We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice weekend away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ennerdale Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cleator
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice weekend away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We booked the Hotel Via late rooms and thought we would get a average hotel .. what a nice surprise we had . Yes the out side may need a little paint but so what . We were greeted by friendly staff ( with a smile !! ) . The room (30) was fab it had character and was very clean . The bathroom was clean and the Jacuzzi worked and the shower was a power shower . Yes it was used but what do people expect in a hotel ?? The grounds were lovely and the restaurant and food are really good value and very well cooked .
if you want the RITZ pay the price but if you want a nice , clean , Friendly , romantic place with character and friendly staff this is it .

also only 5 mins from 2 great walks and fantastic scenery

Room Tip: Room 30 had a Jacuzzi and great views from the four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the Ennerdale Country House. It is really nice to know when our customers are happy with their stay, just as it is important for us to know if we are doing something wrong. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    197
    76
    44
    22
See reviews for
56
286
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We purchased this deal through groupon, stayed for one night with afternoon tea, a two course meal and breakfast. When pulling up to the hotel I wasn't sure what to expect as it looked a little tired, this however soon changed as we went inside to the warm and friendly staff and the beautiful interior of the hotel, the gardens are beautiful too. We took our dog and were given a ground floor room with patio doors straight into the gardens, perfect!

The room itself was very clean and had a cottage like feel, lovely bathroom and comfy bed. There was a wedding taking place on the day we arrived so I expected it to be busy but staff made sure we were welcome and couldn't have been more helpful.

We went to the beautiful dining room (very impressed) for our evening meal, the food was lovely and the service was again just great.

We went around the grounds of the hotel to walk the dog and found plenty of beautiful sights, we stopped off at a few lakes on the Sunday, there's plenty around Lake Windermere is around an hour from the hotel.

All in all a lovely stay and we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you Rebecca for your kind comments about your stay at the Ennerdale Country House. The old house is certainly very deceptive from the roadside. We try to give our guests the very best of welcomes and quality of service throughout their stay and we are extremely grateful when they show their appreciation. However we do not rest on our laurels and will strive to improve wherever we feel we can make a difference to our guest experience. Thank you for posting the lovely photograph taken at dusk with the floodlighting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Having spotted a deal for Cleator hotel on Groupon I contacted them via email to see if there was room available on my chosen dates prior to purchasing the groupon. They confirmed there was and pencilled me in whilst I purchased thr groupon and then forwarded the code to them. I was also able to pay a small additional surcharge to upgrade our room to a suite.

As mentioned in previous reviews the neighbouring towns are noting to shout about, Cleator having been twice nominated into the UK's crappest towns list.
This aside, the hotel is set within beautiful grounds and offers easy access to the West coast and the the Western Lake District.
We used the hotel as a base to visit Whitehaven, Seascale, Millom and Ennerdale Water.

We stayed for three nights in a suite, which had a small seated area with settee and flat screen television and a massive 4 poster bed. The bathroom was complete with jacuzzi and separate bath and all in all the room was very elegant and impressive. The views across the gardens were also outstanding.

We tried various food whilst at the hotel including afternoon tea (sandwiches, cake and tea), evening meals and the Sunday Carvery. All were very filling and of good quality. The food offered is traditional pub food and of good value. The drinks are fairly expensive but there is a good range to choose from.

All in all this was a very enjoyable stay for us and it is somewhere we will look to visit again in the future.
Particular mention must go to the husband and wife team who run the hotel who were very friendly and attentive during our entire stay, from offering to help with our bags from the car to offering advice on directions and places to visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which had excellent views, large jacuzzi and a large 4 poster bed. This room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geordiepaul2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments down in writing, The style of food we offer is designed to suit the requirements of the vast majority of our guests, this menu was introduced in early September this year and has proved to be extremely popular, our challenge is to ensure that the food is of a consistent high quality and we continue to strive to ensure that this happens. Always at the forefront of our minds is ensuring that our guests get get the full attentive service that they are entitled to expect. Thank you once again and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Ennerdale Country House Hotel has many points to commend, not least being its location. Whilst Cleator is certainly not a scenic glory of the Lake District it does offer reasonably easy access to the coastal towns of West Cumbria and to the remoter western valleys of Ennerdale, Eskdale and Wasdale. None of these are easy to access from most of the usual Lakes tourist destinations. The interesting town of Cockermouth is also not too far away. The hotel also stands out for its friendly and helpful staff who are genuinely interested in their customers welfare.

As an updated Victorian house the exterior of the building is unremarkable but is set in pleasant grounds. Internally, the place has been refurbished to retain the atmosphere of the original whilst adding modern warmth and comfort. The public rooms were a pleasure to use. However, we did find the bedroom rather quirky, giving the impression of modern loft living with the exposed roof timbers. The assorted furniture and items such as a 1950's style telephone gave the sense living in another age, sadly, we remember these things from the first time around!. The lighting was on the dim side, atmospheric but not too good for reading by. The wall mounted TV was small and best viewed by lying on the bed which may suit many but not this guest. The bathroom was a generous size, clean and pleasant.

Perhaps the weakest area was the food. I cannot remember the last time I stayed in an hotel which did not offer a range of fruit at breakfast, a few orange pieces was the sole offering. Whilst the cooked breakfast was acceptable including, as it did, some locally sourced ingredients it was difficult for the cholesterol conscious to be really satisfied. For the evening meal the same menu is on offer in the dining room and the bar. In truth the choice tends more toward the bar meal style of dish i.e. burgers, curry, pasta than a true dinner menu. On the one evening we ate in the hotel the portions were generous but the cooking patchy. My steak and ale pie was accompanied by good chips and seriously undercooked vegetables whilst my wife had a passable steak but soggy chips!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and the service from the staff ensures that we would certainly consider future visits.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinos43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments down in writing, the feed back we receive from our guests is most important to us. Since you posted your comments we have taken steps to improve the consistency of the food offering because it is important that our guests know the standard they can expect every time they eat, regardless of who is cooking their meal. I have also noted your comments regarding the fresh fruit at breakfast and again we now ensure that there is an ample choice of fresh fruit available in the breakfast room each day. This is the standard that should have been adhered to and I apologise that on the occassion of your visit, this was not the case. I sincerely hope that you will visit us, the next time you come over to the western lakes and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Ennerdale Country House once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Booked three nights at the ennerdale & what a lovely place full of charm!
Yes the outside was a little rough on the edges but that added to the character of the place,
Staff were absolute stars nothing was a problem for them no matter what the time of day/night
We where made to feel comfortable & relaxed from the momment we booked in to the momment we booked out ( which we didn't want to do :( ).
I think the management team should give each & everyone a big pat on the back & we would like to take the chance to say a BIG THANK YOU we will be back next year for our wedding anniversary
Thank you for a lovely stay
Martin & Maxine Hull

Room Tip: No tip needed all rooms suit the purpose they are meant for!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martineverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Martin & Maxine, I would like to thank you for your very kind comments regarding your stay. Everyone works hard to ensure that our visitors thoroughly enjoy their stay with us and it is so nice to hear that their efforts are appreciated. We have a lovely old house that is quirky and full of character and we try our very best to make the most of it so that our guests can enjoy its charm.
Thank you once again for taking the time to express your thoughts and comments about your stay and we look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed one night, double room. Dog friendly
Room nice and bright and very clean
Breakfast good
Can only fault it on its evening meal. Burger was more onion than meat and the vegetable risotto lacked taste. Would have expected more for the highly priced meals.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcj79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and effort to post your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at The Ennerdale but I wish to apologise for the food that you you recieved. I can assure you that this is not the normal standard that we aspire to. Our 6 oz home made beef Burger at £9.95 and the Vegetable Risotto at the same price should not be a disappointment, and indeed are normally two of our most popular dishes, I am really sorry for that. I hope you will return so that we can show you the usual standard that we achieve here. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Arrived about quarter to seven on a Saturday evening- booked a deal through a third party agency (Superbreaks Holidays) for two nights with dinner on night one. Allocated room 7, staff were very friendly and polite, offered to carry bags to rooms etc.Room was awful. Very small and scruffy, badly maintained with empty rawl plugs where pictures or mirrors used to be, bulb missing on vanity mirror light, missing tile in the bathroom, a little mould around the tiles in the bathroom, a very flat, thin duvet, shiny brown skimpy curtains on a plastic rail, only one bedside locker- room was too small to accommodate two.Window open when we got there - when we returned to the room after dinner and drinks realised why- was masking a curious smell.
Just altogether very tired and disappointing.
Everything in the hotel looked exhausted, like it had been holding on since the eighties. Whoever was responsible for the most recent makeover ( ages ago)seemed to have cut corners and went a bit downmarket and cheap instead of sticking to country chintzy feel that the age of the property would dictate. It serves us right really. Didn't research before we went so didn't know it was a good drive to anywhere remotely picturesque and certainly didnt Trip Advisor it either- rookie error.
On the plus side, food was fine though plain with pub grub choices rather than fine dining.Stayed one night instead of the two we paid for and were a little fed up to hear folk settling their bill through Alpha rooms and having paid half of what we had.
Staff were lovely and we did feel really guilty for checking out early but neither the location nor the hotel was what we envisaged for a luxury weekend or even just a relaxing weekend away.Miles away from anywhere worth walking to.

Room Tip: Not room 7- tiny room, small window that opens a little crack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nadso68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
I would like to thank you for your comments and apolgise for the unsatisfactory stay at the Ennerdale. After investigating the circumstances of your stay, I have come to the conclusion that you were accomodated in room 5, I only mention this because I have had a number of guests asking not to be allocated room number 7, which is a bigger ( and better) room. The rawl plugs in the wall was where the trouser press had been taken away for repair. I understand the frustration that you have experienced and can only reinterate my apologies for this.
I must however take issue with your comments regarding our situation. Ennerdale Water is only 10 minutes drive away from us and Wast Water is only 20 minutes drive away. To me and many many others, these are the two finest of all the lakes in the Lake District. The walks around Ennerdale water are peaceful and stunning, and Wast Water,Englands Deepest Lake is at the base of two beautiful walks up Great Gable and Scafell, leading up to Scafell Pike, Englands highest mountain. St Bees our nearest coastal point also has some superb coastal walks and is only 10 minutes away. I would hope that one day you would come back to see us, we will find you a room which would satisfy your requirements and point you in the right direction to some of the country's most pictursque attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleator
0.9 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
4.1 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St. Bees
3.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St. Bees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
7.0 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
20.3 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ennerdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ennerdale Country House Hotel

Property: Ennerdale Country House Hotel
Address: Northern Lakes, Cleator CA23 3DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Cleator
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cleator
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ennerdale Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ennerdale Country House Hotel is a Grade 2 listed building nestled within 5 acres of tranquil landscaped gardens and Italian fountains and figurines. As you walk through our large beautifully refurbished hallways you will pass by painstakingly restored original fireplaces and ceilings and you will start to realise that this is only the beginning of an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ennerdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ennerdale Country Hotel
Ennerdale Country Cleator
Ennerdale Country House Hotel Cleator, England - Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing