We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night is way too short”
Review of Ghyll Farm B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ghyll Farm B & B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the farm as part of our C2C walk. We were picked up from the pub in Ennerdale Bridge and we were given information and instruction on the best way to commence the walk.
The room was excellent with beautiful views - so peaceful. The breakfast was delightful and the packed lunch was tremendous. We will definitely go back to the area and stay there because it was such a lovely place.

Room Tip: They all appeared lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mouldyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 125 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in September, in order to walk those peaks in Wainwright’s Western Fells which I hadn’t already covered. It’s a great base for exploring Ennerdale.

Ghyll Farm feels remote – it’s at the end of a long winding lane – which is ideal if you want peace and quiet and a good night’s sleep. On the other hand, it’s a short drive to Ennerdale Bridge, which has two good places to eat, and not far to Whitehaven or Cockermouth, if you want to shop.

Roger and Chris were welcoming hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts and packed lunches were delicious. The bedroom and ensuite bathroom was very smart – like staying in a four-star hotel – with a lovely view of the fells.

I thought the room rate was good value, given the high standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james2anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My mother and I spent a night here on our Coast to Coast walk. The breakfast was excellent and they even had vegetarian sausage for us. It was by far our best decorated B&B on the trip, clean and well thought out rooms. We only wish we could have stayed more than one night...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here with friends on Coast to Coast walk, following a day of walking in the rain. Roger and Chris dried our clothes and boots and were welcoming, helpful, consumate hosts, Roger provided transportation and excellent info on best route to take. Sleek, contemporary, very comfortable room and bathroom in charming old stone farm setting. Excellent breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trustingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and stayed here a couple of weeks ago while on the Coast to Coast walk...we were picked up by Roger along with several others at the pub in Ennerdale Bridge after our dinner and arrived at Ghyll in time for a wonderful sunset. Roger's advice and guidance the next morning were helpful and you couldn't ask for a better breakfast. I only wish we could have stayed a week...we'll be back to the Lake District again and would love to return here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMC425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Arrived here after the first day of the coast to coast walk from St Bees, and were exhausted and soaked by the time we'd walked from town (definitely take advantage of the lifts offered by the owners!).

The room was lovely, one of the nicest b&b rooms we have stayed in, with a luxury bathroom! All our clothes were dried by the owners (for a tiny fee) and breakfast the next morning was perfect. We also could then appreciate some lovely views over Ennerdale from our room.

They also kindly provided us with printed directions and advice to get back onto the c2c route the next day.

Very much recommended- dont let the small extra distance from Ennerdale Bridge put you off!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martindesousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was only able to stay here one night during my Coast to Coast walk, but I wish I could have stayed longer. An exceptionally comfortable and large room, separate from the farm house, with great views and facilities. Its a place I will definitely go back to. The breakfast was excellent, and the advice provided by Roger & Christine was of great value. A real friendly place.

Room Tip: I had an apartment called 'Tan'. It is in a converted barn; I think there is at least one si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lol4874Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ghyll Farm B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghyll Farm B & B

Address: Ghyll Farm Ennerdale Bridge, Ennerdale Bridge CA26 3YA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ennerdale Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ennerdale Bridge
Price Range: $121 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghyll Farm B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away from it all at the end of single track road, Ghyll Farm is in the heart of Ennerdale. It has comfortable, high standard accommodation in one of the most peaceful valleys in the English Lake district with spectacular views of the Ennerdale fells and valley and easy access to the walking routes. The unspoilt coast and beaches are within easy reach. The B & B is recently refurbished and finished to a high specification. Upon opening we were awarded a 4 star rating from the AA. We have two superking/twin bedrooms and one three bed family room, all rooms are ensuite with a walk in shower. Heating and hot water are all supplied from environmentally friendly Biomass boiler and solar panels. Your breakfast will be freshly prepared and cooked to order using local produce (when available). There is an outdoor individual seating area and guests are welcome to walk areound the garden, meadow and wildlife pond. Benches are provided for you to sit and take in the spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ghyll Farm B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghyll Farm B & B Ennerdale Bridge, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing