We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most friendly staff in great value family accommodation in stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA Borrowdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YHA Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most friendly staff in great value family accommodation in stunning location”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

First stay in YHA since a teenager. Family half term break, thought we'd try it. Turned out to be the best part of our lovely but wet October holiday. Football table in games room a winner with the six year old, full English cooked breakfast a winner all round. Safe, friendly, fun, clean, superb value and relaxed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchieSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thanks for your Fantastic review, we are really pleased you enjoyey your stay with us and hope to see you all again soon!

Especially pleased to see our new table football table went down well :)

Best Regards
Chris
YHA Borrowdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    56
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
44
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

There are a number of places to stay in this area but this hostel stands out for its welcoming approach and good all-round facilities. There is a large lounge area with hand pulled ale on tap in the bar. The drying room is well heated and will extract all the water from your gear even if you have been in a downpour. Shower and toilet facilities are of a good standard.
There is an extensive choice for evening meals which were good quality and portion sizes.
We were in a room for two which contained a double bunk bed, wardrobe and wash basin. The beds were too short for someone like me at 6'4". This is perhaps something the YHA needs to review in the light of the number of people taller than me.
Breakfast was good and filling to set you up for the walk ahead.
This is a friendly well-run hostel well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wounded_Galaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks for your fantastic review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us :)

At 6 and a bit foot myself I am aware of the importance of a good size bed for sleep quality. We replaxced 60% of our beds and all of our mattresses here early this year. The new beds are a few inches longer. We do have two 2-bed rooms with the new longer beds in so next time you stay let us know and we'll do our best to book one of these rooms for you.

See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

stayed 2 nights here...Superb
Surpassed my(our) expectations on every level!
Spotlessly clean ,good rooms both with sinks,great breakfasts and great dinners.
All staff very pleasant and helpful.
Stunning location .. kids could amuse themselves for hours just at the front of the hostel in the stream.
Would 100% return here in preference to any hotel.......

REALLY REALLY IMPRESSED....WELL DONE

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks for your amazing review! I read it out at our last staff meeting and safe to say we are all chuffed to bits with your comments.... We hope to see you again soon :)

PS. staff love to play in the stream in front of the hostel too... there are some amazing swimming spots when the sun comes out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyberflânerie
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here for the second night of my coast-to-coast walk and was very impressed by this hostel. The only other YHA locations I had been to prior to this one were in London, so I wasn't expecting much based on that experience, but I was pleasantly surprised by how much better it was here. After a long and tiring day, there was nothing I could have wanted more than a hearty meal and a good night's sleep, and YHA Borrowdale succeeded beautifully at providing both.

The facilities here are particularly well-suited for outdoor enthusiasts, and I was especially grateful for the large and very warm drying room. The dorm I stayed in was very clean, three guests to a room, and it also had a sink en-suite. Most importantly, the staff was very friendly and supportive and went to great lengths to accommodate my every need.

If I weren't in a hurry to put in more miles the next day, I could easily have enjoyed a very nice weekend holiday here. Maybe that'll be next time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrapDivisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks for an Amazing Review! We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at YHA Borrowdale and hope to see you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights on a course and was massively impressed- this was my first YHA experience and I was not sure what to expect, especially given the rather dated stereotypical assumption that was in my head.

That assumption could not have been further from the truth............

Great welcome, brilliant staff who could not have been more helpful and accommodating, good portions of honest food, delicious home made soups, various guest beers, clean rooms, clean showers and toilets, huge drying room and the location is beautiful.

The bedrooms are basic, but clean, all bunk beds in the rooms I saw and a sink in room, then communal showers and toilets.

The communal area had comfortable sofas, wireless access ( there is NO mobile phone signal here), communal computer and plenty of books and magazines.

The jewel in the crown though is the staff- a great team who work hard to produce a great experience. It's has certainly put the YHA on my radar and I will look at going back with my family.

Room Tip: Great views out of the front overlooking the river, though lots of people walk past in the daytime o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJSRDEvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thanks for an amazing review :) We are really pleased you enjoyed your first stay at YHA Borrowdale. Your comments about the staff recieved a round of applause from the team at our last meeting!

YHA Borrowdale is a great place to bring the family, especially over school holidays when the hostel is absolutely buzzing. Keep an eye on our Facebook page for info on our School Holiday events and activities...

See you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just had a fantastic stay at Borrowdale YHA. The hostel itself has brilliant facilities that are well kept and clean. The room (private for 2 - though bunk bed) was clean, tidy and fresh, looking out onto the river. The shared social area has a great warm, friendly ambience. There is also a lovely games room with table football, pingpong, board games (includinig connect 4 - our family favourite!) We usually self cater but did have a meal in one night which was tasty, well prepared and a lovely big portion (chicken tikka masala and then sticky toffee pudding with ice-cream - yum yum! Definately regards to the chef.)

There was a lovely variety of low level and high level walks literally from the doorstep. We would have swum in the river if it had been a bit warmer air temp wise.

We stayed for three nights and are already planning our return visit.

Thank you so much to the staff who made our visit so brilliant.

Room Tip: We were in dorms for our first night - the boys snored alot (apparently) but we were able to book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacBethEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for your fantastic review, we are all really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon :) If you need any help organising your return visit just give us a call...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunholme, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

...and it most certainly wont be the last! The YHA Borrowdale hostel has opened my eyes to world of hostels and its set the bench mark pretty high! Beautiful location, beautiful facilities! The staff couldnt do enough to help and made us feel completely at home and welcome. Next day pack lunches you could buy we're filled generously (very good value for money)! The best thing about this hostel though was the atmosphere; friendly, relaxed and open! I definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Many thanks for your fantastic review, we are especially pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hostel as it is something all the staff have been focusing on this year. See you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.4 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
753 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
909 reviews
10.3 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 23 in Ambleside
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
7.7 mi away
YHA Keswick
YHA Keswick
#6 of 33 in Keswick
156 reviews
5.0 mi away
YHA Buttermere
YHA Buttermere
#1 of 1 in Buttermere
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Borrowdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Borrowdale

Property: YHA Borrowdale
Address: Longthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Borrowdale 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your YHA Borrowdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Borrowdale Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing