We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English country guest house at it's very best”
Review of Stafford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stafford House
Ranked #1 of 5 Greystoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A short detour from the M6 at Penrith roundabout this quirky Grade II folly has been turned into a fabulous B & B by the hard work and determination of Hazel Knight. We stayed in the twin bedded room and the accommodation was lovely with peaceful, beautiful gardens; comfortable beds; superb breakfasts that'll set you up for the whole day, and finishing luxury touches such as fluffy bathrobes (useful as 2 of the rooms have a shared bathroom), tea tray with fruit and biscuits in bedroom and bathroom cosmetics. Welcoming local pub within walking distance and great towns to visit nearby. Perfect for an overnight stop, a few days relaxing in this often overlooked part of Cumbria or somewhere to take overseas visitors who want to experience the English guest house and Landlady at their very best.

Room Tip: bathrobes provided; not all mobile phones have signal in area; breakfasts are large so don't ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuftyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 214 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

After four years of C2C trips this over nighter has to be the best. Bunkhouse and double room both with ensuite wet rooms. Warm and homely, very clean with drying facilities and lock up bike storage. Hazel made the booking very easy with e mails giving instructions for arrival and also booking us into the local pub for meals ( required because of the popularity and reputation for excellent meals ) Musn't forget Ian who greeted us on arrival and was a fund of knowledge about the local area and C2C travel.
If your cycling Whitehaven to Sunderland, do yourself a favour and stop here, believe me you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOCCannockChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

just done c2c whitehaven to sunderland,ian showed us to the bunkhouse,4 bunks with ensuite plus 2 singles also with wet room,lovely and warm and nice and clean.well recommended.dave,boyd ,ken ,chloe and dan.great for cyclists,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in the twin room at Stafford Lodge in August 2012 for 3 nights.

Hazel and her Husband were very welcoming, and made us feel at home throughout the weekend. They made sure we had everything we needed, and met us every day for a quick chat, and bottles of fresh mineral water :)

The house and grounds are just gorgeous, and the local pub 'The Boot and Shoe' has some top class food and beer. It's very small and incredibly popular, so make sure you book a day ahead for a table.

The room we stayed in at Stafford Lodge was immaculately clean every day, with some really nice personal touches, like fresh garden flowers and fresh fruit.

The breakfasts were gorgeous - we had a choice of anything we wanted. The bacon and sausages were incredible, and ... OMG ... the best omelette I've have ever had.

We shared a bathroom with another room on the floor, which I wasn't sure about at first, but it worked out to be fine. Again loads of personal touches to make you feel at home, like a huge choice of toiletries. I think Hazel must check it every few hours, because it was always spotless!

The location was excellent for touring around the lakes, and easy to get to Hadrian's Wall, Northumberland and the coast. It is just a short drive to the M6, so perfect for stopping off on the way to Scotland, and that is definitely what we plan to do in the future.

A fantastic weekend - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisD42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great place to stay on Coast to Coast bike ride.
Stayed with 3 family members. Shower gel provided which helps with cutting down on load on bike.
Hazel and husband very welcoming. Clean accommodation, good value. Could not fault!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tigerwhite00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Yep, others knew of this beautiful spot as we could only manage to book one night. Surroundings enchanting. Very clever gardening with vegetables melding in with garden plants - (must try that). Spotless large room even large sitting room outside it. No skimping on breakfast here and can cook porridge. A real break from suburbia. Managed to come off that hamster wheel and relax here. They really worked at making your stay a good one. Thank you both.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Parking within the grounds Hazel greeted us on arrival and gave us a tour. Staying in the renovated barn which was amazing. we had our own kitchen, bedroom and bathroom which was gleaming. In the fridge we had bread, milk, fruit juice and butter with tea, coffee and sugar all in jars - no sachets in sight. We enjoyed our evening meal in the Shoe and Boot this is the only restaurant and pub in Greystoke which serves up farmers portions and boy did we struggle but wait we are on holiday and ate the lot and is very reasonably priced. In the morning we leisurely enjoyed a continental breakfast, and a walk round the grounds prior to heading off home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotlandAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greystoke
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Boot & Shoe
The Boot & Shoe
#2 of 5 in Greystoke
181 reviews
3.6 mi away
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
#1 of 1 in Greystoke
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beech House
Beech House
#5 of 5 in Greystoke
14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Stafford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford House

Address: Greystoke CA11 0TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Greystoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greystoke
Price Range: $119 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stafford House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Stafford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford House Hotel Greystoke
Stafford House Greystoke, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing