We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Borrowdale Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
manchester,england
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great location relaxing break”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

had a lovely relaxing weekend in keswick and borrowdale , very nice room albeit a little small and very warm, on arrival we were told the latest we could book in for dinner was 7pm we would have liked to eat a little later so slightly disappointed, however soon overcame this with attentive service and excellant food
spent a very nice afternoon in keswick well worth a visit, an excellant sunday breakfast set us up for a nice walk
would definitely recommend and vist again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. If you wish to book again in the future, which we hope you will do, you will be able to pre-book your dinner which will allow you a wider choice of times.

Kind regards

Dani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    267
    101
    44
    26
See reviews for
138
664
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast, booked through Secret Escapes. Our standard room was small, but stylish and had everything we needed. The shower room was newly fitted. We had a distant view of the lake. There were extensive public rooms - lounges, bar, conservatory and a spacious restaurant.
The set menu each night had a number of choices and the food was very good. There was also the choice of a more extensive a la carte menu for a small supplement. Wine was expensive, but they happily kept half our bottle for the second night. Breakfast was excellent and there were several alternatives offered to the traditional cooked breakfast.
The open topped bus up the valley and to Keswick stops outside the hotel, and it even accepted our bus passes! The hotel was an excellent base for exploring the area on foot, by car or bus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mandy,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay with us, I’m really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards

Dani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed at the borrowdale 4th -6th October 2013 booked through secret escapes and all I can say is WOW cant fault a thing. Excellent food, staff, a very pleasant room would definitely go again. Recommend a trip into Keswick and a trip around Derwent lake its beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Melanie,

I’m so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us; hopefully we will be welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards

Dani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I ended up booking this hotel as we only wanted to stay in the Lake District for one night and struggled as many hotels & B&B's have a policy of a minimum 2 night stay but I'm glad we ended up here as it was lovely. The staff were polite & efficient, the food was great apart from them running out of a number of items on the evening bar menu but it had been quite busy and we were late in, but the breakfasts made up for it. Very accommodating with our two dogs and the hotel's location is great as you can see Derwent water from the front rooms of the building and there are a number of walks you can do directly from the hotel. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfiedog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review, I’m pleased to hear we were able to accommodate you during your short stay. Hopefully we will be welcoming you back for a longer visit in the near future.

Kind regards,

Dani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District,Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had an excellent lunch at The Borrowdale Hotel last sunday (29th Sept '13). It was my Uncle & Auntie's Golden Wedding Anniversary and they decided to have lunch with the family at this hotel.All the staff were very attentive.There was plenty of choice and the portion sizes were super.
The service was 1st class & the food was pipping hot.
We had starters,mains,desserts,a cheese board and coffees for £20 per person(excluding drinks).
Definately value for money & a definate return to destination.
The views are also stunning looking down the Borrowdale valley across Derwentwater.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouserjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi there,

I’m so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your lunch with us and hope your Aunty & Uncle’s golden wedding anniversary was a special one! We look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Kind regards

Dani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly welcome, nice room, then a power cut! No worries, out to Keswick for an hour then back for our meal. What a delight. Scallops a delight. Pigeon as it should be. Pear and apple crumble a wonder. All with a delightful wine. Served by really friendly and efficient staff. Hopefully more of the same to follow tomorrow, I'm really looking forward to that.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for your kind review of the Borrowdale – we’re glad the power cut didn’t interfere with your enjoyment! We’d love to know how the rest of your trip went and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Dani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We attended a Golden Wedding celebration yesterday and the Sunday Lunch was Superb. Good choice of Starters/Main Course/Sweets/Cheese and Buscuits AND Coffee all for the excellent price of £20. Having tried several hotels in the Lake District this was by far the best for Quality,Quantity,and Value for Money. All the Staff were very curtious and well turned out and nothing was too much trouble. I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotet and intend returning in the near future, GWMcC

Room Tip: We only attended for Sunday Lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danigraves, Public Relations Manager at The Borrowdale Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Gordon

Thank you for your review of our hotel, I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us and hope everyone in your party enjoyed the celebrations! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Dani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.5 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,101 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
398 reviews
15.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
9.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
2.1 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Borrowdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Borrowdale Hotel

Property: The Borrowdale Hotel
Address: Borrowdale CA12 5UY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Borrowdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Shepherd's Crag in the beautiful valley of Borrowdale, this completely refurbished 4 Star hotel has a totally unique atmosphere enveloping the visitors from the moment they arrive. Warm and welcoming fires in the Winter and cool drinks and Lakeland cream teas on the lawns in the Summer served with a smile. Built in 1866, the Borrowdale Hotel has an interesting history with the original 41 room bells, which, although no longer working, are still proudly displayed outside the reception area. The restaurant has been refurbished to a very high standard and is very elegant and comfortable. It also now boasts a superb walk-in wine cellar stocked with some very interesting bottles. During the day the lounge bar and conservatory are open for light lunches and afternoon teas and in the evening a splendid 5 course silver service dinner can be enjoyed in the restaurant with coffee and mints served in the lounges. The 40 cosy bedrooms have all been refurbished within the last 3 years all have TV, telephone and hospitality tray. There are also 2 extra large, easy-access rooms too. If you are arriving or leaving on a Sunday make sure not to miss the famous Sunday lunch - it is well worth trying, but remember to book your table well in advance, as it is particular popular with both locals and residents. For those looking for dog friendly hotels, all of our bedrooms are dog friendly and are available for well behaved dogs. Please contact reservations for information about our dog friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Borrowdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing