We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal retreat”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An ideal retreat”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Traveled here on a Travelzoo deal. Stayed on the 2nd August and had a wonderful stay at this truly delightful hotel. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Food was very good and service perfect. Lovely gardens, brilliant spa – particularly enjoyed indulging in the hot tub located next to a babbling brook. Waterfall is stunning. This is definitely the best hotel in the lakes that we’ve visited and the others have also been good. We will be returning. This hotel is the first I’ve been able to give top rating on all aspects.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyB_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    533
    181
    84
    73
See reviews for
388
1,281
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (692)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed with a Travelzoo offer. Wonderful scenery and surroundings. Everything in the Hotel was spotlessly clean. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Nothing seemed too much trouble. I have a Gluten intolerance and my husband is Vegetarian (night mare usually) but the staff catered for everything. Very nice. Thank you for a wonderful stay. It was exceptionally hot when we were there but staff provided an extra fan. Also you can hire bicycles free of charge. Vee

Room Tip: Would try and upgrade next time to lake view - even though our room was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angels73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Change nothing about this hotel. We have just returned from a two night stay at the hotel and were very impressed. Bright airy room overlooking the Fell, with an immaculate bathroom. Very comfortable bed with good quality bedding. Food of a high standard served by very efficient and friendly staff. Gardens immaculate with beautiful floral displays. Really looking forward to our next visit. We cannot understand some of the derogatory remarks in Trip Advisor and can only assume that they have been left by envious rivals. It is a beautiful Victorian style hotel in keeping with its setting by the lake.

Room Tip: Choose either a Fell or Lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pumaastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We originally stayed in this hotel 38 years ago when it traded as the Lodore Swiss Hotel. Built in the 1800's it retains that air of Victorian elegance with fine traditional furnishings together with all the ameneties of modern life. Staffing is at a high level, they are well trained, very pleasant and keen to be of service. Food is excellent and a credit to the chefs. Being a diabetic of some years standing I wrote to the hotel before arrival asking if the chef could make me diabetic deserts during my stay. They did!! I have found the vast majority of restaurants and hotels do not and will not cater for diabetics. The Lodore Falls went that extra culinary mile which is perhaps an indication of their custome care. The gardens are guite spectacular for colour and emaculately kept. Cruises on the lake leave from the hotel's jetty and discounted tickets are available from reception. Our room was spacious, well furnished and had a comfortable king sized bed dressed with high quality linens. We were also supplied with dressing gowns and slippers. The modern en suite provided quality toiletries and large fluffy towels. All in all a very pleasant stay at a good rate for all that was included and somewhere we would stay again. For best offers ring the hotel direct.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel direct!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H-champs_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently stayed here with my family for my husband's 50th. The grounds are set in Borrowdale which is beautiful and we had a front room with fantastic views of the hills and the lake below.

Dined at the restaurant and although the decor is a bit too old fashioned and traditional for my taste, the food and wine was very good, presented stylishly and the staff were polite and quick to respond to any requests.

The hotel has an air of bygone days which added to the relaxed feel of the place. Very enjoyable time had here. I would recommend it though younger couples may prefer something a bit more modern.

Room Tip: Ask for front facing rooms with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeozCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked a family room here at the last minute. The prices are not for the faint hearted! We chose this hotel as we had walked past it many times (it is at the end of Derwentwater). Reception was very busy as there was a wedding taking place that afternoon. Also, our room was not ready until 3pm which was a little disappointing as we had a child with us.
The hotel and gardens are lovely. Our room (128) was at the end of a long corridor. The room was nice, if a little small and extremely warm (no air conditioning and little breeze being at the back of the hotel). The bathroom was clean, but lacked flair. The bed was comfortable.
We both used the spa. I had a manicure and a facial, my husband had a wet shave. Staff were very nice and helpful. I would recommend treating yourself there.
We did not eat at the hotel in the evening, it was a little formal for a six year old. Breakfast however, was very nice indeed. A good variety of food, and all well presented and fresh.
Overall, this is a lovely hotel in a great location. The staff are a real strength here, nothing is too much and they all appear to work very hard.
We will return, but in a better room next time I hope.

Room Tip: Room 128 is stuck at he back at the end of a long corridor. Lake view rooms must be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocham72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was unsure when I first arrived at the hotel, it is very traditional and we are used to staying in 5 star accommodation, however we were soon won over. The place has a certain charm to it. Our bedrooms were refurbished, one twin and one large double. Very comfortable beds and quality bedding. Bathrooms were brand new. We couldn't believe the efficiency and quickness of the cleaning staff - as soon as our breakfast was over we went to the rooms to collect our things and the room and bathroom were spotless again. Food was excellent. The staff were friendly and all of them efficient and polite. If you are lucky enough to have nice weather the grounds are just beautiful, gardens kept very well and many tables available for eating or drinking outside. We found the drinks averagely priced and in fact the wines cheaper than most establishments of this kind. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fingertipsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
959 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing