We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Lodore Falls for a 2 night break with our 15 year old son.

Room was clean, spacious and 'pretty.' Bathroom great, big bath with plenty of hot water available, and gorgeous fluffy towels.

We had taken the DBB option, and I can highly recommend the food. A good range of choice and some of the best quality hotel restaurant food i have tasted. Breakfast was a buffet with cereals, pastries, yoghurt, fruit etc. Then you could order from the hot menu which had a fantastic selection ranging from the usual bacon, tomato, sausage, black pudding and so on to smoked haddock and poached egg.

All the staff that I encountered were polite and courteous without being overbearing -a brilliant achievement across the board!

The outdoor swimming pool was closed without any explanation, but we made use of the gym facilities and the tennis courts.

As has already been mentioned on here, the car park is across the road, but there is no problem with stopping outside the hotel to unload luggage.

The hotel is, of course in a beautiful setting but the excellent service and the attention to detail together with the 'old world charm' really does make this place feel first class.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,641 - 1,647 of 2,164 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our ruby wedding anniversary at the Ladore Falls Hotel. On arrival we where informed that we had a room upgrade to a lake view suite. Our suite was immaculately clean and the super kingsize bed extremely comfortable. Our deal was dbb and the food was at the top end of hotel fare with a good choice of menu. We would reccommend this hotel wholeheartedly. just one extremly minor point, this hotel as well as all others we have stayed in seem to be able to prepare superb food but unable to make good brown crispy toast!!!! . Overall a first class a* three day break.

Room Tip: Room 101 first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is our third visit and the best yet. We were given a free upgrade to a Lake View room and it was so much nicer- modern and spacious with a lovely view. There were chocolates waiting for us and the toiletries were 'upgraded' by adding bath crystals (small but appreciated!). Fluffy white towels, lashings of hot water, extra deep bath, bathrobe...all highly prized after a very long but wonderful walk from the doorstep. Evening dinner started with complimentary canapes and after some fizz we went to our window seat in the lake view restaurant (need to request it early) for a really tasty evening dinner - just the right amount of food, vegetables done to perfection and a good range of starters and desserts. Complimentary after dinner coffee (you can ask for latte/hot choc instead) with petit fours was taken in one of the cosy sitting rooms with its own fire. Bed was kingsize and super comfy. Breakfast next morning was a very hearty Cumbrian affair and lasted me until evening dinner! Many of the hotels I have stayed in have been very samey (often the case with boutique hotels and large franchises), this was very old style but with modern conveniences. I agree that the spa isn't a highlight, the astmosphere though is...lots of returning customers enjoying being well taken care of by friendly staff and contentedly sitting around the bar lounge or sitting rooms making conversation with other guests in the evening. Lovely!

Room Tip: LAke view rooms have been refurbished. They have tower suites and 2-room suites as well as a penthou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1907Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We thought we'd picked up a bargain and we had! The location of this hotel means fantastic views - even better than we thought thet would be. From the rooms to the restaurant everything was superb. But even including the way the hotel was refurbished it was the staff who came out on top. Excellent service all round coupled with great food. I would like to highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Lake views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramps01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fabulous lakeside location (near Keswick), with a landing stage across the road and a splendid waterfall behind the hotel
My partner and I spent 5 nights here on a weekday b and b package. The public areas are great, with capacious sofas to fall into whilst enjoying a few drinks from the bar! Breakfast was excellent, with the cooked option freshly prepared to order. We had dinner in the hotel one evening and it was first rate. Our bedroom was a bit pokey but adequate - and probaly appropriate to our bargain rate! It's probably worth 'splashing out' on a room with a lake view if you can. Staff were extremely nice, professional and helpful, without being intrusive. Didn't sample the leisure facilities, so can't really comment on that aspect. A really relaxing short break with lots of walks, trips etc in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baymadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had Sunday lunch here on the 23rd of September.
Its posh but makes every one welcome. Has a good bar area where you can have a drink, choose your lunch and wine and take in the view of the lake.
The service is first rate and the waitres had just been on a wine course and gave us a very good recomendation of SA Pinotage.
It looks like its going to be very pricey but its OK.
Lunch was £89 for 3 people including wine and pre lunch drinks of fizz and ale. One of us had 3 courses and two had two.
Only strange thing here is you have to go to the bar to pay for your meal aftrewards which must reduce the ability of the staff to get a decent tip.
Will go back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I recently had lunch here and was seriously disappointed in the quality. You will get much better lunch time food in many run of the mill pubs. They served what I call "plastic" chips and the rest of the food was no better than average. Do not get me wrong......there was nothing WRONG with it but considering the reputation of this hotel locally it was disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,011 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,723 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: $170 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing