We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$229
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$199
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveler rating
260
32
14
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
260
32
14
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathsmall hotellake districthoggetgreat hostssmall teammeat fishbird feedersborrowdale valleysuperior roomplenty of parking spaceperfect balanceshows howwithout being intrusivedining roomwalk in showerhigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 309 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just returned from an Easter break at the Leathes Head. The team are so friendly and welcoming, the rooms delightful (especially the spa baths) and the scenery and view up Borrowdale towards Derwent Water are spectacular.

Part of our stay was a chocolate making course with chef David, which was very informative and great fun. He taught us many techniques and demystified lots about chocolate making, as we assembled delicious Easter truffles with a variety of spices and flavours. It's a big mark of confidence to allow visitors into the kitchen, and it shows how confident they are in them: very professional and clean. Needless to say, the evening meals are delicious too.

Would definitely go back when passing through the lakes next.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank 1Umiquename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My partner and I loved this hotel.It is in a fab position for walking and wonderful food and great rooms. All staff very friendly and helpful.We didnt have much knowledge of the lakes before we visited and this area (Borrowdale) is the best we came across and the views of the countryside are the finest I have seen anywhere.It would be difficult to find a fault.Keswick is a nice market town nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark19619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have stayed at Leathes Head each year for about 8 years and this was our third year with Jane and Jamie as friendly and welcoming hosts. David,their superb chef, provides excellent breakfasts and his dinners are varied and delicious.Guests have a wide choice for an hotel of this size. the wine is very good too! The hotel is clean and very comfortable with wonderful Lake District views. There are many delightful strolls and longer walks from the hotel where peace and quiet abound! All the staff work hard to make your stay a happy one and so far, for us, they have not failed. J&V Aspinall

Room Tip: We choose Room 4 for its double-aspect windows looking both at Derwentwater and Catbells
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

After hearing that the Leathes Head Hotel was offering a one day photographic course in March, my Wife and I leapt at the chance to return to this wonderful hotel. Our room was spotless, newly decorated with a spectacular view of Cumbrian countryside from both of the large sash windows. The restaurant lived up to expectations, consistently providing excellent food from an imaginative menu. Jamie and Jane, the hotel managers, were professional and efficient and remembered things from our previous visit which made us feel very welcome. The photography course was run by Jason Chambers, a local professional, who took us to a succession of his favoured locations with breathtaking views of various scenes. He took the time, at each place, to teach us efficient techniques so as to get the best results from our cameras. The four people in our group were of varied experience, ranging from those who had several cameras and a large selection of lenses to myself who had only one compact camera. Jason moved from one person to another, making sure he adapted his advice to each person according to their experience and ensured that we all felt part of the class and had a good time. I cannot recommend the whole experience highly enough, which was a real treat from start to finish. We will certainly be attending another course to experience the same scenes in different seasons.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just come back from a short break at this hotel and all I can say is that it is one of the best places we have stayed at before. The staff are friendly, helpful, but discreet and nothing is too much for them. The accommodation was spotless and the food was out of this world. On the Sunday night and Monday morning we were the only ones in the hotel but none of the good service or good food changes, we were still made to feel special. We will certainly go again and would recommend it to anyone. Thank you to all who made the weekend special.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank prbjbentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews