We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at the Lodore Falls Hotel, Borrowdale!”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Early April, 2013, overlooking the lake and snow covered hills and mountains, visited the Lodore Falls Hotel for lunch. A very busy, beautifully clean, traditional-style hotel, with roaring fires in several dining areas, we chose what proved to be a well presented, delicious lunch. We tested the locally made beer and our party were impressed! Just one slight criticism, was that the tea was not piping hot, but am sure if It had been mentioned to staff it would have been exchanged for a hotter pot! Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickyViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,135)
There are newer reviews for Lodore Falls Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,485 - 1,491 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband booked a surprise child free night via Secret Escapes.The hotel is lovely.The room was larger than we expected.The staff were extremely helpful.Scones and tea on arrival.The 4 course dinner was delicious.The breakfast was plentiful.
The walk up to the falls was well worth the view.The only disappointment was heavy rain on the morning of departure and we were unable to see the falls.
We would stay here again if we planned to visit without children.We usually stay at Centre Parc in Whinfell as a family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twinkle1o1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights the weekend after Easter - our first trip to the Lake District. Our deal was through Voyage Prive and we booked a Fells View room which had a disappointing outlook onto a large flat roof but the view of the hill behind was pleasant! The room itself was a reasonable size with an enormous walk in wardrobe. The lounge for pre drinks was busy but well staffed and dinner the first night was adequate with an excellent wine list. The addition of a recommended wine list was much appreciated and we chose a delicious French Pinot Noir from it. Breakfast next day was basically a buffet but with the option of a cooked breakfast - all freshly cooked to order. The area around the hotel is perfect for walking - the waterfall and the lake make for pleasant ambling and when the weather is good as it was for our stay, the views are spectacular. We arranged to meet up with old friends for dinner at the hotel that night and Monika kindly found a table for us by a window overlooking the lake. The dinner that second night was outstanding - really beautifully presented and using fresh local ingredients. We were sorry to leave the next day - the hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the whole ambience was of relaxed efficiency. We would certainly consider staying there again, but maybe in a room with a view this time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank umw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Booked a 2 night DBB on secret escapes which turned out to be excellent value. Surprisingly the hotel website doesn't give much detail on rooms but we took a chance and booked a standard. Compact but adequate, and large enough for 2 armchairs. The television signal was shaky, but we didn't mind that. The room was recently refurbished and had a great view from the back of the hotel across to the falls.
The restaurant is excellent with superb food excellently presented. It was busy but the service was inmpressive - we never waited or had to ask for anything. Ordering is well organised - you sit down in the bar with a menu and a dish of canapes, make your choice and wait with a drink until the food is ready. Done with the minimum of fuss and maximum of comfort.
The staff are the best part. most (not all) are east European but all are very well trained, friendly and happy to offer advice and nothing was too much of a problem. There are also enough people to make sure that you never need to wait - a mark of this was on our arrival. My wife waited in the lobby while I parked the car across the road, and in the few minutes that took three staff memebers had approached her to ask if there was anything they could help with. Simply excellent!
Lodore Falls is highly recommended - we'll be back.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are fine with enough room. spend the money on a bottle of wine instead!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chuffer81A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Over the last 12 months we've not had much sleep as we had a baby boy last April. So when my mum offered to look after him for two days we booked the Lodore Falls for a dbb two night deal!
This hotel ticked every box.
Amazing food in fact I would go as far as saying outstanding.
Friendly and welcoming service, the staff really could not do enough.
Wonderful room with fabulous views.
Brilliant facilities including an outdoor hot tub overlooking the falls and the lake.
The Lodore falls is perfect for a weekend getaway. You can relax and do nothing in the hotel or venture out into the beautiful Borrowdale Valley.
We will definitely be back oh and even the biscuits in the room were amazing too!
Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KAD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Note: This report was written immediately after our stay in March but could not be posted until now because there has to be a 3 month gap between reviews of the same hotel.
I first stayed here in January with my husband on a Travelzoo offer but this time decided to splurge out on a special treat for my mother and myself, a three night stay in room 300, the so called Penthouse.
I struggled to get a clear idea of what the room layout and facilities would be like for the considerable extra cost.
Here is a description of what you get and some photos of the rooms. You enter in to a small hall. On the left is a small bathroom with a bath and shower over and one sink. There is no window and a very loud fan when you switch the light on.
On the right is the spacious lounge with a wonderful view towards the lake and a balcony. Off this room there is a door in to the bigger of the two bedrooms. This view from this bedroom is through one pane of the big front window (the other three panes belong to the lounge).
There is another window looking out the other way over the flat roof below and the hills beyond.
There is another door from this bedroom back in to the hall and to the right of this the second bedroom which looks out over the side of the building .This room and the bathroom were disappointingly small. This bedroom has two single beds and ample drawers but no wardrobe. The main bedroom has the only wardrobe. There was a television in each room and a fridge in the lounge.
It was comfortable but I didn't feel that it justified the cost.
We could have had two rooms and therefore two bathrooms for less money but then we would not have had the private lounge which was useful when the weather was bad one day.
The food was excellent again and I am sure this must be a major reason that there are so many repeat guests.
I do feel that I need to defend the female member of staff working behind the bar as mentioned in the review by RebeccaW on 14 March.
I was in the bar myself for lunch that day and heard the conversation. The reply given to the customer by the female member of staff was that they pride themselves on quality food but sometimes they make mistakes and she wished that the complaint could have been made earlier so that it could have been put right.
I do not feel that this could be described as "ignorant."
I do agree that it did take a long time for the food to arrive that day but we were lucky not to be in a hurry and when it did arrive it was delicious.
It is also a bit frustrating when you arrive in the lounge/bar area, sit down and expect someone to come to your table to serve you. This does happen in the evening but not it seems during the day when you need to order your food and drinks yourself at the bar which I personally do not like doing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We upgraded to a lake view room and weren't disappointed! Other reviewers said upgrade if you can, and it was well worth it. (room 207).
Everything about the hotel was superb, the cleanliness, the service and the food! The staff, whilst mostly non English, spoke good English and have obviously had excellent training in dealing with guests and carrying out their role.
Upon arrival we had a problem with the heated towel rail not working and as this was the only means of heat in the bathroom we asked for it to be sorted. After about 3 visits from reception/concierge, it was better but seemed to be tempermental ( the towel rail that is, not the staff!) . That would be my only criticism. Can't wait to go back, when the weather is warmer. This was not the hotel's fault!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 207 has superb lake views.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
989 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,388 reviews
7.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: $226 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing