We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here 19th and 20th November 2012. Hotel is old style but has lots of lovely character. we stayed in a Lake view room, not large but adequate. Staff excellent and very attentive. Smiles and always willing to help. Hotel expensive but we paid our bill happily knowing we had a great time. Evening meals were not very hot and when we had them sent back they came back with overcooked meat. Overall the only down side is the food for the price. would stay again but will be harder on Mike Ward the Chef if luke warm meals are served.

Room Tip: We had a quote from Secret Escapes but found it cheaper to book direct. Lake view room has great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,591 - 1,597 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed for just one night and this hotel which is not a cheap. Reception very indifferent, after arrival we went into the garden for tea and scones. The tea arrived and proceeded to get cold whilst some 10 minutes after the scones arrived and they were really not that good! The room was small but was ok and clean. The bed was a disaster, the matters was completely malformed and had a fair angled gradient up toward the center. Got an infestation of wasps in the early hours of the morning, since I could not sleep and ended up watching TV and the light must have attracted them in, I was forced to close the window. The next day I informed the receptionist, since he did not bother to enquire anything about our stay, about the issues and he had a dismissive attitude. He told me that they would have been told by other customers if the bed was so bad, my reply was that it is not a customer’s duty to tell you about things that have gone so drastically wrong with your service, it is your duty to check that you have supplied a service which is up to the standard of a so called high end hotel, especially when we are paying close to 130 pounds for the pleasure! I wrote to the hotel manager the following week and got no reply back. May be it was just our bad luck but the service and the whole experience was not remotely satisfactory whatsoever, so be advised! Would not use again.

Room Tip: We stayed for just one night and this hotel which is not a cheap. Reception very indifferent, after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drsea66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is very well situated. It has been grand in the past but I was surprised that the bedrooms had not kept pace with upgrades to the public areas. For the Lake District it was very good but did not compare favorably with four star hotels in the city. I was disappointing with my evening meal but breakfast was excellent. In summary old world hotel that is not quite keeping up with modern times. We would stay again in the summer taking a lake view room and probably eating elsewhere in the evening.

Room Tip: 'Fell View' rooms seem to me to have a fairly limited view - close to trees so not a wide vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunnerside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed 17th+18th Nov.
On arrival at 14:30 found a wedding party about to start, was not informed of this when booking but I am glad to say this did not impact on our stay.
The good
Saturday night meal 10 out of 10, Sunday 9 out of 10
The bad
anyone visiting the waterfall behind the hotel can have a conversation with the guests in the hot tub.
The worrying, for me
the lack of local people employed in the hotel and the price of drinks in the bar ( looked like 50% more the The Skiddaw for a glass of wine )

All in all the hotel exceeded our expectations and we found the staff very friendly and helpful, will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3ark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for reviewing our wonderful Lodore Falls Hotel on this site and in such a style that it brought a smile to our faces.

The Good: It's fantastic to read that you enjoyed the food served in our Lake View Restaurant and I believe your experience to be far more in keeping with our normal standards than that expressed by the previous reviewer.

The Bad: Why not have a conversation with the guests in the hot tub?

The Worrying: I am extremely proud of each and every one of the team here at Lodore, whether they come from Keswick or further afield. A 175ml glass of house wine at Lodore is £4.65 whilst the same product at our sister hote, The Skiddaw, is £3.95.

I enjoyed reading your review, I enjoyed replying to your review and I will most certainly enjoy welcoming you back to Lodore again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Going to try and be brief. Could only get away for one night for wedding anniversary on a DBB offer for 2. Lovely touch we were upgraded to a corner 3rd floor room with beautiful autumnal lake/fell views and a card and box of chocs! Fantastic location, just wish had more time to walk.
Had booked afternoon tea, but rather late arriving, so maybe it took the edge off dinner, but we were not over impressed with either in truth. It was OK. I had melon and proscuitto - melon been kept too cold and meat hard and dry, hubbie liked his cray fish starter. Next up pan fried calves liver, I always go for this as so rarely see it nowadays , was asked if served pink was alright for me ? well this time it wasn't. Liver cut to different thicknesses so cooked differently, a subsequent leather crust on outside and over cooked or gooey inside, hubbies salmon came in a lurid orange coloured sauce and again rated just ok. Played safe with desserts, had cheese. There was a little jus on my liver and I was asked if I would like extra, said yes, to have a small jug tipped over everything, some sort of homogenous gloop, just tasted awful. Dining room was busy, noticed several ate as little as us, and others ate the lot, so there you have it! You can't please all the people etc etc.
Enjoyed leisure facilities, room, lovely furnishings, comfy bed, nice ambience, all trimmed up for Christmas, and plenty of sofas and fires to enjoy. Tiny lift, goes with the place really, so be healthy or be prepared to wait for it! Hair dryer didn't work in room, dropped it off on way out, and asked for a replacement for next morning, never happened and no one seemed fussed - can't say I was terribly bothered as was going home. Yes would go again, but maybe just have a steak or eat out.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dooley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to review our beautiful Lodore Falls Hotel on this site.

We are always delighted when guests choose to share their important dates with us and will always try and go the extra mile by providing an upgrade, if available, and making gestures such as card and chocolates. We do genuinely believe that these are the touches our guests deserve and as a caring family company, we are only too pleased to oblige.

I am sorry to read that our food did not met with you expectations, but must comment that generally we do get extremely favorable comments regarding the fayre served in the Lake View Restaurant.

Thank you, once again, for your kind comments and I hope that you will give us the opportunity of looking after you again when you next visit this most special corner of the Lake District.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

All service we experienced here was high-calibre and fulfilled with precision - many of the staff come from a variety of other countries but all adopt a common approach to providing friendly and efficient service. The food was cooked to perfection at all times, even when the restaurant was very busy - and the variety and quality of dishes is second to none. We had a beautiful view from our room of the river and landscaped gardens - frequented by many feathered friends who were also being well looked after by their generous hosts who provide nibbles for them. Already heavily decked for Christmas, the hotel is well-prepared for the festive season - complete with Chrimbo ale! Walkers are well provided for due to the great location, the hotel overlooks Derwentwater - a circular lakeside walk is roughly nine miles, or you could walk into Keswick and catch the local bus back to the front door of the hotel!

Room Tip: Get a park view room to enjoy overlooking the landscaped gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to post this wonderful review of our gorgeous Lodore Falls Hotel on this site.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and have passed on your kind comments to all concerned.

Thank you once again and I do very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We decided to take a five day break closer to home, after a hectic Summer. When you book these things you read and digest the previous comments, taking both extremes with a pinch of salt. We had a fantastic two room suite overlooking Derwentwater, views to die for.
The room was great well maintained and clean, and the standard did not dip for the four days of our stay , even though we had 4 yes 4 dogs with us, who were made welcome and not something they claim to do they really are dog friendly. The service in all areas was first class from the bar to room service. On a final note I am more than capable of moaning, so the only comment is why do Eastern Europeans beat us locals for customer service by miles. Thanks to you all

Room Tip: Overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gilly1962Stirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Many thanks for your wonderful review of our marvelous Lodore Falls Hotel.

I am so please to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on your kind words to all concerned.

Thank you once again and I do very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to this fantastic corner of the Lake District again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
998 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,701 reviews
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,399 reviews
16.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: $216 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing