We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thorntrees Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Stork Hotel(Frizington)
$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ennerdale Country House Hotel(Cleator)(Great Value!)
$78
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridge Hotel(Buttermere)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Manor(St. Bees)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacote Hotel(St. Bees)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
83
22
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
22
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bwarm welcomepacked lunchstayed herefox and houndscoast to coastlocal pubwonderful breakfastshort walkon arrivalst beesrooms are tastefully decorateddinner reservationsboot roomfree wifishepherd's armsday's walk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 108 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

All aspects of our stay at Thorntrees B&B with Ros and Billy were fantastic. After our first days walking the C2C, Ros greeting us at the bottom of the drive, having phoned to check we were ok and to offer a lift if required, as we were late arriving, to tea and biscuits; lovely rooms; booking a table for us at the local pub for our evening meal; stuffing our walking boots with newspaper to dry; comfy beds; a fab breakfast and packed lunches to order, we could not have asked for more.
Great place to stay for anyone's first night of the coast to coast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

A great B and B with the best breakfast ever , quality items , hosts great , a must stay in a quaint little village .thanks roz and billy,roz makes a great packed lunch that would probably feed 2 .rooms are lovely and warm after a great walk from st bees and the local pubs are within 50 metres!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanataluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

On arrival we were taken into the kitchen and given tea and a great welcome. The rooms were well appointed, the beds comfortable and everything was immaculately clean. The breakfast was excellent. I did find that sound travelled well within the house. I thought the packed lunch could have been better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyNomad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed at thorntrees for one night,what more can I say.We had a very warm welcome by the landlady Ross & husband Billy.Best nights sleep in a fantastic big bed.Our room was spotless clean & the best breakfast we have ever had in a bb.Already booked for next year but staying 3 nights to see more of the lovely country side in Cumbria thanks again for our wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betty476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for one night, it has the comfiest beds ever,we had a great nights sleep, rooms are a good size and tastefully decorated. The owners Roz and Billy are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them.There is a fantastic local pub just a stones throw away and they do lovely pub meals. Roz makes a fantastic cooked breakfast which sets you up for the day ahead. Would definatley recommend Thorntrees for your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debandshaunharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews