We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss Schloss by the Jaws of Borrowdale”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Swiss Schloss by the Jaws of Borrowdale”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Likes:
off-season December and January prices are excellent - especially for the DBB offer.
more Christmas trees and quality decorations than you could shake a stick at.
superb nooks and chairs and tables and real fires and discrete sitting areas.
quality dinner with personable staff.
amazing setting with gorgeous views - snow-capped mountains anyone?
outdoor hot-tub is a sensation in the snow!
swimming pool a treat for weary legs.
Walks from the door - all around the lake or up and over - so much choice.
all the shopping/theatre/museum/pub delights of Keswick just 5 miles away.

Not best:
breakfast not as up-market or as varied as style of hotel suggests.
a little isolated if the weather closes in.

Room Tip: corner room with dual aspect - even when it's raining you'll still have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    524
    180
    82
    72
See reviews for
384
1,263
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Lodore Hotel – Borrowdale – Lake District
For the last 5 years we have enjoyed a January “weekend treat” at the Lodore.
We have enjoyed the quiet and reserved quality of this well established up market Lake District Hotel.
We booked again for last weekend 12th-14th January with a group of our two regular and another two friends to whom we had recommended the hotel .
Our experience was sadly disappointing and well below the standards that we have come to expect of the Lodore.
Unfortunately for us and other discerning guests the hotel was hosting a “corporate event” the attendees of which were obviously more accustomed to “seaside stag and hen parties” than a select “up market hotel”
Instead of a quiet romantic weekend break, residents were subjected to uncouth and drunken behaviour. By their own admission they bragged about everyone swapping bedrooms and “terrorising” the hotel corridors until four in the morning, with no regard to other hotel guests.
The hotel management could and should have controlled the situation but by their own admission only had “a minimum of staff” on duty in the late evening.
Despite a no smoking policy the party goers congregated outside the main doors to smoke.
As a consequence the lounges and bar was smoky and cold this was exacerbated as the heating in the main bar was faulty.
The hotel was supposed to have a ballad singer in the restaurant on Saturday night to give a pleasant “romantic” background to diners. This turned into be a karaoke session with some diners walking out in sheer disgust.
At breakfast the manners and antics of some of the corporate attendees left guests open mouthed as they walked into the dining room and helped themselves to croissant’s and juice and sauntering out as though they had come in for a kebab!
Having lodged our concerns and dismay with the management they confirmed that several other guests had complained, but said that on taking the booking they did not have any way of knowing that the attendees would be so badly behaved.
In conclusion I would advise before booking any potential guests check that the hotel will not be hosting any similar “corporate events”. Whilst I appreciate that these may appear lucrative in the short term from a commercial point of view, it is so Easy to lose a hard earned reputation for quality and excellence which in the longer term may be difficult to redeem.
On a more positive note the location and facilities at the Ladore were very good and the staff in the hotel, bars, leisure club and especially the restaurant were excellent.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a "Lake view" room its well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PAUL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

A three night stay here was excellent value, including bed, breakfast and dinner. Staff are lovely, lounge area perfect with fires burning and comfy settees, fantastic views of the lake and hills. Dinner each night was five courses with plenty of choice and an extensive vegetarian menu too. Great way to spend a few days relaxing. If you don't want to drive once you are there, there is a regular bus service into Keswick.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are wonderful, with lounge area, and two tvs if you get bored of the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst meeting up with family. The location is lovely, perfect for lots of pretty walks. We took the oppotunity to walk around Derwent water which we would highly recommend.
The staff were all very pleasant and extreamly helpful. Our room was very nice, plenty big enough for the two of us and nicely decorated in keeping with the rest of the hotel. The rooms and hotel as a whole appeared clean and well managed.
We got time to use the indoor swimming pool and outdoor hot tub, it was a cold night but the hot tub was lovely, well worth a go!
Breakfast was awesome, plenty of options for the healthy and not so healthy, everything was of very high quality and will certainly set you up for the day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahandChris69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights, thehotel is a little put in the sticks but good for walking. The rooms are clean and ok but the menu is not varied and the hotel tries to bemore than it is! If you like exquisite hotels this is for you but if want a place that does your standard grubb look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mhobbs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent one night here with friends as a New Year treat. After a very wet walk up Castle Crags we found a warm welcome at the hotel. The usual staff were away at a Christmas party but the stand-ins (from sister hotels) were all, without exception, friendly, professional, hardworking and willing to help in any way they could. We had rooms on the 3rd floor overlooking Derwentwater. They had everything we could wish for and a lovely hot bath.
Meanwhile all our wet clothes and boots were taken to the drying room and dried out overnight. There weren't many guests staying while we were there but we still had a great menu choice (and tasty appetisers whilst we had drinks). The dining room was nicely decorated, the service attentive and friendly, the food delicious. After the meal there were several areas with comfy chairs and open fires to sit and relax with coffee and petit fours.
Breakfast next day was just as delicious with great choice and cooked to order.
Before we left, we took a walk up the path (still raining!) behind the hotel to view the famous Lodore Falls which were spectacular after the heavy rain. We didn't have time to use the spa, swimming pool or outdoor hot-tub but they looked great. We all want to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake and on higher levels would give the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazel-paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were tempted to try a stay at this hotel by a Travelzoo offer. We had visited once before one very busy weekend lunchtime just for a meal and thought then that it might be worth a try as the location looking out over Derwentwater is impressive.
The rooms were pretty much as expected. Some of them have fairly old fashioned furnishings with heavily patterned carpets ( eg.dining room) but the bedroom we chose was plainer and looked as though it had been recently refurbished. Our room was at the side of the hotel which was fine but some of the ones at the back must have a poor outlook. The old part of the hotel has suffered from various flat roofed extensions and the rear of the hotel is not very attractive with ducts and extractors spoiling the look of it.
The food however was above our expectations. The chef is doing a marvellous job cooking a good variety of wholesome, tasty meals each evening. The menu changed each night meaning that you could easily spend a week there and not have to repeat your meal choice. The cooked breakfasts were also well done with my husband enjoying the smoked haddock with poached egg on both days because he said it was so delicious. It was the natural smoked fish not the bright yellow variety and it was served with herb butter.
Part of our Travelzoo offer was Winter Pimms with crumpets which we had on our second day. The Pimms was served with hot apple juice and the crumpets toasted with butter and jam and served attractively in the pleasant lounge bar. Pity it has a gas fire, would have been nicer with a real one.
We had different teams of serving staff on our two night stay. the first night we were asked to sign for everything before we could even get a drink to our lips and asked twice to sign for a bottle of wine. On the second night it was completely different and were not asked to sign once but were asked our room number by one waiter three times.
We thought it would have been more professional if the guests names or room numbers could be remembered or at least they were asked to sign for their drinks once at the end of the evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
940 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing