We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going that extra mile for guests”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Going that extra mile for guests”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had a great overnight stay in Lodore Falls for DB&B. As returning guests we were given a reduced rate. I had invited relatives [who were visiting from the USA] to join us for Dinner, one of which was very elderly. The staff enquired about special diet seating etc.and when we arrived for dinner were very solicitous and attentive. The staff even made sure that we had a very quiet corner of the lounge with really comfy chairs! All of this without asking!
Our accomodation was superb with a large sitting room overlooking the Lake.
The Dinner was excellent with a wide range of dishes - but still being told to ask, if anything we wated was not on the menu. The vegetarian choice was extensive.
Breakfast was VERY generous with an excellent range of dishes.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the lake are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    514
    172
    77
    72
See reviews for
375
1,240
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (671)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Despite recent reviews on trip advisor we booked and went for a weekend break. The hotel was in an excellent location with the welcome being of the highest order. The entire staff were helpful and knowledgeable. The food in the dining rooms was near Michelin standard and we now are on a diet! I often wonder what other people eat when they complain about meals, neither the service or the quality or quantity of food could be faulted. There were small areas that needed some refurbishment, but it was obvious to me that work is on going and every effort is being made to maintain the high standards. A huge thank you to the staff member who hails from the north east (Geordie) for making our visit special. Yes the prices are high (we got a deal through Travel Zoo) but if you want lower prices try the youth hostels or the lower star hotels. We went as a two sets of friends for a relaxing weekend - it did what it said on the tin! We would go back again.

Room Tip: Try a lake side room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank double07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Lovely old hotel right on derwentwater and close to all that the lake district offers if you are going by car. Our rooms were great and the food delicious. Not cheap but well worth every penny and if you like afternoon tea don't miss theirs.

Room Tip: We were in the old hotel so could hear the falls, we liked it but might be noisy for some
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We travel at least twice per month around the world and have been upmarket hotel owners. This is a basically decent hotel that takes advantage of a fine position and captive market, but is an under invested cash-cow and stretches the art of marketing and semantics.

First, its mighty expensive - you pay for the location, but the public areas, restaurant and rooms (we saw only a few so may be a tad unfair) were tired and lacking much needed investment. Our room at £214 per night was small and very average, the bathroom very disappointing. Secondly, to call the pool, sauna and hot tub a spa is a stretch, we think a stretch too far. Gardens lovely, well kept and a big plus that dogs are welcome.

Food fine, in some cases very good, but starters were tired and had clearly been 'prepped' a long time before serving. Wine reasonably priced. Our biggest bugbear was the deliberate pricing confusion and clearly staff who were encouraged to exploit the lack of clarity. Dinner was priced as 2 course or 4. Once one ordered starters and main course, the immediate question was "...would we like a sorbet...". Easy to accept the kind offer, but then as one only later discovers the cost of that sorbet is effectively £8 (£28 for 2 courses, £36 for 3 OR 4, even if no desert was ordered). Even the pleasant and hard working waiting staff looked awkward at that little gem and the menu was at best opaque on the matter.

A pleasant place in a beautiful location with owners who appear to want to extract the maximum spend once only - a shame and a short-sighted error, we won't return to the Lodore Falls for the sake of an £8 sorbet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Docstone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Our daily table d hote menu does indeed offer two courses @ £28 or three or four courses @ £36.00, I don't really understand why this is in the slightest bit "opaque" and very much regret that the issue seems to have clouded your opinion of this wonderful hotel.

I would be delighted to welcome you back to our gorgeous corner of the Lake District should your view of this issue soften in the future.
Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Having stayed at other hotels in this group and being charging £260 per night for two nights B&B at Lodore Falls Hotel in late April 2012 we had reasonable expectations.
Reality was the room was sub standard and the evening meal (at extra cost) deplorable, we advised on the first night we were checking out and they offered another similar room which we declined. The breakfast the next morning was even poorer quality than the evening meal and when checking out they debited our VISA the full amount for the two nights without any recompense.
The management of this hotel have no idea about customer service and have only one objective to take your money no matter what!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the poorer the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy the room or food offered during your time with us last weekend and very much regret that you found it necessary to leave the hotel earlier than planned. My team did offer alternative accommodation, which you rejected.

We certainly did not receive any other adverse comments as to the quality of our food, in fact just the opposite was the case with many compliments received on the quality of both the food and service in the restaurant so I find your assertion to the contrary quite bewildering.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

This is now our third trip to Lodore Falls Hotel and the second time that we have extended out stay whilst there. It certainly ticks all the boxes for us.

Firstly my large golden retriever is welcomed and able to stay with us in our room, we book a family room which is large enough for two boys (10 & 13) myself and my husband, and whilst the rooms are not the most luxurious in which I've stayed they offer incredible value for money for all of us. I should point out that the hotel does have more luxurious accommodation but this is a walking holiday so we spend little time in the room itself.

The food here however is second to none, the menu is always superb and the staff bend over backwards to suit our needs (I have one child who is slighly fussy and is a bit to big for the childrens menu.) To date I have not come across a member of staff in this hotel who has not been more than helpful.

The hotel facilities are alway clean and well managed, the spa tends to be booked up early especially over weekend so if you think you will require a massage or require a beauty treatment it is good to book before you arrive. The indoor pool is adequate and when the weather was hot last April, the hotel opened the outdoor pool as well. There is a well equipped gym if you didn't get enough exercise walking around the Lakes, tennis courts and this year we found the squash courts.

The squash courts are the only unkempt area of the hotel, hidden behind ivy they are not obvious and inside they are damp and slightly smelly but as we didn't know they existed the boys were just happy to find them.

The hotel is also perfectly positioned for walkers, with Derwent water opposite there are plenty of easy and more challenging walks on the doorstep.

We will definitely be booking for a 4th year next year!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theoneandonlydlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Just returned from the Lodore where I enjoyed 2 days with my dog. Had booked as 3 of my children were at a local outward bound centre with the school and I decided to be nearby just in case they missed me, which they did not. Lovely room, fantastic food, reasonable priced pre dinner drinks by the fire with the dog, good beauty treatments, beautiful walks. Ran out of time to do everything I wanted but think I will go again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patchesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing