We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Borrowdale Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$229
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$185
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$199
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$191
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveler rating
591
294
111
47
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
591
294
111
47
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprestige roomwine tastingsilver serviceconservatory arealake districtsister hotelon arrivaldining roomsunday lunchsconesclassic roomcourse dinnerlovely hotelhigh standardshort breakfirst classtraditional hotel
Filter
Updating list...
713 - 718 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Fantastic hotel in an amazing location in the Lake District of England. Hotel is beautifully appointed, very welcoming and a really really great stay. Staff of the hotel and the restaurant were exceptionally friendly and helpful always and the food was fabulous particularly the desserts.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cfsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and i stayed here for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary, we booked using a travelzoo voucher, the deal was room, 3 course meal, breakfast, mulled wine and mince pie on arrival..we had a lovely time, i think the best way to review the hotel is to list the negatives and positives.... Negatives just a few small things, on arrival we received our mulled wine which was delicious, but no mince pie, i asked the bar man he said he didn't know about the deal, i had the deal in black and white and showed him.. He promptly gave us two hot mince pies with clotted cream, lovely but i found it strange the hotel staff didn't know what deals they was offering, then we went to our room which I'd payed £20 extra for a room upgrade, the room was clean and tidy but nothing special, the tv in the room didn't work nor could we get WiFi which is advertised es free in all rooms, we then went to the bar and as i was pondering which of the 3 guest ales to have i was told none of them was on. The positives... The hotel is beautiful and oozes class, the very tasteful Xmas decorations gave a warm seasonal feel, the restaurant in lovely, perhaps a little bright and could maybe do with some soft background music, our waiter was fantastic, a very polite knowledgeable young man called Boris, we learned he was from Slovakia, his English was excellent, the food was top quality, and finally the location, the hotel is near the stunning Derwent waters with breathtaking views, overall we enjoyed our stay and would return, many thanks to Boris it was a pleasure to meet you.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fishcake69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our 1st visit to The Borrowdale hotel was fabulous, we were really looking forward to the Downton Abbey Afternoon Tea, and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious and the staff were very attentive, pleasant and helpful, it was a real treat for us and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Borrowdale Hotel previously both as a couple and as a family, with our dog, everytime is fabulous.....
We have stayed in all room types - Standard, Classic and Prestige - all are beautifully decorated and luxurious.... possibly the only difference is the size of the room and the different views?

Having just returned from a 3 night 'winter' break - as always the service was fantastic, the food was fantastic and the whole ambience of the hotel was relaxing.. and Christmassy!

There was also a good range of age groups staying in the hotel, and everyone was really friendly.

All of the Christmas decorations were up inside and out and they were amazing, it was lovely to drive up to the hotel seeing it all lit up... it made us feel so festive.

We had the Festive Fayre menu one night (booked in advance) and were so happy we had - it was the perfect Christmas dinner - with no washing up! Would definitely recommend this to anyone...

A great few days away ..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandJCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is what you imagine a country hotel should be, log fires, comfortable lounges, good food, welcoming and attentive staff and a super bed. Delightful break, will definitely be back here, the location is good, near to Keswick and the lakes, or the theatre for an evening out, or simply sit and enjoy the ambiance of the hotel. Sympathetically maintained and true to it's age with great photos of the hotel through time - if you want a boutique hotel this is not for you.
Thanks for a lovely stay

Room Tip: The kitchen extractors are quite noisy so try and avoid rooms close to them, the upgraded rooms are very lovely with super comfy big beds.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WitchoftheWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews