We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cleator
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the Ennerdale on a Superbreaks 2 night deal, where 1st evening meal was included. the food was so good we dined the second night as well. The hotel is old and quirky, but clean and excellent value. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
We would recommend the walk around Ennerdale Lake!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank WJB9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    212
    89
    45
    22
See reviews for
64
309
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel, and we had no problems at all. It is an old hotel but I like that, and it was very clean. Room was quite small, but we had a special half price B/B offer, so cannot complain.
There are lovely grounds which must be great in summer.
Staff very friendly and welcoming and breakfast excellent. Our next 2 nights were in a 4 star hotel and can honestly say it was no better than the Ennerdale.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking road but again we had no problem with sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolBearsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I booked the New Year's Break package for 2 nights - after reading some reviews I was a little worried (mainly because of the rooms). As soon as we got there we had such a friendly welcome by the new General Manager and his staff. We weren't overly impressed with the room so we asked to see another one. The staff did not stop until we were happy - nothing was too much trouble and anything we asked for was catered for.

The food was absolutely delicious and I was extremely impressed with the chef's work. I would definitely recommend eating here.

I had a lovely time at the hotel and I know that the re-decoration plans will just make the hotel an even better place to stay.

To Brian and his staff - thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prezzerlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a wonderful few days over Christmas, from when we arrived to be greeted by the manger and shown to our room to the moment we left and he carried our bags out to the car.
All the staff are friendly and helpful, the food was excellent with some very good meals. The entertainment was very good, the trip on the train was a welcome afternoon out. This was very good value, yes the décor was tired but hopefully it will be address by the new owner. Wish the new manager Brian well, as he put so much effort to make our Christmas special.

Room Tip: Views over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank overthehillLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your experiences over the Crhistmas break. The collection of people we had staying in the hotel, contributed to a lovely atmosphere and the willingness of everyone to get involved in all the variety of activities and pursuits that we had arranged, even down to the treasure hunt on Christmas morning, which incidentally Arlene & I had to partially redesign on Christmas Eve due to the bad weather. In the event, the sun did actually show its face in the middle of the afternoon on Christmas Day, much to everyone's surprise. It was lovely to make the acquaintance of such an array of nice people, all intent on enjoying themselves, some of whom have already booked for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Booked a bargain weekend break, 2 nights B&B with an evening meal. The food was beautifully presented and tasted so good, we ate there the next night and weren't disappointed. Yes, the hotel is looking a "little tired" in places but has just been taken over so fingers crossed it will get the investment it deserves. We had an upstairs room, with a nice view of the grounds and a jacuzzi bath! A first. Room 31 No traffic noise. Pleasant helpful staff. We'd stop again

Room Tip: Room 31 Upstairs end of the corridor, nice and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BootsMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here 3 times recently for business. The hotel is a little "tired" but the staff and the service are very good. The 3 different rooms I stayed in were all very comfortable but try to avoid the main road rooms as the one I stayed in was very noisy from about 5.30am with the traffic, I asked to be moved and was given a different room within the hour. A little isolated but it is a country hotel, Whitehaven a 10 minute drive away. Bar prices reasonable. Did not have dinner here but from what I saw the meals look good. Breakfast very nice with usual cereal to full English offered and served up quite quickly. I would return should the need arise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed for three nights in Room 29, which was downstairs. Above us was another bedroom. We could here every step taken, at 2 am, 6 am and most of the conversations going on. It appears that the conversion of this block has been done on the cheap and there appears to be no sound insulation whatsoever. The rooms are comfortable enough, but this lack of noise insulation is extremely uncomfortable and does not lead to a relaxing stay. The heating in the room did not come on until 6 pm, even though the outside daytime temperature was 5 - 7 C. On return to the hotel at 4 pm, it was very cold in the bedrooms, one day we had to ask for extra heater, which was supplied. Is this really a 3* establishment? The bedroom opens on to the gardens and presumably this is the fire escape route, yet there was no key available to open this door. I would not recommend this hotel until some of these issues get attended to. The staff are doing the best under very difficult circumstances, but can't make up for the basic lack of facilities and attention to detail. Have had better time in a Youth hostel.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are very very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rericha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Ennerdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest

I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay at the Ennerdale Country House Hotel was made uncomfortable by the sound of guests in the room above.
All of the bedrooms in the hotel have thermostatically controlled radiators and the heating is on constant throughout the day at this time of year. Whilst every effort is made to ensure that all our rooms are comfortably warm for our guests arriving or returning, I can only surmise that the controls of the radiators in your room were turned down prior to your arrival, and for this I apologise.
The patio doors in all the ground floor rooms, including room 29, are not locked with a key but secured with a quick release safety catch from the inside.
I am disappointed that your dissatisfaction was not brought to my attention sooner, after you indicated your need for a heater, so that your comments could have been addressed whilst you were still at the hotel.
I would like to thank you for bringing your thoughts to my attention and would offer you a warm welcome should you choose to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleator
0.1 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
76 reviews
3.7 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St. Bees
434 reviews
14.2 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Parkside Hotel
Parkside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cleator
103 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 14 in Whitehaven
150 reviews
4.9 mi away
Moresby Hall
Moresby Hall
#1 of 2 in Moresby
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ennerdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ennerdale Country House Hotel

Property: Ennerdale Country House Hotel
Address: Northern Lakes, Cleator CA23 3DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Cleator
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cleator
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ennerdale Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ennerdale Country House Hotel is a Grade 2 listed building nestled within 5 acres of tranquil landscaped gardens and Italian fountains and figurines. As you walk through our large beautifully refurbished hallways you will pass by painstakingly restored original fireplaces and ceilings and you will start to realise that this is only the beginning of an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ennerdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ennerdale Country Hotel
Ennerdale Country Cleator
Ennerdale Country House Hotel Cleator, England - Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing