We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed, ate, drank & will stay again”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stayed, ate, drank & will stay again”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

After our last visit in July 2013 I decided to stay overnight with my boyfriend for a break and wander around the area so we could have a few drinks. Arrival was great, no problems at all checking in and the car park was across the road and no issues there either. Room, had a view of the cragg at the rear of the hotel but wasn't bothered as we went for the hotel not just the view from out room. Facilities in the room was great, only thing the room was really hot but nothing a few windows opened wouldn't fix. Drinks, they are pricey but it's a hotel so you expect to pay a little more but never had a bad drink and glasses we're clean. Food, I can't explain how beautiful tasty and fresh the good is......again never had a bad meal and the service was excellent and attentive. Bar, we went on a Friday and with a wedding their the next day the bar at night was full but we went and sat in the lounge across the way and had our drinks in their instead so no drama at all. Overall again a lovely experience and we have both said we would stay again when we can go back. Your not disappointed with the Lodore, we'll be back.......again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Alison C

Many thanks for taking the time to review Lodore on this site.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and do hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    531
    180
    84
    73
See reviews for
387
1,277
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe there are any bad reviews about lodore falls as we had an amazing time and couldn't fault it. The hotel itself is beautiful over looking the lakes yes there's a road in between to the car park but it's easy to cross with the mirrors provided. We stayed in a fells view room yes you can see the roof of the building below but there is also a beautiful view of the grounds and fells behind. The room itself was lovely and the staff helpful. The restaurant is one of the highlights with beautiful food both for dinner and breakfast. There is free bike hire which was a lot of fun and a swimming pool and jackuzzi which you have to book but didn't worry us. We had such a good time I would love to go back if I get the chance

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emlondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Emlondon_10

Many thanks for your wonderful review.

I couldn't agree more with your kind words and very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our beautiful corner of the Lakes in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night (Saturday) in a Lake View room. What can I say other than we were really impressed with the hotel, it's surroundings and the staff. The room had everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable, we slept really well. It was extremely clean and the decor was lovely. We were at a wedding so were lucky enough to experience the food there other than the breakfast and it was really excellent. Once of the nicest wedding breakfasts I've had and the breakfast next day was lovely. A first class experience and hopefully we'll go back. A+.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smiffis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Smiffis

Thank you so much for your kind words about Lodore, it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed both the wedding and the rest of our facilities. I do very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stay
Stayed two days in July 2013 as my wife and I were honoured to be invited to a wedding.

Cost
By booking well in advance we got a significant discount, i.e. almost 40% but we had to pay in full when we booked. Had the wedding not gone ahead we would have had a two day break in the lakes!

Room (126)
Facing the rear and not the best room we have stayed but more than adequate for us. We saw no point in upgrading partly because of the cost, and the fact we were going to spend as little time in the room as possible.

Food
A personal issue but we did not hear any negative comments. The Lodore Burger at £10.95 is very, very tasty. My wife said her Caesar Salad at £9.45 was beautiful. Breakfasts were as you wanted and we had no issues with the wedding catering.

Drinks
A double Baileys was £4.85 and Meister Pils (exceptional taste) was £4.25 a pint. You pay more than this in central Manchester. However a dash of cordial at 75p is over the top!

Summary
This hotel is very well Managed and is located in one of the most scenic areas you could ever visit. Guests were from all over the world and everyone we spoke to was in full praise of the hotel. People who come here have got to realise there is a premium to be paid for a hotel in this type of location.

However it is not a snobs hotel-evidenced by the muddy walking boots at the front door and the welcome to dogs. Also the Staff were very polite and helpful, although one or two of the inexperienced staff seemed to lack a little bit of confidence?

We would go back in a flash-I have posted some pictures

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear James B

Many thanks for your wonderful review of our lovely Lodore.

I feel your words totally sum up what a great hotel we have here in this beautiful corner of the lakes and am absolutely delighted that you had such a great stay with us recently.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

It didn't have the look of a walkers' hotel, more one of luxury. But we had phoned and they said our party was welcome for lunch. We left our boots at the door in deference to their carpets and headed for the bar. Service was good, prompt and cheerful - and good beers too. But the lunch really was a surprise. Even the menu was more interesting than most hotels. We all had sandwiches of one sort or another. The presentation was appetising, the food fresh, the portions large for hungry walkers and the chips a delight. Expensive? No. Good value? Yes, absolutely!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JCAW41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear JCAW41

Many thanks for taking the time to review our beautiful Lodore.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the food and service on your recent visit and very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We always stay at Lodore Hotel - Maybe six to seven times a year (maybe more) and love it.
I am getting married there in November so that says something about the place!

But just recently, (Lodore has now a rosette for their food) but I for one,do not enjoy it as much. Heres for why:-
I used to love coming down for my canopies before going in the restaurant for my meal - now you have peanuts and olives - I hate olives!!! I really miss this experience.
On the main restaurant menu we would all go mad for the venison - I used to rave to everyone about it. But when we got it this time (Sunday 6th October) I was hunting for the wonderful dauphoise potatoes (not sure of spelling) that used to accompany it!!! But there was not any!!! Just venison, cabbage (lots of) and parsnip puree.
I thought the waiters would be bringing over pots and vegs to go with it - but no - I was so disappointed. The dishes seem to be a lot less in substance now than before!!!
That said, I love the place to bits, just wish they wouldn't change such a brilliant formula.
Maybe I will go B&B from now.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Teresa P

Many thanks for taking the time to review our beautiful Lodore Falls on this site.

We developed a 5 course restaurant menu to replace the previous 4 course menu back in April of this year and now offer a daily choice of amuse bouche, 8 starters, sorbet course, 8 main courses and 8 desserts or cheese. I believe that we now offer a greater selection of interesting dishes than prior to the new menu being introduced, but do very much take on board your comments and have made Chef aware of your thoughts.

I look forward to welcoming you back next month for your wedding and know that you will have the most amazing day with us.

Kind regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The setting and main areas of the Lodore are wonderful. Staff are warm and friendly, not at all condescending or snooty. The occasional junior member of waiting staff seemed rather uncertain -but nothing to spoil the general impression. During our stay, dressed-up-to-the-nines wedding guests, ramblers with dogs and spa visitors in bathrobes comingled in the main areas and all were made to feel wecome (I say comingled - there must have been loads of people on the premises, but it never felt crowded). Downstairs has a lovely series of nooks with fireplaces, comfy chairs, books, etc. for relaxing.
We were attending a wedding, which took place outside and was absolutely beautiful - yes, their service is so great, you just ask them to arrange sunshine for you and it happens..
Where it did fall down was on the quality of the rooms. To me the price is absolutely premium, and while the hotel experience as a whole justified that, the room did not. There was nothing overtly wrong with it - it was clean, temperature OK, ba throom facilities OK - it was very slightly tired and didn't look like a 'luxury' room. I've stayed in much better appointed rooms for 1/2 or even 1/3 of the price. We booked it as a family and the room was big enough -just about - for two camp beds for the kids. Our king-sized bed was one of those where it is two singles zipped together, unfortunately one side felt substantially lower than the other so that there was a downwards slope. I mentioned it next morning to reception, they were lovely and said it could have been easily rectified if we'd said - but it was after midnight when we realised so didn't bother anyone.
Overall the location and overall hotel ambience are wonderful -shame the rooms are not quite up to scratch for the price bracket.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bajanscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Bajanscot

Thank you so much for your wonderful words about our fantastic Lodore Falls Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you had such a good time at the wedding recently, our outdoor gazebo is the most wonderful setting and the couple being blessed with great weather, just added to making the ceremony perfect.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
956 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,624 reviews
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
608 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing