We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Borrowdale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
1 review
“Value for money?”
Reviewed August 2, 2009

We recently spend a three day break at the Borrowdale Hotel having stayed at Lodore Falls twice I would re-iterate what has been said previously. Having paid to upgrade room to superior it did have a lovely view and room was spacious however, it looked as if the bathroom had been updated the room did not, bits of wallpaper torn and furniture definitely had not been updated. Most of the staff friendly and very curtious but receptionist was not happy to provide extra two tiny packs of milk (questioned the need) and would not give us extra packet of biscuits - apparently they are only supplied on first day! I really dont think this is value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    265
    97
    43
    25
See reviews for
132
652
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

the Hotel is looking better than ever. My wife has been visiting this hotel for the past 34 year so is hard to please. The staff are as friendly as ever, the refurbishments have given a new life to both the public areas and the bedroom which was stunning.

As ever the restaurant makes this Hotel in our view the bestplace to stay in the Lakes, there are so few places in the UK where service is an art and carried out so well. i could really do with the Hotel being closer to london so i could use it for my business entertaining.

I have to credit all the staff when the hotel lost power during Sunday Lunch service, there were no problems, the staff just got on with it. In the evening the electricerty company had to turn the power off for a while so they could re-set the mains supply, all the staff were getting lanterns for the guests and Charlie the barman was still serving drinks by the light of a single lantern.

We are returning next month with some friends for a special bithday celebration, can't wait,

Well done to all the staff, you really make a great place for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0mmelier, General Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2009
Thank you for you comments , they have been passed on to the staff and Charlie in particular.
We look forward to meeting you again next month
Stephen Wilcock ms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

My partner and I decided to give the Borrowdale another try after staying there a few years ago and being very unhappy with the hard beds and pillows,but, the food/service had to be the best in the area!
We returned after I had specifically asked the receptionist on the phone before booking re "the beds"..she said the hotel had been refurbished and she could genuinely say the bed in our allocated room was not going to be like a mortuary slab (as before).
We took our two small grandchildren and went off quite happily....
Bedtime became a nightmare-my partner had to get up and sleep on the floor at 3am,closely followed by myself-the bed was worse than the last one and the pillows were like rocks...both our backs were aching terribly-something we don't ever have!
The following night we slept on the girls' camp beds and they slept in the king size bed together.
Warning-if you don't mind sleeping on a mortuary slab-fine but at least take your own pillows!
Other than the beds-food is delicious,gardens are beautiful and staff friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JumpingSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

I first stayed at the Borrowdale Hotel in 1990 and I've been back again on eleven occasions since then. Whenever I visit England I try to include some time in the Lake District and when I do I always stay at the Borrowdale Hotel.

The hotel is situated in the Borrowdale valley some 4 miles from Keswick. It's a country house, built in the 1860s and furnished accordingly with antique furniture in the public rooms. Two lounges on the ground floor, as well as the bar, have cheerful upen fires burning in the winter months which provide a welcoming feeling to the establishment. It's the sort of house whose upstairs floorboard creak under the carpets as you walk along the corridors.

I've occupied both single and double rooms while staying at the hotel. The rooms were pleasant enough, all ensuite and containing all the basic things that one would need while staying. Housekeeping at the hotel is of a high standard. The new owners are undertaking a refurbishment of the rooms, so I expect that although the room dimensions will remain the same, an update of facilities will be evident.

The single thing that makes guests return regularly to the Borrowdale, myself included, is the standard of food in the dining room. This spacious room is divided into two halves, by a wall which has cut out arches. Tables are positioned throughout both halves of the room and are sufficiently far apart to ensure privacy. The tables are attractively set with maroon under cloths and are topped with white tablecloths. The room looks very inviting. Interesting antique implements are displayed on the walls as well as a nice collection of 17th century Ogilby Road Maps. The food is outstanding and the dining room is managed by Kath, a 30+ year veteran of the hotel. Kath is a working manager and is a wonderful asset to the hotel, who always remembers her regular customers.

Copies of the dinner menu for the day and wine list are located in the bar and dinner orders are taken in the bar by the hotel manager. You can then make your way to dinner at your leisure. By the time you get to the dining room appropriate cutlery for your selection has already been placed on your table. The food is of a consistently high standard, whether it be silver service served by the waiting staff, or carved from the silver trolley by one of the immaculately dressed chefs. Some of the dishes I have enjoyed there have set the standard by which all similar dishes have been judged ever since. Coffee and home made fudge and chocolates are available for self service after dinner either outside Reception or inside the bar and these are enjoyed by the guests in the lounges or conservatory.

Whenever I've stayed at the Borrowdale it has always been on Dinner, Bed and Breakfast terms. An excellent choice of items is available on the breakfast menu, including the vast Borrowdale Grill, which appears to include everything contained in a Full English and more. Certainly the breakfast sets you up for a day in the outdoors.

The hotel is the sort of establishment where fellow guests actually talk to each other and almost always it is revealed that this is by no means the first time that fellow guests have visited the hotel.

Ample parking is provided in a secure area behind the hotel and in the open at the front of the hotel.

Rooms suitable for mobility impaired guests were built a few years ago. I haven't seen them, but a gentleman in a wheelchair was occupying one of them during my last visit.

Dogs are allowed in the hotel and a convenient dog walking area is available in the grounds of the staff house located across the road.

Unfortunately the weather in the Borrowdale Valley is not always perfect, so a drying room is provided on the first floor of the hotel.

I love to visit England. I love to spend time in the Lake District and most of all I love the Borrowdale Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Visited partway through the refurbishment - minimal inconvenience.
All staff were friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately we had to make some use of the drying room - much needed.
Great stop during our tour of the lakes, Muncaster Castle, Ravenglass, Keswick and Ambleside following son's wedding.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynandcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed here for a weekend, and found the hotel very well furnished with good sized rooms. The best part however was the silver service dinner on an evening. The location is a bit "out of town" so can be expensive on taxis if you are going into or out of Keswick late on. The only drawback was we felt a biy young to stay here !!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snorbitz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

We had planned a four night stay in our favourite part of the Lake District. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Sue on the reception and she offered us help with our luggage. We had booked a de luxe room and the one we had was newly refurbished and was very pleasant indeed. It was tastefully decorated, and spacious with a good sitting area and a very comfortable giant sized bed. There was a flexible heating system and windows that opened wide if you needed ventilation. There was a modern designed bathroom with shower over the bath. In both room and bathroom there was lots of cupboards, drawers and surface space. On the bedroom wall was a plasma TV and unusually for a hotel room there were lots of lights so it was possible to read comfortably.

The hotel is in the process of a total refurbishment but it is being done in stages so as to minimise disruption for guests. We found the staff, mostly from mainland and Eastern Europe, to be extremely friendly, efficient and helpful and Kath, the Restaurant Manager was exceptionally kind and understanding as my wife has a serious illness. The food is traditional, with variety and choice and we found it to be unfailingly well done.

This hotel is a great favourite with lovers of the Borrowdale Valley and many come back year after year - it seems to cater mainly for younger professional retired people especially those who enjoy walking, and of course it is possible to walk straight from the door through some beautiful scenery in many directions. We have known the hotel for some years and we shared the anxieties of people who worried that under the new owners it would lose its character - happily they appear to be refreshing it but still retaining all the best qualities of a good, comfortable Country House Hotel. We just hope that the costs of refurbishing will not result in it being priced out pf the market of the people who have traditionally frequented it over the years.

We can most heartily recommend the hotel as a very comfortable
and relaxing place to stay.

D and J Frith Brampton Cumbria

  • Liked — Comfortable and Hospitable
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donfrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,073 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
389 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
15.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Hotel

Property: The Borrowdale Hotel
Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this completely refurbished 4 Star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Warm and welcoming fires in the Winter and cool drinks and Lakeland cream teas on the lawns in the Summer served with a smile. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The restaurant has been refurbished to a very high standard and is very elegant and comfortable. It also now boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms have all been refurbished within the last 3 years all have TV, telephone and hospitality tray. There are also 2 extra large, easy-access rooms too. If you are arriving or leaving on a Sunday make sure not to miss the famous Sunday lunch - it is well worth trying, but remember to book your table well in advance, as it is particular popular with both locals and residents. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well behaved dogs. Please contact reservations for information about our dog friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Borrowdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing