We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally clean, friendly hostel, we had a great time Sept 12”
Review of YHA Borrowdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YHA Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptionally clean, friendly hostel, we had a great time Sept 12”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just had a fantastic stay at Borrowdale YHA. The hostel itself has brilliant facilities that are well kept and clean. The room (private for 2 - though bunk bed) was clean, tidy and fresh, looking out onto the river. The shared social area has a great warm, friendly ambience. There is also a lovely games room with table football, pingpong, board games (includinig connect 4 - our family favourite!) We usually self cater but did have a meal in one night which was tasty, well prepared and a lovely big portion (chicken tikka masala and then sticky toffee pudding with ice-cream - yum yum! Definately regards to the chef.)

There was a lovely variety of low level and high level walks literally from the doorstep. We would have swum in the river if it had been a bit warmer air temp wise.

We stayed for three nights and are already planning our return visit.

Thank you so much to the staff who made our visit so brilliant.

Room Tip: We were in dorms for our first night - the boys snored alot (apparently) but we were able to book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacBethEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks for your fantastic review, we are all really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon :) If you need any help organising your return visit just give us a call...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    62
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
42
47
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunholme, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

...and it most certainly wont be the last! The YHA Borrowdale hostel has opened my eyes to world of hostels and its set the bench mark pretty high! Beautiful location, beautiful facilities! The staff couldnt do enough to help and made us feel completely at home and welcome. Next day pack lunches you could buy we're filled generously (very good value for money)! The best thing about this hostel though was the atmosphere; friendly, relaxed and open! I definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Many thanks for your fantastic review, we are especially pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hostel as it is something all the staff have been focusing on this year. See you again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

It is a gem of a place - the staff were knowledgeable and put us at our ease about the lakes and walks. It is clean and comfortable and best of all has no mobile signal, which we found hard the first day especially my teenage son and then thought great ( although you can pay for wifi). They say people come back year after year and we can see why.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SolMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Many thanks for a great review, we are realy pleased that you enjoyed your stay... Hopefully see you again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We checked in at 1pm with no trouble. Ordered our two-course evening meal from a good choice of veggie options. Dinner was served at our table and we bought a bottle of wine to go along with it. It was a big, wholesome meal. Breakfast (five quid) was a buffet with cereals, toast, fruit, tea and coffee, and hot food served from the counter; veggie sausages available with the full English (Can you tell we were famished after walking there from Buttermere?).
The hostel grounds are lovely: you can stroll along the stream in either direction. There is a games room with table tennis; a lounge with guide books, chess etc.. About a twenty minute walk towards Keswick there was a farm with a tea-room that also sold groceries, so you can make use of the hostel's self-catering kitchen if you prefer. Like most hostels round her there was a drying room to hang wet walking clothes, but we were lucky enough to have good weather. There is a bus stop outside that takes you to Keswick in about 40mins.Take note: if you are busing around the lakes, a Family Day Explorer (£28) may be cheaper than singles (6 quid seem to be the adult single fare).
We had a four-bunk room with a basin. The beds were comfortable enough, and already made up with clean sheets and a duvet. Campers are allowed to pitch their tents in the grounds and share the facilities.
We booked through booking.com, but the rate we paid when we arrived was cheaper than quoted on the website. It was not necessary to take out YHA membership to stay either.
You have to make use of shared showers and toilets, but this is no trouble at all: the showers are clean and hot, and there are plenty of them. No telly; no mobile signal. Would stay here again, definitely.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11. Four bunks to ourselves. Close to the showers, which was convenient, and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarlosVeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thanks for the fantastic review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay at YHA Borrowdale. Great advice about the bus tickets, public transport in the national park can work out a little pricey if you buy a lot of single tickets... Regards, Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is our 4th new year at this hostel and we have booked again for this year, if your looking for a 5* hotel this is not for you, but if you are looking for some were where you can sit, round a coal fire, with a great atmosphere, we're the kids are free to run around safely, play games make new friends and you are prepared to stay in a bunk bed( which is half the fun) then it's great, there are lovely walks form the Yha doorstep and the staff are great

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellerbrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
See you at New Year :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Borrowdale Hostel does what it was designed to do and it does it very well. Notta lotta frills and graces though. It does it in a marvellous location just down the valley which AW (the greatest guide book writer that ever lived) the loveliest square mile in Lakeland (Castle Crag 4; The North Western Fells). It sells good food and local beer. Staff are knowledgeable and helpful. OK so Borrowdale is the wettest place in the Lakes but the hostel does have a brilliant dry room. It is on the Coast to Coast Walk which means that you getta lotta chatty travellers & folk mix easily in the casual atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Many thanks for the review :)

Best regards
Chris
YHA Borrowdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed at Borrowdale YHA for 2 nights whilst on a walking hoilday. I arrived after a 6 hour walk and was able to check in straight away. Manager on duty at reception, he was most helpful and explained all the YHA system and where everything was. Borrowdale YHA is situated by the River Derwent, it runs through their grounds. A lovely spot. You order your meals at reception and book a time to eat. Food was excellent and served from a counter, a bit like the old school dinners I remember so well! All you have to do is clear your own table at the end. Local bottled beers and wines can be bought from reception and you can have a "tab" and pay at the end if you wish. Room 12 had a view of the river. Recently updated, the hostel is very clean and comfortable. Internet access, no mobile signal, no TV found. Showers and toilets all modern and very clean.

Room Tip: All rooms have a "view" as such because of the location. Nearest bus stop is at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher E, Manager at YHA Borrowdale, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Many thanks for the review :)

Best regards
Chris
YHA Borrowdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
10.3 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
402 reviews
5.0 mi away
YHA Buttermere
YHA Buttermere
#1 of 1 in Buttermere
112 reviews
6.4 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
YHA Patterdale
YHA Patterdale
#1 of 3 in Patterdale
159 reviews
7.7 mi away
YHA Helvellyn
YHA Helvellyn
#2 of 3 in Glenridding
107 reviews
5.9 mi away
YHA Keswick
YHA Keswick
#4 of 34 in Keswick
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Borrowdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Borrowdale

Property: YHA Borrowdale
Address: Longthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Borrowdale 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your YHA Borrowdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Borrowdale Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing