We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DOCCannockChase”
Review of Stafford House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stafford House
Ranked #1 of 5 Greystoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cannock chase
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DOCCannockChase”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

After four years of C2C trips this over nighter has to be the best. Bunkhouse and double room both with ensuite wet rooms. Warm and homely, very clean with drying facilities and lock up bike storage. Hazel made the booking very easy with e mails giving instructions for arrival and also booking us into the local pub for meals ( required because of the popularity and reputation for excellent meals ) Musn't forget Ian who greeted us on arrival and was a fund of knowledge about the local area and C2C travel.
If your cycling Whitehaven to Sunderland, do yourself a favour and stop here, believe me you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOCCannockChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
99
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

just done c2c whitehaven to sunderland,ian showed us to the bunkhouse,4 bunks with ensuite plus 2 singles also with wet room,lovely and warm and nice and clean.well recommended.dave,boyd ,ken ,chloe and dan.great for cyclists,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in the twin room at Stafford Lodge in August 2012 for 3 nights.

Hazel and her Husband were very welcoming, and made us feel at home throughout the weekend. They made sure we had everything we needed, and met us every day for a quick chat, and bottles of fresh mineral water :)

The house and grounds are just gorgeous, and the local pub 'The Boot and Shoe' has some top class food and beer. It's very small and incredibly popular, so make sure you book a day ahead for a table.

The room we stayed in at Stafford Lodge was immaculately clean every day, with some really nice personal touches, like fresh garden flowers and fresh fruit.

The breakfasts were gorgeous - we had a choice of anything we wanted. The bacon and sausages were incredible, and ... OMG ... the best omelette I've have ever had.

We shared a bathroom with another room on the floor, which I wasn't sure about at first, but it worked out to be fine. Again loads of personal touches to make you feel at home, like a huge choice of toiletries. I think Hazel must check it every few hours, because it was always spotless!

The location was excellent for touring around the lakes, and easy to get to Hadrian's Wall, Northumberland and the coast. It is just a short drive to the M6, so perfect for stopping off on the way to Scotland, and that is definitely what we plan to do in the future.

A fantastic weekend - highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisD42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool00
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great place to stay on Coast to Coast bike ride.
Stayed with 3 family members. Shower gel provided which helps with cutting down on load on bike.
Hazel and husband very welcoming. Clean accommodation, good value. Could not fault!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tigerwhite00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Yep, others knew of this beautiful spot as we could only manage to book one night. Surroundings enchanting. Very clever gardening with vegetables melding in with garden plants - (must try that). Spotless large room even large sitting room outside it. No skimping on breakfast here and can cook porridge. A real break from suburbia. Managed to come off that hamster wheel and relax here. They really worked at making your stay a good one. Thank you both.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Parking within the grounds Hazel greeted us on arrival and gave us a tour. Staying in the renovated barn which was amazing. we had our own kitchen, bedroom and bathroom which was gleaming. In the fridge we had bread, milk, fruit juice and butter with tea, coffee and sugar all in jars - no sachets in sight. We enjoyed our evening meal in the Shoe and Boot this is the only restaurant and pub in Greystoke which serves up farmers portions and boy did we struggle but wait we are on holiday and ate the lot and is very reasonably priced. In the morning we leisurely enjoyed a continental breakfast, and a walk round the grounds prior to heading off home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed June 21 and 22, 2012 in a room with two twin beds ( I was traveling in England with my daughter and son-in-law who had a lovely room of their own) Fantastic room with fresh fruit and coffee/tea, lovely bathroom down the hall that was shared with said daughter and son-in-law and in which was supplied soaps and lotions. On one night we went up to the spacious and beautiful den/tv room to watch television before bed. outstanding accomodations, lovely hostess and host. Good breakfasts and friendly conversations. Greystoke is a lovely area and close to the lakes. easy daytrips.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greystoke
4.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
341 reviews
5.9 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
7.8 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
3.4 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 10 in Penrith
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stafford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stafford House

Property: Stafford House
Address: Greystoke, Greystoke CA11 0TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Greystoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greystoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stafford House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stafford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford House Hotel Greystoke
Stafford House Greystoke, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing