We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, quiet, relaxed.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ennerdale Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cleator
NorthWestEngland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, quiet, relaxed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed on Saturday night (7th June) - myself and 2 sons sharing a 3-bed room. Great location, friendly staff, good breakfast, clean and tidy, large and airy. Will stay again when we're back next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Designer1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    197
    76
    44
    22
See reviews for
56
285
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle under lyme
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

After reading other comments via trip advisor I arrived open minded but was quick to appreciate the comments made about the hotels tired apprearence.
When pulling up on the car park I didn't even recognise the hotel from the pictures at first as these are taken from the back off the hotel.
It's a shame because this hotel has alot of pertential, it is a lovely building set in lovely grounds but just needs a little love and attention. The outside needs a good repaint, furniture in the room was tatty and ripped covered with dirty doilies .
The gardens were disappointing also, not like in the pictures and the fountain was never turned on during our stay which was a shame.
Overall the room was ok, I managed to get a good price and therefore wasn't too disappointed.
I would have been though if I had paid the original asking price.
I stayed here for a special occasion with my partner as it was the cheapest available in the area offering a four poster bed with jacuzzi bath ( which we didn't end up getting)
The breakfast was delicious though. Staff were very friendly and polite although we didn't have much need if them once we had checked in. I emailed the hotel a few days before our arrival to request a later check out time and I had an almost immediate response which was fantastic and they offered me an extra hour for no additional charge which I thought was very kind.
This hotel allows dogs too which I'm all for being a dog owner myself but was a little horrified to open the small balcony/varander doors in the morning and find a rather large piece of poo on the floor. Well at least I presume it was dog poo! It had been there for some time.
So overall, it was ok, but we travelled for over 3 hours to get there and unfortunately I have to be honest and say it wasn't worth the drive. We probably would not return .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairefitch
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

My family and I have just returned from ECHH and we had a brilliant time. The staff were brilliant happy and helpful, the chambermaids did a very good job even folding up our clothes, the building itself is very nice inside with a rustic charm, and the gardens are glorious. Very good value and the distance from local attractions such as Ennerdale Water, Whitehaven, and Cockermouth was reasonable in the car. My only gripe is that the room we stayed in was a little bit run down , but not massively don't get me wrong, I can imagine it would cost A LOT of money to revamp the whole hotel and it is quaint as it is. Thank you Ennerdale xx

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairefitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is situated close to some of the UK's most outstanding scenery in the West Lakes.
On arrival into the car park I thought the outside looked a tad dated however the building does date back to AD868! My eye was distratced to the hotel growns which are stunning.
the hotel recpetion area isvery grand and the resturant is beautiful with large windows looking out to the grounds and large portrait paintings hanging on the wall.
I chose to eat in the bar which was vrey nice and the food (Cream of Tomoato Soup, Chicken Breat stuffed with Haggis & Strawberry Eton Messe) was delicious, really, really nice. Breakfast was good too.
However, the down side, when I opened the door to my room (Room 22) I was greeted with cream plain walls and two vey small window with privacy glass so I couldnt see out. However when I did a 360 degree look around the room wasnt has bad as first impression. It also had a massive bathroom too.

Room Tip: Room 22 did have free wi-fo but it didn't work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this Hotel on 24th & 25th May. Staff were very friendly & made you feel welcome. A bit off the beaten track, a lovely Hotel with great food & reasonable prices. Would definitely visit this Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srv2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed for the local Whitehaven festival and couldn't have asked for more. The rooms are clean and warm. We had a four poster, jacuzzi bath,and a patio overlooking the beautiful gardens. The staff are warm and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble for them. Other reviews have said the hotel is a bit shabby but I think it's not overdone as some others are these days it has a homeliness that is part of the appeal and adds to the relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room so had direct access to the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleator moor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Gorgeous hotel with amazing gardens, I just don't understand why they are letting the outside of the building go down hill? It is in dyer need of a paint. Such a Shame as it really lets it down and all it needs is a lick of paint

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz1514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleator
0.9 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
4.1 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St. Bees
3.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St. Bees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
7.0 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ennerdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ennerdale Country House Hotel

Property: Ennerdale Country House Hotel
Address: Northern Lakes, Cleator CA23 3DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Cleator
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cleator
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ennerdale Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ennerdale Country House Hotel is a Grade 2 listed building nestled within 5 acres of tranquil landscaped gardens and Italian fountains and figurines. As you walk through our large beautifully refurbished hallways you will pass by painstakingly restored original fireplaces and ceilings and you will start to realise that this is only the beginning of an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ennerdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ennerdale Country Hotel
Ennerdale Country Cleator
Ennerdale Country House Hotel Cleator, England - Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing