We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot for a weekend running in Borrowdale”
Review of YHA Borrowdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
YHA Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot for a weekend running in Borrowdale”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My running club booked into the YHA for a weekend away running around Borrowdale. From the first email and phone call the YHA couldn't have been more helpful! We kept having difficulties with the number of guests and they were so helpful every time I called up. We pre-booked a dinner for the evening, 3 courses for £12 and considering we had been running all day and were starving the portion sizes were good and the food was great quality. The bar was well stocked with a range of drinks.

Breakfast was certainly good enough for hungry runners and the self catering kitchen was well stocked for a few in our group who brought their own.

From the moment we arrived the staff there were really friendly and helpful and really did everything they could to make things easy for us.

The YHA is in a perfect location for runs in the area and we made use of the drying room for our wet fell shoes from stomping through streams.

Thank you to all the YHA team who were around this weekend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolce309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thanks for a fantastic review, we are really pleased you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon... Dont forget the Castle Crag Tinetrial will be on again next year on Sunday the 11th of Jan! for more info keep an eye on our facebook page :)

All the best
Chris
YHA Borrowdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    61
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
46
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Beautiful location, busy, vibrant, friendly hostel. Big drying room but so full and the day had been so wet, it could barely cope. Excellent evening meal; excellent breakfast. Lovely bar and facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thanks for taking time to review your stay at YHA Borrowdale, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay & hope the rest of the LEJOG cycle trip went to plan :)

All the best
Chris
YHA Borrowdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I was a little dubious at first when my daughter booked us here as my image of yha"s wasn't the best having never stayed in one before.

However I was blown away by the quality of this establishment as well as the cleanliness and friendliness of the residents and staff. There is a great community feel to this place where everybody is here to enjoy the countyside whether their undertaking short walks or climbing challenging mountains.

Rooms are basic but beds are extremely comfortable, food is cheap and good and the shower facilities are clean and excellent. The living room dining and bar area is a great place to meet and chat to people and there is table tennis for those with additional energy.

Be warned however that in you need connectivity to the outside world, no free wifi and the nearest phone signal is 4 miles away!

Would definitely come again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank richielake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thanks for a Fantastic review :) We are all really pleased you enjoyed your stay at YHA Borrowdale and that you found the hostel to be of a good standard and have a great community feel.

With no mobile signal we can feel a little cut off in the Borrowdale Valley but If you would like to stay connected to the outside world next time you stay you should sign up for YHA Membership. On top of discounts every time you stay, YHA Membership gets you a whole host of benefits including free WIFI access at YHA Borrowdale and many other sites!

All the best
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the camping pods which are like the child of a garden summerhouse and beach hut who have had an illicit fling. Whilst roomy and carpeted you need a mat and sleeping bag. There is a heater and bedside lamp and enough room to stand up. The best bit is the decking and chairs that enable you to sit out with a beer and enjoy the beautiful view around Borrowdale valley.
As always food was great as was the service. Probably one of the best English YHA's.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank birdovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Many thanks for an Amazing review... The staff all loved your description of the Camping Pods :)

We are really pleased you enjoyed the experience and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Chris
YHA Borrowdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have walked the C2C and Borrowdale YHA was one of our favourite stopovers of the whole trip and we did 17 of them.
We had a room for two, which was clean, warm and took all our luggage and kit. The drying room was very big and well equipped.
We haven't youth hostelled for quite a few years and we weren't expecting the 'Café/Bar' with the comfortable lounge which was buzzing in a friendly way all evening.
We had evening meal which was served to us and we can honestly say that by the end of the walk it still ranked in the top five meals we had and none of them were terrible.
It was also the best packed lunch we had - though we did stop having them shortly after as they were all too big.
We would definitely stay there again and would look at other YHA's as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPC5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for writing such a fantastic review of your stay at YHA Borrowdale. Its great to hear that you were pleasantly suprised by our Cafe Bar and that you rated our evening meal so highly of all the stops on your walk. Congratulations on completing the C2C :)

We look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind regards
Chris
YHA Borrowdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I've stayed at this hostel several times over the years, always in a 6 bed dorm. Their shared dorm rooms are lovely compared to many YHAs - bright and fresh, with lots of windows. I liked that I could hear the beck outside whilst lying in bed. This hostel is in the most beautiful area of the Lakes (in my opinion), located alongside a gorgeous peaceful beck (where swimming is possible). I recommend walking 20 mins to nearby Stonethwaite for dinner as there is a fantastic pub there with outdoor seating. The only thing that wasn't so great this time around was the food. I didn't have the dinner, but the breakfast was only sub-par. These sorts of things seem to change with staff from year to year, though, so it may be better next season. I'll definitely return.

Worth noting there is no mobile signal of any kind in the area. The hostel has free wifi for YHA members.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for writing an amazing review of your stay at YHA Borrowdale. We are really pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and Its especially good to hear that you consider the hostel to be located in 'the most beautiful area in the lakes'. We aggree with you on that front! :) Also your right to point out that the river outside the hostel is fantastic for swimming in (if you can find the best swimming holes!).

We pride ourselves on our home cooked evening meals and breakfasts so its dissappointing to hear that you werent 100% satisfied with your breakfast last time. We want to get it right for all our guests so if there is anything in particular we could have done better we would love to hear from you. borrowdale@yha.org.uk

We look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind regards
Chris
YHA Borrowdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

What a fantastic place. Comfortable, relaxed, fabulous location and best of all..... no mobile signal. Walks from the door, surrounded by fantastic views and guest bbers on draft. A real getaway weekend. We stayed in a Pod and lived it. Only downside was evening meal which was poor, but next time we will use facilities or BBQ and cook our own. We will be back.

Room Tip: Pod was fab, but you need to take your own bed. We took airbed, quilt and pillows. Glamping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessfefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at YHA Borrowdale. We are really pleased you enjoyed your time at the hostel.

We pride ourselves on offering great value home cooked breakfasts & evening meals so we are disappointed to hear that you werent impressed this time. We really want to get it right for all our guests so if there is anything we could have done better please let us know borrowdale@yha.org.uk

We look forward to seeing you again soon :)
All the best
Chris
YHA Borrowdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
10.3 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
391 reviews
5.0 mi away
YHA Buttermere
YHA Buttermere
#1 of 1 in Buttermere
110 reviews
6.4 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
YHA Helvellyn
YHA Helvellyn
#2 of 3 in Glenridding
104 reviews
9.0 mi away
YHA Patterdale
YHA Patterdale
#1 of 3 in Patterdale
156 reviews
5.9 mi away
YHA Keswick
YHA Keswick
#4 of 33 in Keswick
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Borrowdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Borrowdale

Property: YHA Borrowdale
Address: Longthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Borrowdale 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA Borrowdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Borrowdale Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing