We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to utopia”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Set in one of the most beautiful locations in England the Lodore has a head start on virtually all of its rivals. Friendly service, top quality food and a totally laid back atmosphere soon have you in a relaxed mood. Pampered luxury allows you to forget niggley little things like the missing bathtub plug and other plumbing idiosynchrosies. Its expensive to stay here but the management team have succeeded in creating an ambience that makes you smile instead of making you frown when presented with your final invoice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plymouthcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2010

Many thanks for your kind review on this site.

It is so rewarding to the team here to read such comments and to know that our hard work is being appreciated by our wonderful and loyal clientele. I do very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the beautiful Lodore Falls again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,026 - 2,032 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

As my husband is involved in the tourism industry at a very senior level, and as we are both involved in heritage and heritage tourism, we have stayed at many of the best hotels in the world, and some of the most elegant heritage properties. Lodore Falls does not fit into either of these categories. We were not looking for super elegance, however; we just wanted a relaxed place to spend a few quiet days in the Lake District. I selected Lodore from the internet in one rushed hour one evening, and then was beset by trepidation.. From the moment we walked in, however, I was taken back to the days of my childhood, when summers were spent at our cottage on one of the Canadian Lakes. Lodore is that kind of place -- extremely relaxed, quiet, comfortable, nice people, great views. Our room was fine, not superb, but perfectly okay. Staff were wonderful, especially reception staff, who patiently answered my many email queries before we arrived. The only disappointment was the spa, where my husband felt the massage was not up to snuff. His standards, however, are very high, and we did not really expect a world-class spa. Food is not of the famous-chef quality, but plentiful, and, again, absolutely fine. We wished that there had been fresh juice, but that was a small complaint. Coffee and drinks are cheerfully served in the lounges, by the fireplaces or the windows, whenever requested. Our recommendations: not for the young crowd looking for a lively holiday, nor for those who demand the ultimate in every category. But for those who, like us, are stressed out by work and too much travel, don't want to have to carry evening clothes on a holiday, and are happy to lounge around the fireplace, explore the small towns around the quiet Derwentwater lake (on the launch which continuosly circles the lake), and to rent a car for leisurely exploration, this is the place. (The car rental company delivers and picks up at the hotel, by the way). There were some families with very happy children, and older couples, some of whom have been coming for many years. All ages co-existed peacefully. It is worthwhile to spend the extra to book a lakeview room, and take the full breakfast and dinner plan. We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2010

Thank you for your kind review of our beautiful hotel.

I have passed your comments on to all concerned and do very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Lodore Falls again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for two nights b&b mid-week with my partner. The hotel is in a lovely spot which is ideal for walking and only about 3 miles from Keswick.
Upon our arrival we went to our basic room which was clean and tidy, but felt quite dark and had a view of a roof. To be honest, for £156 a night felt like a bit of a rip off. So we went to reception, and explained that we were there to celebrate our anniversary and asked about the possibility of a free room upgrade. We were handed the keys to room 105 which was described as a lake view room, two grades above the one that I had booked. This room was brilliant, newly decorated and spacious. The views were great and it felt like value for money, remembering of course that I had only paid the rate for the basic room. In my opinion £312 for 2 nights in this room was about right, but of course the hotel usually charge more than this if you book it with them.
A nice touch was a box of chocolates and a card in the room when we went back in with our bags, very quick work by the staff and a nice surprise.
If you look on the website of the hotel you will note the gentleman in the bow tie and the lady in the dress apparently having dinner together. There is a dress code and a no jeans policy for dinner, fair enough, but if you do go for the suit and tie option you'll be over dressed. Trousers and open collar shirt for gents is enough from what I saw. We wanted to go for a relaxing break, so we took a taxi into Keswick on both nights for a meal without the need to dress up in our best gear. (Morells restaurant is brilliant)
Breakfast is more relaxed and very good. Service was brilliant by all staff and the food was to a very high standard.
We had a luxury all over body massage on day two, costing £59 each and advertised as lasting for 70 minutes. Sadly, the 70 minutes seems to include the time for filling out a health and safety form, and sitting down afterwards to drink a glass of water. The massage was brilliant, but be aware it's more like a 60 minute massage with 10 minutes of messing about.
We made use of the pool and outdoor jacuzzi on both days. Both were good, but the jacuzzi is noisy when switched on and you should also be aware that there is a public path leading right past it, over a bridge to the nearby waterfall. The waterfall itself is in the grounds of the hotel and is worth a look, but strangely you have to walk around the back of the hotel which isn't the nicest of areas, to get there! Surely the hotel could take you a better, more scenic way.....thus making the jacuzzi more private and the stroll more plesant.
Overall this is a good hotel and I would consider going back in the summer to make use of the location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review our fantastic Lodore Falls on this site.

We were delighted to be able to give you an upgrade to one of our spectacular lake view rooms, together with a box of Begium chocolates, as a gesture of goodwill and in recognition of your anniversary. I am, therefore, a little disappointed that you choose to mark us down on value for money!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We did not stay in the hotel but 17 of us (11 adults and 6 young children) went there for Sunday lunch on the recommendation of local friends. I was really impressed by the care the staff took of us - there was a good choice of food for adults and children and flexibility about when the children were served. The roast beef was a big hit with adults and children alike! A lovely table had been set aside for us and the staff were very helpful. The wine list had a wide variety of both red and white wines to choose from and we were very happy with both our white and red selections. All in all we really enjoyed our meal and would thoroughly recommend the food and the welcome to others. The children particularly enjoyed being able to have a swim before lunch.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank dianap-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2010

Many thanks for reviewing our hotel on this site.

The Lodore Falls Hotel is now one of the most popular dining venues in Cumbria with Sunday lunch being the most popular meal to book. The option to book one course for only £8.95 is a great draw - who wouldn't love the Lakeland Sirloin of Beef at that price! We are very "family friendly" with many clients taking advantage of our leisure facilities whilst in the hotel.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed at the Lodore Falls hotel for 4 nights last week to celebrate the wedding of my brother and his wife. The hotel was an excellent base for the many members of our extended family who had travelled to The Lakes for the wedding. We had a standard room which was perfectly adequate although the view out towards the back of the hotel wasn't a patch on the rooms at the front of the hotel with views over the lake.

My brother had two nights in the Tower Room and so I was able to have a look around in there. The Tower Room is the showpiece room of the hotel and is done out in a contemporary style with incredible views over the lakes to the hills beyond.

My parents had a suite which was also well furnished, with a separate sitting room and again, magnificent views out over the lake. The decor / furnishings in this room were a bit dated but everything was clean and perfectly serviceable.

The rooms had good facilities and were thoroughly cleaned every day. The food in the hotel was excellent, from the bar snacks and room service, through to the restaurant meals and the wedding meal itself.

The staff were courteous and helpful although one of the waitresses in the restaurant always seemed to be very abrupt. It was difficult to discern whether she was rude or whether it was a by-product of English not being her first language. That aside, the staff provided excellent service with good cheer and Jake in the bar deserves a speecial mention. He was great all week.

The hotel management staff were a great help in sorting out the inevitable bits and pieces that crop up with weddings and ensured that the big day day went very well indeed.

All-in-all I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel and hope to visit again some time in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikey_sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2010

Many thanks for your review of our wonderful hotel on this site.

We do fondly remember the weekend you were with us, the bride and groom, together with their guests, were an absolute delight to look after and the whole team here very much enjoyed ensuring their special day was indeed just that.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Stayed here for one night with my wife. We booked at the last minute as we were travelling through the lake district. We paid £156 for one night B&B. On arrival there was a wedding in full flow which had most of the guests in the reception area,,, Just one of those things and can happen anywhere. The photo's on the internet sold it to us as a beautiful hotel on the waters edge with spa and quiet tranquill rooms and being a 4* hotel we were sure it was a safe bet, We were wrong please look at the photo's and see for yourself. If it was not for the fact my wife was 7 months pregnant I would have got in the car and come home a day early. The room was dated beyond belief, noisy, and uncomfortable. The parking provided is over a road in a seperate car park so if you have a lot of luggage it's a fair walk.
The indoor pool was ok the lockers most of which were broken and not one member of staff in the leisure area upon arrival. The gym is very good however with air con and new equipment.

Breakfast was pretty good lots of choice and very quick service but other than that there is no good things I can say about it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cjslro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2010

Thank you for taking the trouble to review our beautiful hotel on this site.

We do have several room types starting with the standard rooms through to the suites. We make no secret of the fact that the room sizes and views do vary, where the rooms are a little less spacious or do not have a great view we classify them as standard and charge accordingly.

The hotel car park is across the road from the hotel but we do advise customers, in our confirmation letter, to pull up outside the front doors of the hotel so as the porters can assist with luggage before proceeding to the car park.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Booked a suite for my wifes Birthday, fantastic top floor views of Derwent Water. Alas the rooms are a wee bit tired and the food in the Restaurant was average and by no means brilliant. The location was superb, which made the break fantastice. Staff very attentive but each course arrived too quickly in the restaurant. HOT TUB - SUPERB.
A touch expensive for the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stubeyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on this site.

You did indeed book one of our super suites, the room most certainly isn't cheap but does still represent great value for money given the stunning views over Derwentwater toward Cat Bells and Skiddaw. I would dispute your statement that the rooms are tired, our rooms have all been refurbished over the past five years with the suites being completed very recently.

Once again, many thanks for your review.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,019 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,731 reviews
3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: $153 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the four-star Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award-Winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Hotel Improvement works 2017. We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand-new luxury spa, dining experience, and 18 new bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guest’s experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing