We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mothers' Day Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Mothers' Day Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Booked in for Mothers' Day lunch before we came down to the Lake District for a week's break. Despite the fact that it was very busy and it was a celebration day, the service was superb and the food was amazing! Four courses for £27 and flowers or chocolates for the mums. There were half portions (for half price) of the adult four course menu for my hungry nine year old son which he loved. Great value, great food, great staff, great location. We'll be back!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your visit to The Lodore Falls on Mothering Sunday. I am pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your lunch with us and the little gifts for the mums.

I hope it was a memorable day for the whole family and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    514
    172
    77
    72
See reviews for
375
1,240
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had been looking for a mini break up in the lakes for a while and came across this hotel on secret escapes for a very good deal. We chose a lake view room and it was definitely worth paying the extra money for. Our room was lovely and had the only balcony that was great to sit on with the sunshine! The service from all the staff was great. They were all very friendly and ready to help at all times. The choice for breakfast and evening meals was good and the vegetarian options for evening meal were amazing! The only slight complaint was that breakfast took a while to be served on 2 out of the three mornings so be wary if you need to head off quickly. We will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradders2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for the delightful review you were kind enough to write following your Secret Escape with us. I have passed on the comments you make regarding service to my team who always enjoy hearing how much our guests enjoy their stay.

I am sorry to hear that the service of breakfast wasn't as prompt us usual, we pride ourselves in the service we provide, so I will investigate why this was on that particular morning. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

I hope that we will welcome you back to The Lodore Falls in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have stayed at many top hotels and this is an absolute gem.
There was 40 of us staying, as a 'business' party. The quality of the food was excellent, the best Venison ever! The staff very friendly and professional. The rooms are of a high standard, clean, comfortable and quiet. And as you would expect in the Lakes, stunning views. We will definitely be staying again. To prove how good it is, this is the first time I have left feedback on any hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_W_Knaresboroug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at lodore falls 13042014 it had been bought us a gift through amazon local. We have stayed in a lot of hotels in the lakes and this is definitely now on our favourite list. Recently refurbished our room was modern and comfortable , we were greeted by a friendly welcome and the offer of complimentary tea and cake . Our evening meal was delicious , one of the nicest we've had with good choice of wines and breakfast didn't disappoint either. Small but clean pool and outside hotub which I would recommend booking for . We are planning on returning soon after our relaxing night away .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Quality hotel situated by lake Derwentwater. On check in we were upgraded to a lake view room which was well furnished will all the usual guest requirements.The staff are friendly and well organised.
We had dinner in the restaurant on both nights and were delighted in the presentation and quality of the food.
I fully recommend this hotel and we hope to return later this year.
Thanks to the management and staff for making our stay so pleasantly memorable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hotelsleeper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrea Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Location stunning. Welcome average, room comfortable, but the description 'fell side' was rather ambitious, when we spoke to the receptionist she was rather dismissive and again on checking out it was obvious that this had been highlighted before from the stock answer. The restaurant was excellent, the food was extreemly well presented and they carried an interesting wine list, the staff were attentive at all times. Would certainly return but would be more discerning about room outlooks!

Room Tip: Choose a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catsarecool372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South west
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Booked through secret escapes and for the most part the experience was perfect.
The negatives first, booked a fell room, and got a view of the fell albeit when sitting down as otherwise only saw roof and air con units! Maybe some flowers up there to disguise the view. Also ordered champagne to be in room for arrival and wasn't but this was quickly rectified. Fiancé also had a spa treatment for which the therapist was late and the threat net shortened as a result.

In fairness these were all minor things as the rest of the stay was fantastic. The room and bathroom lovely, with the fantastic old lift! The service in the bar was fantastic always attentive to our needs and knowledgeable of the area. The food was fantastic with service once again impeccable. I mentioned on first night that the second night was my fiancé's birthday and they moved us to a table with a view of the lake for both breakfast and dinner. A lovely touch. The area around is beautiful and would recommend getting out and exploring are some awesome views and landscapes.

Overall had a great few days in the lakes, with the only problems being minor, as the title states so close to perfection! Would visit again

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing