We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Youth Hostels are not what they used to be!”
Review of YHA Borrowdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
YHA Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Youth Hostels are not what they used to be!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here on our third night of the Coast to Coast Walk. After a long hard walk from Ennerdale Bridge, we were delighted to find there was a bar serving cask beer. The setting is of course stunning and one can enjoy a pint outside in the sun - yes the sun was shining in what is reputed to be the wettest place in England.

The bunk room was very comfortable and there were towels to rent, however it's a good idea to bring your own shower gel.

I would describe the food as adequate, although this might sound disingenuous considering the prices. A little training in food preparation could improve the breakfast quality without any added expense. Beans and eggs were both very over cooked.

All in all the stay was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for a great review :) For the wettest place in England we have been lucky enough to have rather a lot of sunshine this year which has been fantastic for all our visitors... I'm sorry to hear that you werent blown away by our breakfast this time. We do take great pride in everything we do as a hostel and we recieve consistently good feedback on the food we serve so I will be looking into this personally.

We are really pleased you enjoyed the cask ale. We try to keep a couple of local ales on all year round so by all means pop in for a pint next time you are in the lakes!

Many thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    61
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
46
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
brentwood
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place is in a fantastic setting, in an incredible location. It was also our first time in a 'youth hostel' - which we booked because frankly no other accomodation was available in the area. As it happened we were amazed by the facilities, the friendly atmosphere, the staff. And the value for money. wow so cheap! But as i say most of all by the location - we used it as a base for climbing Scafell Pike and were just SO RELIEVED everwhere else in the area was full!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have all the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks the amazing review :) We are really pleased that you enjoyed your first time staying in a Youth Hostel and hope you were lucky enough to get a good view from the top of Scafell Pike...

Many thanks,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter Ranch
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Gal at front desk very helpful with maps, checking on timing of Derwentwater ferry availability, and holding registration open for our late arrival, as we got lost on the way.

Great value. Firm beds. Clean facility. Curtains didn't make the room very dark in the morning. Propped a chair against them and put my head at the other end of the bed to get away from the light. We had a family room with two bunk beds for the four of us. Toilet and shower right across the hall.

Nice common facility with a game room, lounge, beautiful river view out front. Enjoyed the full English breakfast one morning and took advantage of the self catering kitchen fridge for the second morning.

It was hard to find, a very skinny turn off the road, about 20 minutes south of Keswick.

Used this as our base for visiting the Castlerigg Stone Circle, a hike up the Catbells and a scenic drive through Newlands Valley and Honnister Pass. All recommended. Only wish we'd had more time to enjoy the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiftofVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for a fantastic review, I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed your trip to the Lake District and I hope you got a fantastic view off the top of Catbells.

One of the reasons our hostel is so popular is its quiet location by the river away from the main road and this does make us a little tricky to spot if you have never been before! Now that you have found us though we hope that we will see you again soon :)

Many Thanks
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosforth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just had two nights at Borrowdale YHA with two other families. Fantastic!! Lovely location, superb food (Warden is an excellent cook), clean, well equipped for a small hostel and lovely atmosphere. Excellent spot for climbing various fells and in the middle of what is probably the largest 're-wilding' project in England. Lots of cuckoos!

All six children had a superb time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for an amazing review... We are all really pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Chris & all the Team
YHA Borrowdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hostel could not be located in a more stunning position- next to a beautiful babbling river, amid the trees in one of the Lake District's most scenic valleys. Better still, its proximity to Sty Head- giving access to Scafell Pike and Great Gable is pretty much unbeatable.

The rooms are small (we had a 'double'- ie: bunk beds) and the shower facilities are shared- but what else do you expect for £40 a night in the Lakes? And what more do you want if your aim is just to spend the day hiking, hiking, hiking in this glorious piece of English Idyll.

Since our last visit it now has a bar (that sells good local cask ales); the self-catering kitchen is well equipped; as are the games room and the dining area. We didn't eat the hostel-produced food but it looked hearty and represented super value.

Staff were friendly and helpful; we had four days of great weather and three nights of rest and relaxation. We could not recommend this hostel more. Go!

Room Tip: Get one at the front; facing the river- lovely babbling sound makes a great aid to a restful night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nibblepibbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Wow what an amazing review... 'We could not reccommend this hostel more!' feedback doesnt get much better than that :) We are chuffed to bits that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

All the best
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton le Spring
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Seven of us used Borrowdale as a base for climbing Scarfell Pike, some had never stayed in a YHA before and were pleasently surprised.

Comfy rooms, great showers, friendly staff, great food (a cracking breakfast), good facilities and a lovely relaxing little bar with great views.

We had a cracking stay and will be back, no question

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0RNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for a fantastic review... Now that you have done Scafell Pike you'll have to pop back to tackle the other 3000' fells Skiddaw, Scafell & Helvellyn... I hope we see you all again soon :)

All the best
Chris
YHA Borrowdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on 12 May after a rough day crossing from Ennerdale in reported 40 to 50 mile per hour gusty winds in horizontal rain, and mist. thankfully they had an efficient drying room and everything dried out overnight. We got a bed each at 24 hour notice although were not together. A pretty good evening meal and breakfast. They have an alcohol licence also. An excellent hostel in a lovely location. Staff were excellent. IMO this is best hostel in the Lake District.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for an AMAZING review! 'The best hostel in the lakes'! You are too kind :)
I hope the rest of your C2C went to plan and you didnt get too wet... with a bit of luck we'll see you both again soon.

All the best
Chris
YHA Borrowdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
10.3 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
391 reviews
5.0 mi away
YHA Buttermere
YHA Buttermere
#1 of 1 in Buttermere
110 reviews
6.4 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
YHA Helvellyn
YHA Helvellyn
#2 of 3 in Glenridding
104 reviews
9.0 mi away
YHA Patterdale
YHA Patterdale
#1 of 3 in Patterdale
156 reviews
5.9 mi away
YHA Keswick
YHA Keswick
#4 of 33 in Keswick
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Borrowdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Borrowdale

Property: YHA Borrowdale
Address: Longthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Borrowdale 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA Borrowdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Borrowdale Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing