We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, quite and peaceful sorroundings”
Review of Stafford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stafford House
Ranked #1 of 5 Greystoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I have just been to Stafford House. What a great place..Peaceful sorroundings. Hazel and her mum were so friendly, but unobtrusive and so helpful. I would recommended to anybody. The place is heaven on earth. Thank you. Zaida

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
Thank zm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 212 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

We spent one night here, in the double with ensuite shower room. The welcome was warm and we appreciated the sitting area on the top floor. We had two reservations - piped music at breakfast (which was turned off when we asked, as we were the only guests that morning), and the basket of pot pourri in the bedroom - we had to put it outside in the sitting area. Otherwise, it was all good, especially the porridge and the bacon.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olliebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

What a wonderful place to stay. Hazel (and her mother) made us extremely welcome. We stayed in the double with en suite - what a beautiful room! Everything you could wish for was available and I am sure if it wasn't there it would soon be made available. The breakfast was fantastic - more than enough. A huge thank you and you will go highly
recommended. We hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhjackieholl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

3 friends and i recently completed the cycling version of the coast to coast and used the bunkhouse option at this hotel. After a weary day in the saddle it was a joy to see this immaculate place.
If you go for a beer in the local pub (Excellent food by the way) take a torch as it's quite dark on the way back to Stafford House.

We ordered our breakfast and the owners mother brought to our kitchen, we were so impressed we washed up!
I will be returning...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carterkasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

What a fantastic place the "Stafford House" is, from the moment you arrive you can tell the place is run by someone who cares and has a great eye for detail, All the little things, fresh fruit, flowers toiletries,everything and more you could wish for.all spotlessly clean and inviting.

Very peaceful and relaxing, beautiful gardens, with many different birds and red squirrels running around the grounds.

Breakfast....wow, Superbly cooked and presented with plenty of local produce "proper thick cut bacon", you won't need to eat for the rest of the day.

I've been in the hospitality industry for over 35 years and this little place puts many others in the shade.

Fantastic.......

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We booked this B&B from the website but the photos there don't do it justice. Everyone was so welcoming & the room and grounds were lovely. Hazel showed us around the lodges which were immaculate (the kitchens there were nicer than ours at home!). The breakfast was lovely with so much choice - they seem to have thought of everything that you could need with excellent attention to detail. There was fresh fruit in the room with a good choice of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. We stayed in the double room with a shared bathroom and it was all spotless. We will definitely recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trickate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Hazel was very welcoming, The room and bathroom very clean and cosy.
There was a good choice for breakfast, I would be happy to recommend to friends,
Thank you for a very pleasent stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazred_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greystoke hotels
0.1 mi away
The Boot & Shoe
The Boot & Shoe
#2 of 5 in Greystoke
178 reviews
3.6 mi away
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
#1 of 1 in Greystoke
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beech House
Beech House
#5 of 5 in Greystoke
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford House

Address: Greystoke CA11 0TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Greystoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greystoke
Price Range: $114 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stafford House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Stafford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford House Hotel Greystoke
Stafford House Greystoke, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing