We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for walkers”
Review of Stork Hotel

Stork Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stork Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frizington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Review written in the context of undertaking Wainwright’s Coast to Coast Walk. Accommodation arranged by Macs Adventures. Short drive off the route.Warm welcome and farewell. Very good pick-up and drop-off service to nearby locations. Good range of real ales in the bar. Good sized evening pub meals and satisfactory breakfast choices. Separate tables in the dining room. Packed lunches provided. Two bars, one with large screen TV. Small lounge with TV. Bedrooms comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here after first day of walking coast2coast..Excellent choice.
Very efficient and cheerful free collection and return to ennerdale.
Rooms were warm,clean and comfortable.Great pint of Black Sheep @£2.60p..cheapest onroute and kept well.
Try the sirloin steak..this was very good indeed with fantastic choice of sauces.
This place is just what walkers want and we can recommend.
Not the very best on the route but certainly the best in the area

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here for one night on the C2C route and it served a purpose in a popular area where alternatives are limited. The best feature was the fantastic shower - very welcome after a long walk but the rooms were otherwise very small and tired. The bathroom in the single room is so small that it is impossible to sit on the toilet but i suppose it could be ideal for practising contortionists. Frustratingly the wi-fi was not available in our double room, as advertised (no signal). Food was at the basic / no frills end of the spectrum but the bar was welcoming and we had a nice bottle of NZ wine.
The pick up service worked well and arrived within 5 minutes of our call, however, we hadn't realised that there was only one return drop off in the morning. Everyone was herded out at 0830 prompt. This was earlier than we would have liked and meant that we were bunched up with the other walkers for the rest of the day which was very annoying.

Room Tip: Ask for room with wi-fi & mobile signal if you need this, as our room didn't have either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGourmetVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Booked for one night whilst on Coast to Coast. Was brilliant, from moment we were collected, to moment we were returned to the C2C route. Room was warm, modern, clean and comfortable. staff were all very welcoming, helpful and friendly. Food both in the evening and at breakfast was excellent. Lunchtime sandwich was also superb!
If you stop roundabouts go for the Stork!

Room Tip: Best overall from our entire experience on Coast to Coast walk. Best quality and value for evening m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClementineHolmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This place is clearly used to Coast to coast walkers and is very well set up to look after them including the pick-up service from Ennerdale (phone while still on high ground or from the phone box by the school as there's no reception in Ennerdale Bridge) and drop off at 8.30 the next morning. Our room was small but adequate with a standard double bed, the bathroom well-designed and the shower powerful. Food was good homemade pub food, massive quantities, served in the bar or separate dining area. Good atmosphere with locals dining too and a roaring open fire. Just right for what we needed. Our score of 3/5 is based on the range of experiences we had over 17 days on the C2C walk.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Received a very friendly and warm welcome as well as a good evening dinner and breakfast. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well decorated. Many thanks go to the landlord for picking us up and running us back to Patterdale.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

A great authentic Inn with a really warm welcome and great traditional home cooked food

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnerng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stork Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stork Hotel

Address: Rowrah Road | Rowrah, Frizington CA26 3XJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Frizington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Frizington
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stork Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a wonderful view of the surrounding fells, we are situated on the edge of the village at the doorstep of the Rowrah international carting stadium and the Coast to Coast cycle way. Two miles from Ennerdale village first stop for coast to coast walkers to whom we provide a free pickup and drop-off service to anyone staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Stork Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing