We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Family Get Together”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Family Get Together”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

What can I say this place was gorgeous, set in beautiful grounds and the staff were exceptional it should be a 5 star instead of a 4, the staff remembered my brother in law has a gluten problem and made sure everything was ok for him. Whilst we were there they were also awarded a AA Rose for excellence for the food which was sublime. All the staff remembered everything about us down to my favourite tipple. The room was always spotless and there toiletries are to die for. Damian their concierge is a man of many talents and you got the feeling he loves his job. I'm hoping to get back here in the not to distant future so thank you for making this a holiday I will never forget in rush

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolBailey_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    513
    172
    77
    72
See reviews for
374
1,240
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham Cheshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were booked into this Hotel by our sons for a surprise Birthday treat - and what a treat it was! We had a lake view room on the third floor with a magnificent view. The sunshine helped us appreciate it even more. Our room was very well equipped with top-class fittings in the bathroom, with shower/bath combination. Bottles of water were provided, together with a decent kettle and tea pot. The room was quiet and warm and we were able to enjoy a good sleep without being disturbed by the light traffic on the nearby road.The breakfasts and dinners were faultless- good ingredients well-cooked and presented.
The Hotel has superb grounds where guests can wander and take advantage of the many tables and parasols. An easy walk along the footpath at the rear of the building leads to the Lodore Falls for those guests who haven't come equipped for serious hill walking.
The Pièce de résistance however was the quality of the staff. They were without exception professional, smiling, courteous and efficient and clearly enjoyed their work. This is a Hotel that is top of our list for a return visit.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms on top floor have best views. If the sight of a flat roof causes you to foam at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaydeeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked through Secret Escapes and had a wonderful time. This hotel is set in the most amazing scenery. The room was comfortable and very clean. The staff are really friendly and helpful. All the food was wonderful.

We're looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We booked this trip through Travelzoo and I have to say that I was a little worried reading a few reviews but I needn't have been!

The hotel itself is in a Beautiful setting-overlooking a large lake, there is a road in front of the hotel (but its very quiet with no noise disturbance), and a car park opposite the hotel which is free for residents.
Upon walking into the hotel you notice the manicured grounds, lawn furniture and flowers lining the windows of the hotel.
We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who informed us that we had been upgraded to a Fellview room and answered questions we asked about the Keswick launch (which leaves from a jetty a short stroll from the hotel)
We were then given our vouchers (included in our deal) for Strawberries and pimms on arrival. I am heavily pregnant and informed the hotel of this prior to arrival so they changed mine for tea and scones :) When we went to redeem the vouchers they were out of strawberries but gave us both scones and gave my husband an extra pimms! this sort of "little extra's" service continued throughout our stay :) I( would also like to add that in a previous review someone stated they served the scones with whippy cream-its not clotted cream but it is fresh cream, not the canned stuff, and very nice :)
We stayed in room 110, which was lovely :) it was absolutely spotless with a comfortable bed and waffle robes for our use during our stay. As another treat as we were celebrating a special occasion the hotel had put a card and box of (very yummy) chocolates in our room. I did ask my husband if he had organised the upgrade and chocolates but it was all the hotel! How lovely!
As some others have said of the Fellview rooms-we did have a flat roof view over the side of the health club which others have complained about in previous reviews-if you look UP you will see the side of the fell-we really weren't bothered by this at all as we weren't there to stare out of our hotel window!
The room had great amenities, with a good hairdryer meaning I could have left mine at home, Gilchrist & Soames toiletries, Nice Big Bathsheets in the bathroom, a heated towel rail and a good selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits :)
Once we had settled into our room we decided to go for a swim-towels are provided in the health club and its £1 for a locker. Ladies be aware that the changing rooms are upstairs and may not be suitable for those with mobility problems.. After a lovely swim we went and got ready for dinner which was included in our stay. We were not disappointed by our 4 course meal.. Amuse bouche, followed by a starter, a sorbet and a main. Absolutely wonderful food with great variety and a daily specials menu. The wine list is also very nice too (my husband enjoyed the pinot noir very much), the a la carte service was impeccable with no delays waiting for food, our water glasses were constantly topped up and we were asked repeatedly if we would like more freshly made bread. We were directed to the bar area with large comfortable sofas and seating for after dinner coffee, where the little extra's continued. with our drinks, they provided extra water for my tea and a little plate of sweets and chocolates made on the premises.
Breakfast was also an a la carte experience and the food was very tasty with a good selection of cold buffet foods and the Cumbrian breakfast was fantastic.
We slept very well, the room was a good temperature considering it was fairly warm outside, the linens were lovely and the pillows were nice too.
From start to finish the staff, service, accommodation and ameneties were 5 star and we would not hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOZAGSTAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked this hotel through Secret Escapes as a package and were not disappointed. We had a small but beautifully proportioned fell side room overlooking the gardens. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. The hotel has a classic, comfortable and opulent feel with lots of comfortable sofas and chairs in the bar and lounge area that was perfect for chilling out with the newspapers and chatting. The service from all the staff was outstanding and faultless. They were cheerful and attentive and made the trip very special. We had dinner included in our package and we were blown away by the standard and quality of the experience it was delicious and exquisite.
The only fly in the ointment was the vile Scottish couple that rolled into their club room next to ours drunk, loud and very obnoxious at 1.30am each morning and kept us awake. Yes love, you really do have a mouth like a tenement fishwife. This was clearly out of the hotels control and did not deter from the fact that we had a wonderful time and would definately return.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor with gorgeous views over the gardens and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FifiD973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Lodore hotel in Borrowdale at the end of April for my partners 70th Birthday. It was brilliant from start to finish. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel was beautiful, our bedroom very comfortable with views to die for !! overlooking Derwent Water Catbells etc. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service was very good. The location of the hotel is ideal if you like to go walking. There is a jetty approx. 5minutes walk from the hotel where you can get a motor launch to either go into Keswick or just a boat trip around Derwent Water. The weather was very kind to us so that was the icing on the cake. We will definitely be returning for another visit in the near future. Well done everyone for making our stay such an enjoyable one !!!

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room with a view over Derwent Water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernito_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

First impressions of the hotel is lovely, nice looking hotel and grounds, quick and easy check-in, the problem started when we reached our room, we paid extra to get a fellview room, we had a view of a flat roof. The room was one of the smallest we have stayed in. We were there as a special treat for my birthday and were very disappointed. The only saving grace for this hotel is the food which was really good but even this was spoiled by the service, especially at breakfast, we had to wait ages before we got our food, we were seated quite quickly and then we were left for 20 mins, we had to try and catch a member of staffs attention to take our order. It’s such a shame as we wouldn’t go back.

Room Tip: Do not pay extra to get a Fellview room, what a rip-off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank molliescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,298 reviews
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,568 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,233 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing