We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodore Falls has it all!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lodore Falls has it all!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Over the last 12 months we've not had much sleep as we had a baby boy last April. So when my mum offered to look after him for two days we booked the Lodore Falls for a dbb two night deal!
This hotel ticked every box.
Amazing food in fact I would go as far as saying outstanding.
Friendly and welcoming service, the staff really could not do enough.
Wonderful room with fabulous views.
Brilliant facilities including an outdoor hot tub overlooking the falls and the lake.
The Lodore falls is perfect for a weekend getaway. You can relax and do nothing in the hotel or venture out into the beautiful Borrowdale Valley.
We will definitely be back oh and even the biscuits in the room were amazing too!
Thank you

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KAD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    505
    170
    77
    72
See reviews for
367
1,230
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Note: This report was written immediately after our stay in March but could not be posted until now because there has to be a 3 month gap between reviews of the same hotel.
I first stayed here in January with my husband on a Travelzoo offer but this time decided to splurge out on a special treat for my mother and myself, a three night stay in room 300, the so called Penthouse.
I struggled to get a clear idea of what the room layout and facilities would be like for the considerable extra cost.
Here is a description of what you get and some photos of the rooms. You enter in to a small hall. On the left is a small bathroom with a bath and shower over and one sink. There is no window and a very loud fan when you switch the light on.
On the right is the spacious lounge with a wonderful view towards the lake and a balcony. Off this room there is a door in to the bigger of the two bedrooms. This view from this bedroom is through one pane of the big front window (the other three panes belong to the lounge).
There is another window looking out the other way over the flat roof below and the hills beyond.
There is another door from this bedroom back in to the hall and to the right of this the second bedroom which looks out over the side of the building .This room and the bathroom were disappointingly small. This bedroom has two single beds and ample drawers but no wardrobe. The main bedroom has the only wardrobe. There was a television in each room and a fridge in the lounge.
It was comfortable but I didn't feel that it justified the cost.
We could have had two rooms and therefore two bathrooms for less money but then we would not have had the private lounge which was useful when the weather was bad one day.
The food was excellent again and I am sure this must be a major reason that there are so many repeat guests.
I do feel that I need to defend the female member of staff working behind the bar as mentioned in the review by RebeccaW on 14 March.
I was in the bar myself for lunch that day and heard the conversation. The reply given to the customer by the female member of staff was that they pride themselves on quality food but sometimes they make mistakes and she wished that the complaint could have been made earlier so that it could have been put right.
I do not feel that this could be described as "ignorant."
I do agree that it did take a long time for the food to arrive that day but we were lucky not to be in a hurry and when it did arrive it was delicious.
It is also a bit frustrating when you arrive in the lounge/bar area, sit down and expect someone to come to your table to serve you. This does happen in the evening but not it seems during the day when you need to order your food and drinks yourself at the bar which I personally do not like doing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We upgraded to a lake view room and weren't disappointed! Other reviewers said upgrade if you can, and it was well worth it. (room 207).
Everything about the hotel was superb, the cleanliness, the service and the food! The staff, whilst mostly non English, spoke good English and have obviously had excellent training in dealing with guests and carrying out their role.
Upon arrival we had a problem with the heated towel rail not working and as this was the only means of heat in the bathroom we asked for it to be sorted. After about 3 visits from reception/concierge, it was better but seemed to be tempermental ( the towel rail that is, not the staff!) . That would be my only criticism. Can't wait to go back, when the weather is warmer. This was not the hotel's fault!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 207 has superb lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 52Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our four night break here on the shores of Derwentwater was revitalising. We enjoyed five sunny if chilly walks followed by relaxing swims and saunas. The evening meals, equally, were high points of the days with delicious food. Our room overlooked the lake allowing us to admire the setting sun from our bed. There was a bustling, cheerful atmosphere and excellent attention to detail from the staff. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel in a superb location by the shores of Derwentwater. First impressions are that it has obviously benefitted from a recent make over. Blazing fires in the lounge areas add to the aura of cosiness and comfort. All the staff were friendly and attentive, so it's easy to feel at home here.
Our bedroom was not over-large but was spotless, well appointed and,again, very comfortable. The bathroom was impressive, with a good sized bath to relax in. However, the shower was disappointing as the water did little more than trickle from it.
Our food at breakfast and dinner was plentiful and perfectly acceptable. However, it lacked the individuality and finesse that would have lifted it into the excellent category. Also, the the dining room had a few too many tables and so gave a slightly cramped impression.
Despite these few niggles, we really enjoyed our stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lancestrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

An excellent hotel at the foot of Borrowdale. Lodore falls really has it all...good food, staff and leisure. Rooms are very comfortable and the hotel is also very spacious. The surrounding area alows for great canoeing, walking and cycling.

Room Tip: You basically pay extra for the rooms with a `view'
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We arrived early Friday morning and was greeted warmly by reception staff. The room we were allocated was simply stunning with a view of the lake. Spotlessly clean and very luxurious. The spa was great and treatments perfect (although a bit pricey). We used the pool and sauna and the hot tub (which must be booked). All the areas are very well maintained. Tennis courts must be booked in advance. The breakfast was amazing. We ate in the restaurant on the saturday night. The food was good but service could have been better...my meal arrived twice and was wrong so they took it away twice but left my husbands which meant we ate our main meal seperately. The lounge areas are huge with ample comfy seating and newspapers. Service in the bar was great...we spent all Friday night there and had sandwiches again which were delicious (snacks finish at five but feel it would be better to serve them till six). The receptionist was extremely helpful. We will definately go back...a fantastic weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSELLIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel will be completely renovated at the start of 2017 and will be completed by mid-February 2017. From the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing