Well, not being the outdoor type I was a bit apprehensive at the thought of a weekend away in the lakes for my 2nd anniversary :-) thankfullly (!) the lodge was amazing, beautifully decorated with a bathroom for him and her and a lovely big fridge freezer for my wine and dine in for £10's - loved the decor, the kitchen was fab and the rooms were so tastefully decorated am hoping the other half has booked up for this year's anniversary as I had a lovely time :-)

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Just don't bother stopping here,Dirty lodge.meant to be superior,Hot tub over looked by at least 6 other lodges,No kids nor drinks like shown in the photos allowed in the hot tub,View is of other lodges not of the scenery,Staff unhelpful and did not want to help when displeasure was shown said it is luck of the draw when booking to which lodge you get. When complaining about the dirty lodge staff knew it was dirty but could not clean them as they have no carpet cleaner and would need to hire one which left the carpets wet so we would have to go out for the day.Run like a military camp rules and regulations read to you before you enter the lodge(1 strike and you are out).No area for kids to play around the lodges only on the play area which consists of 2 swings and 1 slide. Lodges are so close you can watch next doors tv.Shop very expensive.No washing machines as advertised.Private and secluded this is a joke.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gromitsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This was our second stay at Thanet well having had a great time the previous year we rebooked. Unfortunately our experience this time was disappointing. The lodge is fab, the location is fab. The rules and regs for use in the hot tub are a joke.

Having seen the advert with 2 people sitting in the hot tub with a glass of champagne we thought we would follow suit and to be safe we brought our own plastic champagne glasses. As we had done the previous year. Alas the manager was unhappy and stopped everyone from drinking in the hotub not only that but you were not allowed to bring your outside chair to the side of the hot tub. Apparently Health and Safety now meant that you could no longer enjoy your relaxing hot tub with a glass of wine nor could you sit with your guests because they were trying to discourage people away from the hot tub !!! Why have a hot tub I ask myself. This really spoilt our stay. We were being treating like kids not adults.

So if thats what you were expecting you may not want to go. We found it to be run like a military establishment instead of how it had been the previous year, So alas we have found somewhere else where you are not only provided with plastic galsses they give you a bottle of champagne on arrival for use in their hot tubs. Wont be going back to Thanet Well...

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Just returned from a fantastic stay at Thanetwell.
My family and I were blown away by the standard of the lodges. Cleaniness, friendliness of the staff and location were second to none. We stayed at lodge no. 24 and the view of the fells was amazing.
Although not situated in the heart of the lakes, visiting the tourist towns of, Windermere and Kendall are less than 50 minutes away, and the scenery on the way is breathtaking.
There are plenty of pubs within a six mile radius which are all including in the information pack you receive when you arrive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandaj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greystoke
22.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
18.9 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
11.4 mi away
Bassenthwaite Lakeside Lodges
Bassenthwaite Lakeside Lodges
#1 of 6 in Bassenthwaite
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanet Well Lodge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanet Well Lodge Retreat

Address: Greystoke CA11 0XX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Greystoke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Greystoke
Price Range: $69 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanetwell Lodge is a beautiful self catering Scandinavian style wooden lodge situated in the heart of the Northern Lakes surrounded by unspoiled countryside and fantastic views. it is the ideal base for countryside pursuits or just somewhere to “get away from it all”... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thanet Well Lodge Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanetwell Hotel Greystoke
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat Greystoke, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing