We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable New Year's Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cleator
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed over New Year's Eve into New Year's Day. Really enjoyed the party night. The meal was really good and disco was well presented - a good mix of music which hopefully suited everybody at some point. Brunch the next day was also excellent - not the usual bacon and eggs but really tasty with lots of choice. The staff in this hotel are wonderful - very friendly and obliging. Only complaint really, which iseems minor given we were only staying one night, the bed was awful! Mine was almost on the floor as it was so low - not like a proper bed at all. Another small point, unlike Malcolm we did not get a complimentary bottle of wine and drinks ain't cheap here! All in all though a really good evening with warm and friendly surroundings. Will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holibobs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay on our New Year's Eve party night. I apologise that you found your bed so uncomfortable, if you would kindly contact me to let me know which room you stayed in, I will ceratinly look into it. With regards to the complimentary bottle of wine, a bottle was left in each of the guests bedrooms on New Years Eve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Ennerdale Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 538 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have just returned from a terrific two day New Year’s Eve break at the Ennerdale Country House Hotel.

The hotel was fascinating, and had kept it’s “Country House” appeal, with it’s ornate rooms and furnishings, with it’s beautiful ceilings, old paintings and magnificent fireplaces, many of which had log fires burning in them.

The staff were friendly and most helpful. The rooms were comfortable with all mod cons. The bar was welcoming. The food, particularly the New Year morning brunch, was most impressive and the New Year’s Eve disco party was jumping, made even more enjoyable with the free bottle of wine and the champagne reception

All in all a great experience. We can certainly recommend this hotel and will be returning there in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Malcolm, thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay over the New Year period. We were really delighted that a like minded group of guests all enjoyed our party night, it was really a great success and has set the standard for us to beat next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had a very pleasant two night stay with Brian, his good lady and their staff. Food was absolutely superb, a most enjoyable stay and have no concerns about recommending to anyone. Only down side for me was the noise from the busy road which our room faced on to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you James for your very nice comments regarding your stay here at The Ennerdale Country House Hotel. Unfortunately some of our rooms do face the road side but this is usually only an issue through the week when the business traffic starts in the early morning. We are planning to have some new windows fitted to those rooms during 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We booked the Hotel Via late rooms and thought we would get a average hotel .. what a nice surprise we had . Yes the out side may need a little paint but so what . We were greeted by friendly staff ( with a smile !! ) . The room (30) was fab it had character and was very clean . The bathroom was clean and the Jacuzzi worked and the shower was a power shower . Yes it was used but what do people expect in a hotel ?? The grounds were lovely and the restaurant and food are really good value and very well cooked .
if you want the RITZ pay the price but if you want a nice , clean , Friendly , romantic place with character and friendly staff this is it .

also only 5 mins from 2 great walks and fantastic scenery

Room Tip: Room 30 had a Jacuzzi and great views from the four poster bed
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Armo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Ennerdale Country House. It is really nice to know when our customers are happy with their stay, just as it is important for us to know if we are doing something wrong. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We purchased this deal through groupon, stayed for one night with afternoon tea, a two course meal and breakfast. When pulling up to the hotel I wasn't sure what to expect as it looked a little tired, this however soon changed as we went inside to the warm and friendly staff and the beautiful interior of the hotel, the gardens are beautiful too. We took our dog and were given a ground floor room with patio doors straight into the gardens, perfect!

The room itself was very clean and had a cottage like feel, lovely bathroom and comfy bed. There was a wedding taking place on the day we arrived so I expected it to be busy but staff made sure we were welcome and couldn't have been more helpful.

We went to the beautiful dining room (very impressed) for our evening meal, the food was lovely and the service was again just great.

We went around the grounds of the hotel to walk the dog and found plenty of beautiful sights, we stopped off at a few lakes on the Sunday, there's plenty around Lake Windermere is around an hour from the hotel.

All in all a lovely stay and we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you Rebecca for your kind comments about your stay at the Ennerdale Country House. The old house is certainly very deceptive from the roadside. We try to give our guests the very best of welcomes and quality of service throughout their stay and we are extremely grateful when they show their appreciation. However we do not rest on our laurels and will strive to improve wherever we feel we can make a difference to our guest experience. Thank you for posting the lovely photograph taken at dusk with the floodlighting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Having spotted a deal for Cleator hotel on Groupon I contacted them via email to see if there was room available on my chosen dates prior to purchasing the groupon. They confirmed there was and pencilled me in whilst I purchased thr groupon and then forwarded the code to them. I was also able to pay a small additional surcharge to upgrade our room to a suite.

As mentioned in previous reviews the neighbouring towns are noting to shout about, Cleator having been twice nominated into the UK's crappest towns list.
This aside, the hotel is set within beautiful grounds and offers easy access to the West coast and the the Western Lake District.
We used the hotel as a base to visit Whitehaven, Seascale, Millom and Ennerdale Water.

We stayed for three nights in a suite, which had a small seated area with settee and flat screen television and a massive 4 poster bed. The bathroom was complete with jacuzzi and separate bath and all in all the room was very elegant and impressive. The views across the gardens were also outstanding.

We tried various food whilst at the hotel including afternoon tea (sandwiches, cake and tea), evening meals and the Sunday Carvery. All were very filling and of good quality. The food offered is traditional pub food and of good value. The drinks are fairly expensive but there is a good range to choose from.

All in all this was a very enjoyable stay for us and it is somewhere we will look to visit again in the future.
Particular mention must go to the husband and wife team who run the hotel who were very friendly and attentive during our entire stay, from offering to help with our bags from the car to offering advice on directions and places to visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which had excellent views, large jacuzzi and a large 4 poster bed. This room was...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordiepaul2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments down in writing, The style of food we offer is designed to suit the requirements of the vast majority of our guests, this menu was introduced in early September this year and has proved to be extremely popular, our challenge is to ensure that the food is of a consistent high quality and we continue to strive to ensure that this happens. Always at the forefront of our minds is ensuring that our guests get get the full attentive service that they are entitled to expect. Thank you once again and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Ennerdale Country House Hotel has many points to commend, not least being its location. Whilst Cleator is certainly not a scenic glory of the Lake District it does offer reasonably easy access to the coastal towns of West Cumbria and to the remoter western valleys of Ennerdale, Eskdale and Wasdale. None of these are easy to access from most of the usual Lakes tourist destinations. The interesting town of Cockermouth is also not too far away. The hotel also stands out for its friendly and helpful staff who are genuinely interested in their customers welfare.

As an updated Victorian house the exterior of the building is unremarkable but is set in pleasant grounds. Internally, the place has been refurbished to retain the atmosphere of the original whilst adding modern warmth and comfort. The public rooms were a pleasure to use. However, we did find the bedroom rather quirky, giving the impression of modern loft living with the exposed roof timbers. The assorted furniture and items such as a 1950's style telephone gave the sense living in another age, sadly, we remember these things from the first time around!. The lighting was on the dim side, atmospheric but not too good for reading by. The wall mounted TV was small and best viewed by lying on the bed which may suit many but not this guest. The bathroom was a generous size, clean and pleasant.

Perhaps the weakest area was the food. I cannot remember the last time I stayed in an hotel which did not offer a range of fruit at breakfast, a few orange pieces was the sole offering. Whilst the cooked breakfast was acceptable including, as it did, some locally sourced ingredients it was difficult for the cholesterol conscious to be really satisfied. For the evening meal the same menu is on offer in the dining room and the bar. In truth the choice tends more toward the bar meal style of dish i.e. burgers, curry, pasta than a true dinner menu. On the one evening we ate in the hotel the portions were generous but the cooking patchy. My steak and ale pie was accompanied by good chips and seriously undercooked vegetables whilst my wife had a passable steak but soggy chips!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the service from the staff ensures that we would certainly consider future visits.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dinos43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments down in writing, the feed back we receive from our guests is most important to us. Since you posted your comments we have taken steps to improve the consistency of the food offering because it is important that our guests know the standard they can expect every time they eat, regardless of who is cooking their meal. I have also noted your comments regarding the fresh fruit at breakfast and again we now ensure that there is an ample choice of fresh fruit available in the breakfast room each day. This is the standard that should have been adhered to and I apologise that on the occassion of your visit, this was not the case. I sincerely hope that you will visit us, the next time you come over to the western lakes and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Ennerdale Country House once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleator
0.1 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
77 reviews
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
7.7 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St. Bees
441 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St. Bees
165 reviews
7.2 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ennerdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ennerdale Country House Hotel

Address: Northern Lakes, Cleator CA23 3DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Cleator
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cleator
Price Range: $67 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ennerdale Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ennerdale Country House Hotel is a Grade 2 listed building nestled within 5 acres of tranquil landscaped gardens and Italian fountains and figurines. As you walk through our large beautifully refurbished hallways you will pass by painstakingly restored original fireplaces and ceilings and you will start to realise that this is only the beginning of an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ennerdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ennerdale Country Hotel
Ennerdale Country Cleator
Ennerdale Country House Hotel Cleator, England - Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing