We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel...but please send some of the staff to charm school !”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel...but please send some of the staff to charm school !”
Reviewed April 19, 2007

I stayed here for 2 nights on April 13th and 14th. I was pleased to be told I had an upgrade on arrival and our lake-view room was very nice indeed with a balcony to enjoy the very warm weather. It is obvious that since my last visit 2 years ago that an enormous amount of money has been spent on redecorating the hotel and the result is very impressive.
What is not so good is the attitude/mood of many of the staff, particularly in the bar and restaurant who appear to be unhappy. Also when I checked out, I queried an item on my bill which was not mine. I was treated in an initially unhelpful manner, although it was eventually resolved.
The food is presented very professionally, but I found the choice of main courses a little limited.
My overall impression is that this is a nice hotel in a super location, but more work is required on the staff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service levels
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin Sherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    531
    180
    84
    73
See reviews for
388
1,277
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2007

Had a very nice three days at the Lodore Falls hotel just before the Easter break.
We booked a superior lake view double room and were given a delightful room (107) on the first floor with a clear view of Derwent Water.
Upon entering the room we could see that it had been very recently refurbished and you could actually smell wallpaper paste ( not unpleasant) - confirming our thoughts.
The room was very spacious (for a couple) with plenty of wardrobe/drawer space and also had a flat screen TV ( wall mounted) with a couple of SKY channels plus terrestrial.
Very satisfied with the room and its view.
Upon leaving we saw other rooms as they were being cleaned and have to say would not have felt as happy in some of these , which appeared cramp and the view non -existant !!
The evening meals were very good and the service,which in the main appeared to be by young eastern Europeans, was good , but the cooked breakfasts were very often a little dried up, which was a little disappointing !

Did have a problem with seating in the restaurant on one night when our table for two was actually behind a pillar and you could not move your chair without bumping the chair of the tables which were adjacent to our table, and of course yours and other parties conversations were clearly heard by each other. I think that a little better planning of tables or clearing of used tables earlier would have done away with the need to squash more tables in.
We did comment that we did not want to be seated there on the next evening and our request was granted but another two guests seated there, who from their body language also felt unhappy about the location.
As someone else pointed out, the PR in the brocure/website gave the impression that the Hotel was on the waterside , when actually there was a road and a grazing area for sheep of approx 150 yards between the Hotel and the waterside. A little deceitful and unnecessary because the view was great anyway ( as per my photo attached)

The bar area we found a little lacking in atmosphere and a little less than friendly /attentive service at times.

Again as someone else pointed out, you have to park your car across the road from the hotel as there is only a few parking spaces at the hotel reserved for disabled guests, which although understandable because of the hotels location, it was not made clear on the website !

Overall a nice hotel and well run and we enjoyed our stay but would not be inclined to return.

  • Liked — View and decoration
  • Disliked — Lack of parking
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJC_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateshead, england
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

We have just returned from a Booster Break which was a special offer for 2 nghts. It included breakfast on two mornings and one 4course evening meal. Our room was a Fell View room, on the 2nd floor which had recently been refurbished. The bed was huge and very comfortable , the bed linen and the towels in the bathroom were spotless. As were the bathrobes! We even had free bottled water in the room, which we have had to pay for normally at other hotels. The food and service in the restaurant was excellant and the staff very pleasant. The lounge was very comfortable and again the staff were pleasant. The hotel location is perfect the gym and pool are ideal. All in all we had a wonderful stay and will definately return.

  • Liked — The Bed.
  • Disliked — very small lift
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ????
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitburn
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2007

The Lodore is an upmarket hotel, but this made our experience of the hotel a bigger let down than if our expectations weren't so high. The room (number 127) was nice enough, if a little small, a 'fell view family room' with what I had been assured was a nice aspect (above the facing walls and the vents etc. of what I assume is the kitchen block). There is a lot of competition at these prices and as we were still considering one or two other hotels I had specifically asked about the room when booking, so this was disapointing, but not really any more than that.
The real problem was that the fan, generator or whatever, directly outside the window continued it's low thrumming all night. By 11.30 none of us could sleep and our 3 year old was continually asking when the noise would stop, so I called Reception who said they were unable to do anything until the morning. Twenty minutes later I'd had enough and rang again. This time they managed to get us a room change - to a room on the floor above, where although noticeable it was much quieter. I was unhappy that they'd allocated that room in the first place when it was apparent that they knew of the noise problem and when there were other rooms, of the same category, free and I asked the night porter and reception staff to pass on my feelings to management. I spoke to the manager when we checked out and he told me he was completely unaware of the problem, which again does not reflect well or meet the standards you would expect of the hotel.
Gripe over, and having said all that the Hotel itself is otherwise excellent overall, but still being refitted and there are a few things still to finish. Most rooms and public spaces including the bar, lounge and restaurant have been tastefully redecorated and the staff are professional, attentive and nice. The pool is small but fine for a swim if not too crowded and is great for kids. The restaurant is superbly organised and the food is of a very high standard. Borrowdale itself is stunning and the Hotel's main aspect is as good as you will find in the Lakes. We were lucky with the weather and after I'd finished repacking and unpacking once again I chilled out and we had a great time.
But for our experience, I would've given this review four stars and I'm sure very few rooms have this sort of problem. In fact we would love to go back soon, but I will be (even) more careful when booking next time.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise from outside room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank BillyPilgrim2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

We stayed here with our children over half term. It is marketed as a family friendly hotel and on the whole met all our expectations. However, the superior lake view room wasn't really big enough for two extra beds and the advertised activity programme for children was ad hoc to say the least.

The service too left something to be desired. The staff do not appear to be fully trained. The reception staff were ill informed about their products and services and the packages and rates available. The restaurant service was at times nothing short of shambolic.

My wife said this is what we should expect from a hotel (she is a B&B fan) but i disagree. A little time spent with staff to bring them up to speed goes a long way.

Having said all that, the hotel has been newly refurbished and is very comfortable, the food was superb, the children felt comfortable and relaxed and the staff were very friendly (lack of training is not, after all, their fault but a management failing). PJ particularly stood out as a leading light.

The facilities of the hotel are excellent and the location has to be one of the best in the Lakes.

All of this, and, as long as you go on one of their packages or breaks, very fairly priced.

We are planning a return trip.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank PatrickManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2007

In fairness to the staff at the Lordore Falls Hotel I feel impelled to write a review that adds balance to some of the lesss favourable reviews that precede us. Having almost not booked on the back of the preceding reviews we found our 4 day stay at the hotel most pleasant. Naturally the service was not always perfect ,however we found that once the staff were aware of our needs they were more than willing to ensure that we were totally satisfied. The restaurant served delightfull food (4 courses), in a dinning room with a perfect vista over Derwent Water which was particularly tranquil in the mornings as we enjoyed breakfast. The rooms were clean and well maintained by the service team and whilst we were not too impressed with the fell view it would have undoubtabley been worth spending the extra few pounds that would have bought us an unrivalled view at the front of the building.
This hotel does not stand directly on the lakeside as you might be led to believe, however it does boast excellent leisure facilities, that include a gym, swimming pool, sauna, solarium and beauty salon where my wife and I treated ourselves to a relaxing head massage.

Would we stay here again? without hesitation

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank pjakaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2007

This hotel gave us a fabulous stay in the Lake District.
The whole of the premises is absolutely immaculate, the staff are well trained & attentive to detail.
The accomodation is of the highest standard I have encountered over several years.
The food is excellent, The staff are excellent & are a credit to the training by the management.
Overall, exceptionally well run, exceptionally well managed.
We will definitely return for another stay.
Service etc. deserves 5*.

  • Liked — Immaculate presentation.
  • Disliked — Nothing !
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MartyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
958 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing