We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel!”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

we have been to stay at this great hotel lots of times and we always have a Fantastical time!
Last year we were offered a suite to spend our stay...! so goood! great staff!! and food is soooo
brilliant! am saving up to go again!! thank you to all staff for always making our stays such a great time! and the beauty salon amazing too!

Room Tip: a lake view or a balcony suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffbun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,217
    541
    183
    87
    76
See reviews for
394
1,298
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Thursday/Friday night break away.
The surroundings are truly lovely and the hotel very comfortable.It does have an old fashioned feel about it but it was also very comfortable and the Art work was superb. The food and the staff we could not fault; excellent in every respect. The lounge areas are warm and comfortable, just the ticket in this cold and windy weather!
We also enjoyed the spa. All was lovely, although the sauna did get very full at times. I also found the private booking system of the hot tub unnecessary. I couldn't understand why a notice that simply said only 4 at a time in the tub with 15 mins maximum couldn't have sufficed. I also could not get a treatment because it was all fully booked an hour after our arrival which was somewhat disappointing as I had a voucher to spend as part of our deal.
Still, the bed was VERY comfortable and the food and staff OUTSTANDING. Would I go again? Definitely and the fact that we could also take the dogs was a real bonus.
Apparently the outdoor pool is a must in the summer.

Room Tip: Our room was a standard dog friendly one at the back, but you get what you pay for and for what we p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justoneluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Fantastic hotel, with a superb location, great views.
Food, service, rooms all really lovely - will try to get back to the hotel as it is a gem - pricey but you get what you pay for -worth paying the bit extra for a special ocassion.
We visited in winter, so didn't make the most of the amazing walks and views to be had - but will definately go back and try the spa next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauritianbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Went for birthday treat on Sunday in December. Ate dinner and breakfast, as good as I have eaten anywhere. Service fantastic. Played tennis but understandably outdoor pool was shut. Spotted squash court which didn't see on website. Room spotless.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I visited the lodore today for a spa day with my mam and sister. When we approached the Main reception staff they were very welcoming and directed us straight to the spa. We were given our Schedule off one of the beauty therapists and directed to a table for tea and fruit. But the first let down was the staff on the spa. I went down stairs to explain that there wasn't enough lockers to accommodate our belongings and one of them was hanging off, and my reply was 'we are busy' no help or anything. I also did find them to be quite arrogant and rude. Our back massages were absolutely fabulous and all 3 ladies in the therapy area were fantastic. The outdoor hot tub was lovely but could do with a visible clock so you know when your time is up. And finally our afternoon tea was lovely, well presented and tasted great. One last downside is the size of the changing rooms but overall the goods balance out the bads.


Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

All i have to say about this place is that the staff are incredibly rude, the hotel itself is clean, well decorated and not much i can say to fault it but the staff let it down. They don't seem to care about you and expect you to look after yourselves. I would recommend anyone to go find somewhere else, the hotel may not be as nice but at least you'll be treated well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Emma G

I'm sorry that you've chosen to write such an unbalanced piece on this site, but obviously pleased to be able to reply with some facts regarding your visit and our subsequent actions.

You came to the hotel on 11th January to look at our delightful function facilities with a view to holding your forthcoming wedding here. You were shown around the hotel by one of my assistant managers, who you described in your e mail to me as "lovely". Following this visit my wedding co-ordinator has attempted to contact you by phone on 5 occasions, in your e mail to me you state that no one has tried to contact you, surely you have a record of these missed calls?

I really don't understand what has led you to believe that the staff here are rude, as our reviews on this site, and others, indicate just the opposite to be the case.

Emma, I do wish you and your fiancée well in your search for a suitable wedding venue and regret that you won't be sharing your special day with us.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have just returned from a Travelzoo 2 night DB&B break at the Lodore. I will run out of superlatives with this review because it was heaven from the moment we stepped through the doors into the warm interior. From help with luggage to explanations of our entitlements under our 'deal' the staff were very slick and organised. We were treated like full paying guests.The uniforms were smart and spotless. Staff were happy and relished delivering a first class service in respect of all our requests be they for fresh milk or a bus timetable. This standard was mirrored consistently throughout the whole hotel. My standard double room was clean and warm and the bathroom spotless. Breakfast and dinner were faultless as regards choice and quality. A first class organisation. Who could not love this hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask the delightful staff for the best room available for your dates and price range. They are h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
978 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,366 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,392 reviews
16.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing