We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's so frustrating ...................”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2012

It's so frustrating that the Lodore doesn't quite deliver what it should.

Don't get me wrong, it's a nice hotel (beautifully situated, well appointed, good restaurant), but at the prices charged, so it should be. We have now stayed here more than once and we'd certainly go again, but what could be a truly great experience tends to fall short due to 'niggles'.

Let me elaborate about our recent stay, which was a few days at the Lodore between Christmas and New Year:

The first problem was the 20 minute queue to check in. The frustrations were compounded by the sight of additional staff through a glass window steadfastly ignoring the log-jam out front.

Though we were a party of three adults, the bar staff regularly brought the pre-prepared canapes for two.

Dinner frequently differed in small ways from what had been on the menu ... absent vegetables or garnish, different elements etc.

Restaurant staff's invitation to place an order would come across more like a barked command. Indeed, the general friendliness of the staff (with a few notable exceptions) was pretty low.

The dining room was so crowded that I could easily and without effort reach out and touch guests on two separate other tables; not conducive to a peaceful fine-dining experience!

The sommelier would interrupt part way through courses (and conversations) to ensure that he had a written counter-signature for wine orders.

There was a wedding being hosted during our stay, and whilst I appreciate that in these circumstaces the wedding party tend to feel as though they should be the centre of attention, we felt that the hotel could have done rather more to insulate the other paying guests from hordes of over-excited children etc.

Looking at some other recent reviews it may be that we simply hit the hotel (staff) at a low ebb between their Christmas and New Year specials, but as I began it is a shame that the hotel's potential is not being achieved for the lack of a little bit of additional staff training and just that final 'polish'.

Incidentally, our overall rating of 3/5 is in the context of an establishment of this calibre and price range. Despite niggles, it's a very pleasant place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLJDOGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on this site.

I would dispute your assertion that staff were "steadfastly ignoring" you at check in as this just wasn't the case. The period between Christmas and New Year is a very busy time and I was tremendously proud of how the team coped with saying goodbye to our Christmas package guests, cleaned the entire hotel and welcomed a full check in all within a few short hours.

Your remarks regarding the quality of service and friendliness of my team are wildly out of step with the vast majority of reviews on here, but I do regret any difficulty you experienced.

I am pleased to read that you finish by pointing out what a pleasant place to stay The Lodore Falls Hotel is and very much hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,845 - 1,851 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

Reasonable hotel, with excellent dining but our room a bit dated and view over the flat roofs at the rear worse than expected for the price. Couldn't form much more of an opinion during a brief one night stay.

Main criticism is their complete disregard for data protection. Booked online, and whilst there asked them to ensure we were not included on any mailings lists. But then received perhaps 10 emails and hard brochures over a period of 12 months, despite complaining and asking them to stop each time.

Hope others get more co-operation and respect!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ijgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

A truly magnificent New Year's break. A full, but non-taxing, programme of events, sumptuous food, and nothing too much trouble for the staff.

A great place for couples and families of all ages; with a separate programme for the younger ones who wanted to take part.

The New Year's Day buffet was magnificent. I didn't even get to the desserts (no room) ...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMuk08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

My report is very similar to Polaris Mike’s! We too have just returned from a Christmas stay at the Lodore Falls. We had a 4 night stay as upon booking the 3 night package we wre offered a complimentary B&B the night before, and as we were travelling from Lincolnshire we took grateful advantage of this. We have never been away for Christmas before, although its something I have always wanted to do, and this was the first time that it was possible. My expectations were very high (so I could have been badly disappointed…) The weather throughout our 3 day stay was pretty grim with continual heavy rain and strong winds – but this did not effect anything for us. We also took our dog, only his second holiday and he is 7, so it was quite a high risk! On our arrival the night before Christmas Eve we were met with a stunningly beautiful hotel lobby area, along the theme of the Nutcracker suite, with mannequins in sparkly ballerina outfits and more Christmas tress than you could image…quite quite magical. We were given a special “dog in room” sign to hang on the door, and allocated a specific time to have our room cleaned so we could be out. (How sensible!). We ate in the café area of the Spa (our choice) , and had a simple but delicious supper of soup and sandwiches. Our room was 110, and that night we were lulled to sleep buy the waterfall and river running past the hotel. (which changed in tune as it became fuller over the next few days). Returning from our walk on Christmas Eve we too were astonished to fresh fruit, a bottle of excellent wine, and a lovely ( and large) box of chocolates. (we were so astonished that for a while we thought they were a gist from a friend, before realising that they were a gift from the hotel!) . We too took the opportunity to sample the Hot Mulled Wine and Mince Pies, but took them too our room. (would you like a tray madam? ) . Indeed throughout the whole stay the staff were just amazing. I really do not know how they did what they di, and stayed so cheerful, so unfailingly helpful, and the personal touches and attention to details were just amazing. Later that evening we enjoyed a 7 course “Gala Banquet”. Which lived up to its name.- one of the best that we have ever eaten. During the course of the meal we were even treated to a carol rendition by the local singers and magic tricks by a local magician - a wonderful evening. We then instead of having toasted marshmallows and punch – which should have been by the lake but was rained off , we went to the utterly charming Crosthwaite Parish Church 4 miles up the Valley to attend the Midnight Service. This was led by a wonderful lady vicar, and was very special and very meaningful. . On Christmas morning after breakfast we went for a walk in the rain around the lake, and returned in time to change for Christmas Lunch. On returning to our room we were again surprised to find that a large box with six engraved glasses had been left on our bed from the management as a Christmas gift. At lunch again the attention to detail was amazing, with hats, crackers, and favour boxes with party poppers and balloons. Father Christmas was handing out present to the children too. We were surprised to find such a choice of main course for a Christmas Lunch, and I really enjoyed my venison! Good intentions about only having a snack at supper time dissolved upon seeing the menu (although it was made quite clear that we could have had just one course but…!)

Boxing Day began with another great breakfast, after which we wandered up to see the Lodore Falls, in a break in the rain! The Falls were amazing, I hadn’t realised just how high they were until we walked up to them – and we were then able to entertain friends for lunch, with a reserved and quiet table in the bar. The Gala Buffet in the evening was just astounding in the artistry, preparation and work that had gone into it. (it tasted pretty good too!). There was a casino, but we chose not to partake of that and retired after dinner.
There were 24 children staying in the hotel, and I was really impressed by the arrangements that had been made to look after them. There seemed to be a good and all encompassing selection of activities, and the concept of having “Santa’s Nannies” seemed to give both children and parents a break, which as the weather was so bad, could have otherwise resulted in some very stressed out parents.

After another fantastic breakfast on 27 December we left for home.

My expectations were high, (arguably too high) and actually they were met, plus!
I know that this review is full of superlatives, but really it was just amazing, and actually incredibly good value for money too.

Like Polarismike I believe the last comment must be about the food - fantastic just about sums it up - 11 out of 10 would be a correct rating - the Chef is an artist in his own right!!!!!!! Many thanks to the Lodore Falls Hotel for a wonderful Christmas. Once again many thanks

Room Tip: Room 110 is good for dogs as it is at the end of the corridor. You can also hear the wwater fall and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sally-Ann56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My family (2 adults, 2 children, 3 yrs & 11 yrs stayed at the Lodore Falls in December 2011, for 3 nights. The Hotel had no tollerance for children at all, we were hounded in and out of the restaurant, asked several times for the children to keep quiet and asked several times to keep the children in their seats. It was the most child unfriendly place we have ever stayed and would definately not recomend to anyone with disabled children.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

What a misleading piece you have written.

Lodore Falls is an extremely child friendly hotel, so much so that even have a range of children's activities every day throughout the school holiday periods. Indeed there are wonderful reviews on this site regarding the fantastic way in which we look after our youngest visitors.

Going back to your visit, you will recall that other diners in the hotel restaurant requested that your children were better behaved as their conduct was spoiling their dining experience. My restaurant manager passed these comments on to you, discretely, so as you were aware of the feelings of your fellow diners. To write a review on here blaming the hotel's child policy is very unfair and says much more about you than it says about the care offered by this most wonderful and well regarded hotel.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We went to visit Lodore fall because i had seen so many beautiful pictures of the water fall..The hotel is very charming and we had a great time in the bar area.So worth it as the water falls was AMAZING !!We will be back with friends to stay next time!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in August 2011 and after a wonderful short break decided to spend a 3 day Christmas break at this hotel.
I have made some good decisions during my 60+ years but this was one of my best.
The weather throughout our 3 day stay was abysmal with continual heavy rain and strong winds - BUT - the hotel were up to the task and made our stay a very memorable one.
On our arrival on Christmas Eve we were met with Hot Mulled Wine and fantastic Mince Pies before we went to our room - number 137 - to find an impeccable room complete with fresh fruit, a bottle of excellent wine, 2 bottles of water and various toiletries.
Later that evening after changing into evening wear we partook of a 7 course meal - one of the finest that I have ever eaten.During the course of the meal we were even treated to a carol rendition by the local singers and magic tricks by a local magician - a wonderful evening.
On retiring to our room we were astonished to find that a large box containing several engraved glasses had been left on our bed from the management as a Christmas gift - what a perfect end to a perfect day.
On Christmas morning we were treated to an excellent breakfast followed later by another fantastic 7 course meal for lunch and then a light supper for the evening meal - we certainly needed to sit and relax after such wonderful food.
Boxing Day began with another great breakfast - followed by the dissappointment of being unable to partake of the cruise on Derwentwater due to the inclement weather. This of course was soon forgotten by partaking of a light lunch and the again having to be totally spoilt by the Gala Buffet in the evening - the Chef really did excel in the food department.
Following this a casino night was arranged where toy money was handed out and the now well fed guests competed for the prize of a magnum of champagne.
After another fantastic breakfast on 27 December my wife and I departed for home knowing that we will return in the future.
To briefly sum up - if there is a better hotel in the UK or anywhere else for that matter then I have not found it - - the staff were attentive in every aspect, the room was as near perfect as one gets, the gifts that greeted our arrival in the room together with the box of engraved glasses were breathtaking - but I believe the last comment must be about the food - fantastic just about sums it up - 11 out of 10 would be a correct rating - the Chef is an artist in hios own right!!!!!!!
Many thanks to the Lodore Falls Hotel for a wonderful Christmas - I am just puzzled by one aspect however - the hotel is rated as a 4* hotel - I believe it should be at least 5* if not more.

Once again many thanks

Room Tip: All of the rooms appeared to have been of the same high standard - I did not hear one word of compla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polarismike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#3 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,028 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,752 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Keswick CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range: $150 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the four-star Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award-Winning 2 AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Hotel Improvement works 2017. We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand-new luxury spa, dining experience, and 18 new bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guest’s experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale, Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing