We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Borrowdale Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Borrowdale Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Our first break away to celebrate the new year in 6 years so we were looking forward to it & it didnt dissapoint us.Luckily reading other reviews we had a brand new refurbished room only completed days before we arrived.The updating is ongoing so try to get one of these rooms as some still need modernising.
We cant fault anything everything excellent- staff, hotel,room,food & the new year itinerary was very enjoyable .
Unfortunately we no longer have any dogs but this is the hotel to go to if you have some well behaved ones , very dog friendly.
Will definately return in 2010 to do some more fell walking.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,004 - 1,010 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2010

We have stayed at the Borrowdale on an annual basis since 1980 when we wre there for our honeymoon !!!!! We have been regular visitors ever since although in the last years befor its recent take over by the present owners we did feel that the decor was getting decidedly 'sad' however the improvement made last year had pulled things up considerably.
The staff are wonderful and have been there for many years - not many establishments can hold onto good staff as has been the case here, one other great improvement is in the manager - the owner/manager Peter Fiduric was 'cold' and even after all the years we had been there was off-hand - happily things have improved. The dining staff are always happy and welcoming and it's great to see Cathy each time. Charlie is certainly a 'character' and adds to the relaxed ambience.
The bedrooms were very badly in need of refubishment but this is now being carried out thankfully.

We look forward to our next visit 11th Jan 2010 weather permitting!!!!!

Ivor & Avril Marriott

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoryDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Stayed one night in early October. Noise from the kitchen extractor fan can be heard at reception so imagine what it's like in a "deluxe double" overlooking said fan. Was shown several other available rooms but was warned by the receptionist that they had not been modernised and were unlikely to be acceptable! She was right. Truly awful accommodation and totally unacceptable in h2009 - places like this really need to modernise or close down.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GS1200a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0mmelier, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2009

We thank all are Guests for their comments, but would like to point out that you cannot hear the Kitchen fan at the reception The rooms are refurbished to a very high standard and the hotel retains its homely charm. With the restaurant due to be refurbished in January, the Hotel will be one of the best in the Lake District.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend.a lovely hotel,just the job for a quite relaxing break.Only downside was the bathroom,which was far to small.Shower was not what you call a power shower.The upside was the dining room which was superb both in food,choice of food and service.The hotel is situated perfectly for touring the north lakes,or all the lakes as we did.There is plenty of parking space at front and secure parking at the rear.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunnerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We recently spend a three day break at the Borrowdale Hotel having stayed at Lodore Falls twice I would re-iterate what has been said previously. Having paid to upgrade room to superior it did have a lovely view and room was spacious however, it looked as if the bathroom had been updated the room did not, bits of wallpaper torn and furniture definitely had not been updated. Most of the staff friendly and very curtious but receptionist was not happy to provide extra two tiny packs of milk (questioned the need) and would not give us extra packet of biscuits - apparently they are only supplied on first day! I really dont think this is value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

the Hotel is looking better than ever. My wife has been visiting this hotel for the past 34 year so is hard to please. The staff are as friendly as ever, the refurbishments have given a new life to both the public areas and the bedroom which was stunning.

As ever the restaurant makes this Hotel in our view the bestplace to stay in the Lakes, there are so few places in the UK where service is an art and carried out so well. i could really do with the Hotel being closer to london so i could use it for my business entertaining.

I have to credit all the staff when the hotel lost power during Sunday Lunch service, there were no problems, the staff just got on with it. In the evening the electricerty company had to turn the power off for a while so they could re-set the mains supply, all the staff were getting lanterns for the guests and Charlie the barman was still serving drinks by the light of a single lantern.

We are returning next month with some friends for a special bithday celebration, can't wait,

Well done to all the staff, you really make a great place for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0mmelier, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2009

Thank you for you comments , they have been passed on to the staff and Charlie in particular.
We look forward to meeting you again next month
Stephen Wilcock ms
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

My partner and I decided to give the Borrowdale another try after staying there a few years ago and being very unhappy with the hard beds and pillows,but, the food/service had to be the best in the area!
We returned after I had specifically asked the receptionist on the phone before booking re "the beds"..she said the hotel had been refurbished and she could genuinely say the bed in our allocated room was not going to be like a mortuary slab (as before).
We took our two small grandchildren and went off quite happily....
Bedtime became a nightmare-my partner had to get up and sleep on the floor at 3am,closely followed by myself-the bed was worse than the last one and the pillows were like rocks...both our backs were aching terribly-something we don't ever have!
The following night we slept on the girls' camp beds and they slept in the king size bed together.
Warning-if you don't mind sleeping on a mortuary slab-fine but at least take your own pillows!
Other than the beds-food is delicious,gardens are beautiful and staff friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JumpingSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
871 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#6 of 22 in Keswick
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Hotel

Address: Keswick CA12 5UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: $177 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this 4-star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The AA Rosette restaurant is very elegant and comfortable, which also boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the AA Rosette restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms come equipped with TV, telephone and hospitality tray. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well-behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Borrowdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing