We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Service at the Falls”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We thought we'd picked up a bargain and we had! The location of this hotel means fantastic views - even better than we thought thet would be. From the rooms to the restaurant everything was superb. But even including the way the hotel was refurbished it was the staff who came out on top. Excellent service all round coupled with great food. I would like to highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Lake views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramps01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,648 - 1,654 of 2,168 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fabulous lakeside location (near Keswick), with a landing stage across the road and a splendid waterfall behind the hotel
My partner and I spent 5 nights here on a weekday b and b package. The public areas are great, with capacious sofas to fall into whilst enjoying a few drinks from the bar! Breakfast was excellent, with the cooked option freshly prepared to order. We had dinner in the hotel one evening and it was first rate. Our bedroom was a bit pokey but adequate - and probaly appropriate to our bargain rate! It's probably worth 'splashing out' on a room with a lake view if you can. Staff were extremely nice, professional and helpful, without being intrusive. Didn't sample the leisure facilities, so can't really comment on that aspect. A really relaxing short break with lots of walks, trips etc in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baymadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had Sunday lunch here on the 23rd of September.
Its posh but makes every one welcome. Has a good bar area where you can have a drink, choose your lunch and wine and take in the view of the lake.
The service is first rate and the waitres had just been on a wine course and gave us a very good recomendation of SA Pinotage.
It looks like its going to be very pricey but its OK.
Lunch was £89 for 3 people including wine and pre lunch drinks of fizz and ale. One of us had 3 courses and two had two.
Only strange thing here is you have to go to the bar to pay for your meal aftrewards which must reduce the ability of the staff to get a decent tip.
Will go back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I recently had lunch here and was seriously disappointed in the quality. You will get much better lunch time food in many run of the mill pubs. They served what I call "plastic" chips and the rest of the food was no better than average. Do not get me wrong......there was nothing WRONG with it but considering the reputation of this hotel locally it was disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

as a positive:
- Great breakfast
- Homely feel - lots of sofa's and fireplaces
- Recently refurbished rooms - (but one was still being completed while we were stopping which wasn't good)
- You must try the hot tub though - that's the best bit as it's outdoors in the Lakes.

but some negatives:
- The spa was a disappointment - the treatments were provided by (in our opinion) inexperienced staff and the facilities are better at my local health club. No relaxation areas with big fluffy towels or anything... When having a massage, although they gave opportunity to say if there was a specific area to work on, specific pressure, they still gave the same massage to everyone.
- The age range was high - most couples were over 60
- The response to complaint about decorating whilst in the room - simply "i'm sorry"

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hewlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have been to the Lodore twice as a day-visitor; once to use the spa for an evening treat and once for coffee with my parents en route to the launch on the lake. The so-called spa is a tiny pool with a sauna shed squeezed next to it, which on the Sunday I went for my relaxing evening was full of teenagers dive-bombing each other. The staff spoke very little english and the spa area was unoccupied. The massage was excellent, but the idea of sitting surrounded by shouting kids whilst trying to unwind is ridiculous. I was offered the option of sitting in the foyer to eat my meal while in a skimpy dressing gown, but as the foyer was also like a youth club, with doors opening every few minutes to let in a icy gale, I decided against that idea. Not at all what their website suggests and very poor for a hotel with such a grand image of itself. A few weeks later I took my elderly parents there for coffee and was disgusted that I had to order the coffee at the bar while waiting staff walked right past us and then pay almost £13 for three coffees.
Overrated.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank louby64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stumbled on this magnificent hotel on our last night before returning to London to fly home. Magical is the only word I can use. There is nothing more serene or calming than being there. A ride around the lake by boat, even on a misty day, was beautiful. After traveling by car for 14 days through Wales and the Lake District, it was the perfect end to our trip. Hard to return to reality after being there!

Room Tip: Can't imagine a bad room anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcg7wv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,015 reviews
7.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
475 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: $170 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the four-star Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award-Winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Hotel Improvement works 2017. We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand-new luxury spa, dining experience, and 18 new bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guest’s experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing