We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor(St. Bees)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seacote Hotel(St. Bees)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Stork Hotel(Frizington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveler rating
182
230
96
47
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
182
230
96
47
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening mealpatio doorsjacuzzi bathbreakfast in bedon arrivalgrounds are lovelylick of paintfour poster bedlovely hoteldog friendly hotelcountry houselake districtnight dealboth nightsboth morningsbooked this hotelbar area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
551 - 556 of 579 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2009

First impressions of location and gardens are good...BUT inside and rooms are a complete let down. Furnishing is shabby and stained; a thorough clean to remove cobwebs and black mould from shower screens would help. General competence and attitude of staff is poor, and we were put off the food after the first breakfast fiasco! According to other guests we had a near miss by avoiding dinner too!! This hotel should be closed for a complete refurb and staff retraining ( including talking and laughing about quests when they think no one is listening).Not very professional!!!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BethMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2009

Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We have taken your comments on board & can inform you that we are aware the hotel is in need of some refurbishment which will hopefully take place soon. With regards to staff performance; your comments have helped us to identify some key training issues that will be addressed immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Stayed for one night, booked thro Oxford Hotels central reservations line for the price of £54 for B&B for two and asked for a room with sitting area. After three attempts, the hotel manager finally gave us a room that was satisfactory. She was very helpful and went out of her way to satisfy us with suitable accommodation for the night.
Dinner at £59 for two courses for two people, including wine seemed a good bet.
We both had the same starter of Sea Bream on Lemon spiced Rice which was very good.
The main courses of Duck Breast("cooked pink please") and Steak("cooked medium rare please") were both sent back to the kitchen as being overcooked and even at the second attempt was not very good, perhaps we had been put off by the first go!
Breakfast was very good quality but spoiled by the appallingly slow service that was provided by a single waitress who brought one item at a time!(retraining is surely required in this area)
Overall the total cost of £113 was not very good value for money, we would not stay here again nor would we recommend any of our friends to stay either.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinyTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2009

I am extremely disappointed that you commented you were unhappy with the service you received in our restaurant & I am pleased you spoke with me about this during your stay. Your comments have really helped us identify some major shortfalls in our restaurant service & we have been able to address these training issues with our staff, thank you.

With regards to the food you received during dinner; I have spoken with my chef & he wishes to pass on his apologies that this was not received as would have been expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

My husbankd and I stayed at the Ennerdale House Hotel Mid April this year. We have a lovely room overlooking the gardens and the Italian fountains etc., these looked a bit grubby when we arrived but during our stay they were cleaned and the difference was amazing. The hotel and been busy over the Easter Weekend and that was obvious as we were unable to order the duck on they Monday or Tuesday nights, but it was back on the menu on the Wednesday and it was well worth the wait. We always managed to find food to our taste from the evening menu and enjoyed every bite. The breakfats were lovely and set us up for the day. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were impressed by the cycle paths and walks in the imediate area. We were able to have a few walks away from the traffic which was great. We also enjoyed our walk round the lake werea community of mute swans add to the peace and tranquility of the place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazytraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

First impressions were excellent. The entrance is lovely with fantastic decor. The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming. However, the room was a huge disappointment. It was tiny; I had to place a tub chair on the spare bed as there wasn't room for it. The bathroom was badly in need of updating; the grout was grimy and the silicone sealant around the bath was mouldy.
The food in the restaurant was not that good either. £19.95 for 2 courses was too expesive especially when the duck breast was overcooked and tough. The house wine was also pricely at £6 a glass. On my 2nd night I ate in the bar. I thought I couldn't go wrong with a curry but it was the worst I've ever had. The sauce was almost entirely made of cream with very little spice (it was the colour of capuccino coffee). More like cream with a hint of curry. The breakfast however was very good; there was lots of fresh fruit to choose from which I appreciate when living away from home. Unfortunately, it was too late to restore my disaapointment and opinion of this hotel. I won't be going again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxineanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2009

Many thanks for your comments. I have taken on board all your comments & spoken with the relevant departments & will use your comments when arranging future training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Booked a few days away with hotel connexions and got this great hotel for £65 per night D/B&B for both of us.It's a lovely old building in the western part of the Lakes with beautiful grounds, we had a farmhose room and although the receptionist said we were ground floor it was but we had a balcony that was about 15 feet up!!
The room had a small staircase to the main part of it, lovely oak beams and 2 great beds. The food was superb and the staff very helpful and friendly. As like any hotel the bar was a bit pricey although there are a couple of pubs within walking distance they weren't much cheaper.
This hotel is well worth a visit, i am sure the gardens and the surroundings would be great on a lovely summers day although it was very cosy with the real log fires.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOVEDAWAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews