We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time tp Relax”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you need a much needed break, or just somewhere that is set in a beautiful part of the world, then this is the place. stayed for 4 days, the hotel is as beautful inside as out, a must is the outside spa.... awe my goodness their is something so relaxing about being outside in the SNOW and surround by blubbles, hot water and a glass of wine. the afternoon tea taken in the lounge is so peaceful, this room over looks lake Derwent surrounded by mountings. The evening meals are first class, the attention to detail is excellent. My room was a lake veiw, breath taking.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view however you wouldnt be disappointed in the fells view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bounce2tigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,523 - 1,529 of 2,151 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed for three nights in a Lake view room which was beautifully furnished with three windows looking out over Derwentwater. The food was excellent and the staff were friendly and efficient. So good so far. The problems start when you want to sleep. The hotel is old and although they have put high quality carpets down nobody seems to have thought of fixing the creaky floorboards first. The result is that your night's sleep is at the mercy of the people in the room above and unfortunately we had people above us who liked to rise early (between 5.30 and 6.00am) and spend the next hour or so walking round the room. We went into Keswick and bought ear plugs which helped but you shouldn't have to do that in a high class hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor are quieter but please spare a thought for the people in the room below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Met up with 12 members of our family for a big birthday - very suitable for all ages. The restaurant staff were very helpful and pleasant without interfering and arranged balloons, cake cutting and pretty party table and we had the same large table throughout our stay.
The rooms were gorgeous - front view and recently updated - very nicely furnished, outstandingly beautiful views and opening windows to take in the exquisite air. Great location - walks straight from the hotel. Pleasant little spa, just right after a day out. Totally unspoilt location but warm and friendly inside.

Room Tip: Front rooms with amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myfairlady79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

just got back from a 3 day break booked through Secret Escapes.The deal included cream tea on arrival,bed breakfast and evening meal.
The food and attention to detail were top class.The hotel has a wonderful location and bedrooms/furnishing ooze comfort.
Restaurant is first class.would not hesitate to return.We took our Golden Retriever who had his own bed and blanket provided by he hotel.

Room Tip: well worth upgrading. we had a fell view room No issues at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A short, well needed, break to The Lake District brought good fortune with the weather! Expecting dull rain we were pleasantly surprised in March with calm, dry clean light. The hotel Lodore Falls is situated perfectly on Lake Derwent. We booked with a voucher and If you need an upgrade for a room with a view try asking and the price is very reasonable, unless they are booked of course. The atmosphere of the hotel in general is very peaceful and all the facilities are easily accessible. The dining room is comfortable and well appointed with well trained service, mainly Eastern European giving pleasant, friendly attention. The hotel is not modern, so don't expect 'new stuff' as this is appropriate for the location and most of all when you come from a walk you don't want to be careful about being clean! The bedrooms are comfortable and homely with clean well facilitated, and expected, furnishings. The correct star rating for a well appointed hotel.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the suites, but the club rooms have adequate views and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7GTAM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Just got back from a 2 day break through Travelzoo, it was for our 25th wedding anniversary and my birthday. The deal included winter pimms and crumpets, bed, breakfast and evening meal on both nights. This hotel is just amazing, the staff, the food and the location. On arrival was told that we had been upgraded to a lake view room (room 303) and what a beautiful room and view - it was just breathtaking. This is a great walking holiday, although myself and my husband aren't walkers, but you can't just sit there, so we donned our boots and went for a 2 hour walk - so glad we did. We cannot wait to go back to this beautiful place and this fantastic hotel. It was a long drive from Kent, but so worth it.

Room Tip: Choose a Lake View room, views are just amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryann08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My parents spent their honeymoon here 50 years ago so we thought they should go back for their Golden Wedding anniversary ( what good children we are!). They have raved about how attentive the staff were and the way that they were made to feel special on their special anniversary. There was chocolates and a card left in the room and a glass of something fizzy with their meal. My parents took the menus from their first visit with them which were perused by all the staff with interest.
I have never been to the hotel so was anxious that it would live up to expectations - IT TICKED ALL THE BOXES! I am one very happy daughter with some very relaxed and spoilt parents. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helens65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
999 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,702 reviews
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
16.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: $218 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing