We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another great stay for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from another relaxing stay at this hotel but stayed in room 5 the Superior Spa room this time. The room is beautifully furnished, spotless with the added bonus of the spa bath which us truly fabulous. The food as normal is outstanding and all the staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble. We have been recommending this hotel to friends and family for a total relaxing and pampering experience because we know that they will not be disappointed in any way. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a beauty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alphabet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 297 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

A beautiful country house with a lovely garden and views. We were escorted to our room which was charming. Breakfast was beautifully cooked, while we ate, we sat and watched the different varieties of birds at the feeders, woodpecker, nut hatchers, finches.
We plan to revisit soon and stay for Dinner, if the standard of the breakfast is anything to go by, it should be excellent.
You cannot help but relax in this Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monica r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed on a Saturday night in mid-August. We had read some good reviews but we were mostly just pleased to find availability for a Saturday night at this time of year. The hotel surpassed all our expectations.

We arrived around 8pm after a long drive and the staff instantly made us feel relaxed and at home. The hotel is in Borrowdale, about 4 miles down the road from Keswick. It is set well back from the main road up its own drive so it is very quiet. Our room, a standard double, cost £115 for B & B and although the style was perhaps a little old-fashioned for our taste, the furnishing was good quality and the room was immaculately clean and a good size. The shower was powerful and my OH tells me that the toiletries were very nice!

Dinner was fantastic. We were a bit worried that we needed to hurry but the hostess told us to take our time so we started with a G&T in the bar. The waiter sat us at the table by the window looking out onto the beautiful scenery that surrounds the hotel then our food arrived - our starters of slow roasted belly pork and tian of crab and prawns were very good then there was a delicious champagne sorbet palate cleanser. The grilled sea bass main was excellent. The mixed grill of venison, beef and wild boar sausage was less successful as the venison and beef were a little tough, but we still enjoyed it. Blackcurrant meringue with clotted cream ice cream was fantastic and the cheese board was also good. Each course arrived promptly and the waiter was very attentive. The four course meal including coffee cost £32.50, which was excellent value for the quality.

Breakfast was of the same very high standard. The staff were happy to give us poached eggs instead of scrambled with our smoked salmon. We also ordered a packed lunch which was very good value at £7.50 for one and a half delicious sandwiches, a pear, a packet of crisps, a homemade flapjack, a mini Mars bar and a bottle of water.

I really can't recommend this hotel enough. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and there is very little to fault. If you do stay, I recommend taking advantage of the excellent walking nearby. We did a short walk to Castle Crag which took about 2 1/2 hours for the round trip (http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/visit/local-to-you/north-west/view-page/item579221/). There are fantastic views from the Crag.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cawarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here for one night in the superior room 4. The room was spotless and the views were stunning. Bathroom very well done though perhaps a tad cramped for a superior room.

The food was beautifully prepared and presented, only nighle I wasn't asked how I liked my steak and it came medium rare when I prefer well done, it wasn't a problem as it was sorted very promptly and efficiently.

Lovely breakfast on Sunday morning. The staff are extremely helpful and accommodating.

I would certainly recommend the leathes head for an adult only relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle of Keswick.... Near enough to visit but far enough away too.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boosucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the beginning of July to cover some of the Coast to Coast route nearby. From the moment we arrived, we felt at home. The room while a little dated was very comfortable and met our needs. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel on both nights and the standard was very high. The staff pitched their level of attentiveness just perfectly to meet our needs. We were also provided with a substantial packed lunch for our walk on the Sunday which we very much appreciated at the top of High Stile Ridge. We are looking forward to returning soon. The garden was a most pleasant place to take in the views on a summer's evening with a glass of Rose!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireCelticTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I booked a three night break, bed and breakfast staying in one of the superior rooms; we cannot wait to return. From the moment we arrived we knew we were in for a relaxing break.The hotel is in a beautiful setting, set back a short distance from the road with amazing views. The first thing that took us was how peaceful and quiet the area is.The staff were very helpful and the location is perfect being just a few miles from the centre of Keswick. The views around the hotel are truly breathtaking. The dinning room and lounges provide a beautiful and relaxing enviroment and the breakfast choice was very comprehensive. We also ate at the restaurant one evening and the food was excellent. We are already planning our return.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the superior rooms and the view from the bed room windows was amazing. The was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Our 3 night break was a surprise for my husband on our 30th wedding anniversary, and it couldn't have been a better choice!
The hotel is set in beautiful gardens,with its own privated drive away from the road. We had a lovely cosy room on the ground floor close to the back door, which was perfect for our 2 dogs. There was even a hose for cleaning them down and a drying room for the wet towels.
The countryside was perfect for walking, of course, with walking available right from the back door.
I am so glad I chose dinner, B&B, because the chef is in a class of his own! I wish I could have taken him home with me and the charming waiter, Ben!
The hotel is warm, comfortable, clean, relaxing and beautifully decorated. The staff are a joy.
We will be back!

Room Tip: We had dogs so we were allocated a classic double, which was surprisingly good for a "dog"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,215 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.7 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
8.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leathes Head Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leathes Head Country House Hotel

Address: Borrowdale, Keswick CA12 5UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: $144 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Leathes Head Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leathes Head is a magnificent eleven bedroom Edwardian Country House Hotel, situated in the unspoilt Borrowdale Valley. The hotel is set amongst three acres of private grounds and is surrounded by stunning scenery, meandering rivers and some of the most spectacular fells in North West England. With superb views across the valley and easy access to Keswick, this is the perfect place for a relaxing break. The entire Borrowdale Valley is ringed by glorious fells known and loved by seasoned walkers. Lake cruises, water sports, mountain biking trails and plenty of other Lake District activities are all within easy reach of the hotel. We are proud holders of two AA Rosettes for food, and our guests can enjoy dishes prepared using locally sourced ingredients; sit in the traditional bar to enjoy a drink or watch the wildlife from the comfort of the conservatory windows before retiring to one of the individually furnished bedrooms, with views of the surrounding countryside and hotel gardens. The hotel is proud to be nominated two years running for Hotel of the Year in the Cumbria Tourism awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leathes Head Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leathes Head Country Borrowdale
Leathes Head Country Hotel
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing