We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lodore Falls Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,257)
Filter reviews
2,257 results
Traveler rating
1,288
583
207
95
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,288
583
207
95
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslodore fallshot tuba lake view roomoutdoor poolon arrivaltower suitespa treatmentscourse menubuilding worklovely hotelflat roofafternoon tealake districtsconesfirst classleisure facilitieslounge bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,179 - 2,184 of 2,257 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Always fancied staying at the Lodore Hotel, because it looked so nice, and it used to be called "Swiss" for some reason, which I thought was lovely. But mostly it was the location which attracted me.

Well we werent disappointed! The nice girl on reception gave us a free upgrade to a fell view room on arrivval, which was lovely with a huge bed and spotless bathroom. The food was gorgeous. The swimming pool small but immaculate. Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2009

The hotel is absolutely lovely. We got the impression that it had not long been renovated and reading some of the earlier reviews on this site they now are very much out of date. Check-in was quick and easy, and our room - on the first floor with Lake views and stunning scenery - was wonderfully clean and the bathroom was spotless. It was very warm on arrival but the heating was easily adjusted. Nice robes to use during the visit and all the little features such as mini bottles of things are supplied. One niggley thing was that ironing facilities were not in the room (but are easily requested) and on delivery they were very worn out and a bit rickety.
The bar was relaxing and we enjoyed tea and scones whilst marvelling at the views from the large windows.
All the staff we encountered were delightful (many of them do not have English as their first language but this did not deter them from their efficiency) and the gentleman - who we presumed was the manager - was heard pretty much everywhere being very eager to please all his guests, even remembering our room number the next day. Another gentleman member of staff stopped to chat at the front of the hotel and advised us of an amazing route up the hill behind the hotel to enjoy the fantastic panoramic views across the lakes and beyond. What great advise it was as they were truly stunning!!
The restaurant was super-efficient, the food excellent - I had the vegetarian option which, ironically, I needed to request vegetables with my main dish - and my partner had the pork which, he claims, was fantastic. One girl in particular, with long black hair unfortunately obscuring her name badge, was an absolute delight and so happy and cheerful.
Features to look out for in Lodore Falls Hotel are the wonderful pictures and paintings adourning the walls, the nice falls walk at the back of the hotel and the brilliantly quirky elevator which just about fitted 2 of us with our cases!
Not being an affluent couple we certainly don't splash out on hotels of this standard often but the Lodore was really worth the money and we would definately return.
Ooh, one word of warning - be careful crossing each way from the car park to the Hotel - it is located on the corner of the road and is potentially a dangerous crossing. Cars don't tend to slow down. Take your time and don't take risks! OK public service announcement over!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steppitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Went for a half term break and had the most amazing time. The hotel is isolated but offers everything, the facilities are excellent everything you could want with the most fanatastic walks on your doorstep. We walked, played squash, swam and unwound in the hottub(which is booked for your private use) and sauna. The staff were as a previous review said not in the main english but they were among the most pleasant i have ever met. Then the food.....wow....it was brilliant plenty of choice and deserts to die for. A wonderful get away from it all place, you relly dont neeed to move the car.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brashers64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

I booked a weekend stay for January on the hotel's website and paid £288 for a Fell View room on a DBB basis.
Checking-in was easy and we were soon in a large room with large balcony too (although you wouldn't need it in January!)
The room felt modern with nice fittings, flat screen tv and free wifi.
We ate in the Restaurant both nights and also for breakfast. The food was of a good quality, probably four star, but not the very best I've ever had (but then I didn't expect it to be). Also, the hotel charge a supplement for Scrambled Egg and Smoked Salmon for breakfast - this is included in the rate at other hotels I have stayed at in the Lake District.
The staff were always friendly and very efficient.
Overall, I would be happy to return to this hotel and couldn't really fault it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank neilyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

This hotel is superb and much better than many of the 5 star hotels that I have stayed in. Location unbeatable.
The staff are super efficient and I would make special mention of the housekeepers (They clean but are never seen) and the waiting staff. The deputy manager also works his butt off.
On arrival we had an upgrade, superb view and lovely bed.
The menu is varied and plentiful.
Feedback.
The sports/leisure area is very small but adaquate. The hot tub is a nice touch. Please get a light to the squash court entrance, In darkness someone will fall and seriously injure themselves.
Your reception and waiting staff are super efficient. How about a hope you enjoyed your stay, Is everything ok ? The waitress Reni should be applauded as she made her service personable but remained very efficient.
Overall, I would recomment this hotel to anyone. It truly is superb.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank schobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews