We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Borrowdale Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Fantastic polite staff warm log fires great food second visit.roast lamb very tender tasty honey glazed carrots red cabbage new,roast potatoes.wife had turkeyxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx xxxx.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sadung T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah D, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Hello and thank you for leaving a fantastic review on trip advisor.

We are so glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Kind Regards
Leah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for a one night break in February. Our stay included winter Pimms and crumpets and a 3 course evening meal.

On arrival the room was lovely. Warm, spacious and immaculate. Only fault was that you could hear everything from the room above. They had a dog that wandered all night.

Our evening meal in the restaurant was average. Although staff were friendly they were unorganised. Our wine took 30 mins to arrive by this time we had finished starters and were on with main course. Our desserts came out 30 mins apart and we ordered a tea and a coffee to finish off with. The coffee arrived but no tea so we left without. 30 mins later a waitress came into the bar and asked us if we still wanted our tea. Better late than never I suppose.

Finally when checking out we noticed that we had charges from travel zoo and a beef baguette? Neither should have been on the receipt however the receptionist tried to say the travel zoo charge was for the "complimentary" crumpets. After some confusion it was finally resolved.

Overall I would say the Borrowdale is a beautiful hotel and well looked after but could improve in some areas. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Noddyshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeBrown676, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are glad that you found the Hotel and room to be of a high standard, we make every effort to maintain the quality of our facilities to help contribute to a enjoyable and relaxing stay, however we were disappointed to read that you felt that the food for your evening meal was of an average quality and that the staff were unorganised.

We take pride in the provenance and presentation of all the food that we serve. I can only apologise for falling short of your expectations and hope that you will return to the Borrowdale Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Over the years we have enjoyed many meals at The Borrowdale Hotel but had never stayed there, so when we received an offer for a half-price DBB break, it seemed worth trying.
The Borrowdale is a traditional country hotel, stone built and standing four-square in glorious countryside, all polished wood, open fires, and silver service, but equally-welcoming to wine buffs and walkers - just leave your wet muddy gear in the porch or in the hotel's drying room. We were allocated room 4, which has had previous mentions on TA. It's a spacious room, nicely furnished in a modern/traditional style, comfortable and with a very chic bathroom with all mod cons. For the record, we were not inconvenienced by any noise, heat, or smells from the kitchens below, although the view out of the windows is of the dustbins, so would not do any favours in a publicity brochure. But we did not come to sit looking out of a bedroom window, we came to walk the hills, which we did assisted by the service bus which stops right outside the hotel's front door.
When not walking, the various lounges and bars are pleasant places to sit, although the conservatory where we usually go was closed whilst being refurbished. Meals for our break were taken in the dining room, a room which is full of character without being stuffy, and also without the dreaded muzac. The menu is not extensive but the food was imaginative, well cooked, and enthusiastically served, on very hot plates, qualities which have brought us back on many previous occasions.
The comfortable, welcoming atmosphere of The Borrowdale is of course made by the staff, all of whom we found courteous, friendly, and ready to please. And the free wifi throughout the hotel is something many more-expensive places would do well to copy.
The Borrowdale Hotel is just as it appears. A traditional, comfortable place to stay or eat, with no pretentions but with a great welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeBrown676, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

We are delighted to read your complimenting review of your recent stay with us at The Borrowdale hotel.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were looked after by our great team of staff!

We make every effort to provide a high standard and quality, and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back to The Borrowdale Hotel in the near future
and thank you for recommending our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just returned from a weekend stay in The Borrowdale Hotel. This is our third visit in about 12 months and yet again, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The hotel is perfectly located next to the wonderful Derwent Water in Borrowdale valley. The hotel is timeless and retains all of its character. The staff are very warm and welcoming and pay excellent attention to every detail to make your stay as excellent as possible. The ambience in the hotel is lovely and relaxing and the food is delicious. In short, wonderful hotel with wonderful staff. The value of the staff was very good too. Strongly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorytus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeBrown676, Public Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and thank you for recommending our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We make every effort to maintain a high standard and quality of service and we are delighted that we have been successful in achieving this during your stay.

The Borrowdale valley is a beautiful part of the world and we look forward to welcome you back to The Borrowdale Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just spent two nights at the Borrowdale Hotel. The weather was very wet so we spent quite a lot of time in the hotel lounge and bar in front of the welcome fires. The staff were wonderful -very friendly and helpful.
We had a welcome glass of warm pimms and crumpets and a free wine tasting session. We were staying on a dinner bed and breakfast deal and the food was wonderful. The wine tasting on the Friday evening was a great ice-breaker and as a result the whole place was very friendly with guests talking to each other throughout the weekend.
Our room was on the small side but very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeBrown676, Public Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Many thanks for your lovely review and for recommending The Borrowdale Hotel on trip advisor.

Unfortunately you can not always guarantee the weather in The Lakes, therefore we try to create a warm and welcoming hotel, Stephen Wilcock, the hotel’s General Manager; is very keen to share the his passion for food and wine, his wine tasting evening evenings have proven to be a huge success.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Timeless hotel, amazing location, friendly, attentive staff and great food. Hotel is spotlessly clean, staff are knowledgeable and know how to make guests feel welcome.

The wine tasting on the evening of the 31st Jan 2014 was a great addition to our stay and was both humorous and informative with the two gentlemen who hosted it being both highly entertaining but knowledgeable.

All in all a great stay, not even marred by the January weather.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philmbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeBrown676, Guest Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments and for highly recommending The Borrowdale Hotel on trip advisor.

We aim to provide a high standard and quality to all guests staying within our hotel group and we are extremely happy to hear we have met your expectations.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed for four nights at this fantastic hotel, as always we had a fantastic stay (stayed several times).
ALL staff very helpfully and friendly, food excellent,
The perfect place for some time away to relax and recharge the batteries so to speak.
Lovely spacious room (superior) with views across to the lake and skiddaw in the background
Totally disagree with a previous review regarding 80's decor, this has been tastefully redecorated over the last few years and we love it's charm and character and look forward to seeing the changes once the bar and conservatory are done
Hopefully be back for another visit towards summer,

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorriAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,183 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
849 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Hotel

Address: Keswick CA12 5UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: $155 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this 4-star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The AA Rosette restaurant is very elegant and comfortable, which also boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the AA Rosette restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms come equipped with TV, telephone and hospitality tray. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well-behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Borrowdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing