We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular guests for 40 years - and we'll return again and again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Regular guests for 40 years - and we'll return again and again”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Service excellent - great attention to detail and to guests' needs. Room offered had spendid views. A superb hotel to relax in. Wonderful location in the heart of the Lakes. Food was of the highest standard, comparable to any restaurant in central London.

Room Tip: look out for special deals on the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    513
    172
    77
    72
See reviews for
374
1,240
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We booked a Spa Day for my daughter's 27th birthday (4 of us) various ages.
What a warm welcome and the staff were super, spa staff and manger lovely, excellent food.
So good we booked again there and then for my birthday in November. Fabulous location.
The hot tub is fabulous - sat drinking wine outside in the sun shine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andymilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have just returned from our second visit to this lovely hotel. Again it was truly amazing. The staff were exceptionally welcoming and made us feel valued. The food was the best we've ever had in a hotel, both breakfast and dinner. The room was a standard but modern with nice decor and very clean (very comfy bed). Location superb for walking or catching the launch to Keswick. Not cheap but excellent value. I was very impressed by their policy of including everyone..ie walkers, families, pets and although the hotel was busy the staff always had time for a chat and a smile. Would recommend to anyone. Perfect!

Room Tip: Try Travelzoo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VioletSurfboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have just retruned from a two night "Gourmet" stay at the Lodore Falls.

The hotel itself is lovely and occupies a fabulous position on the lake with the extra £80 we paid for a 3rd floor lake view room being worth every penny. The room itself was well appointed and very comfortable.

Staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel itself was very comfortable and the leisure facilities, whilst on the small side, were very good.

it was also very good (and somewhat unusual) to see activities for children (sport, films etc..) being provided. .

The only issue we had was with the food served as a 4 course "gourmet" dinner and valued by the hotel at £36 per person of the overall price that we had paid to stay.

It varied from clumsy to appalling.

My starter of home cured gravad lax consisted of barely a dessert spoon of roughly hacked and barely flavoured salmon , all of which had been lifted from the fishes bloodline (the dark grey meat in the centre).

My wifes "assiette" consisted of some of the strangest combinations of food we had ever seen, including a slice of cooked (possibly smoked but couldnt tell) duck breast presented on 3 pieces of plain cooked pasta. Another item consisted of a slice of cheap breasola on top of a teaspoon of plain cous cous.

The next course consisted of either soup or blackcurrant sorbet - my wifes soup was fine, but whilst the sorbet was ok, it was very sweet as would have been better placed on the dessert menu rather than being offered as a palette cleanser.

Main courses were mediocre at best - my wifes "meduim rare" roast beef was served very well done with a fairly gluey mash. My pheasant was dry. Both main courses gave the impression of having sat on the pass, under lamps for a period of time - odd considering this was the one course we waited a very long time for (the others all arriving, annoyingly very quickly one after the other).

We both opted for cheese as a final course hoping for some of the excellent local cheeses that are produced in surrounding Cumbria and Lancashire.

What we actually got were 3 very small slices of poor quality mass produced cheese , accompanied by 3 tiny pieces of curled up celery and grapes that were shrivelled and in some cases actually rotting.

Having sat for 20 minutes after our cheese plates were cleared we finally left the restaurant without having been offered coffee.

The following evening we opted to eat at another hotel close by, which offered simple, local, very well cooked food at reasonable prices.

My opinion would be that the hotel is a fantastic place to stay, but that the food served in the restaurant, based on our experience, consists of poor quality ingredients, in very small portions (I am not a large man, but was by no means full after 4 courses) and poorly executed.

We would glady stay again, but on a B&B basis.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pay for a 3rd floor lake view - worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review our beautiful Lodore Falls Hotel on this site.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the facilities, location and service during your time with us but disappointed to read your comments regarding the food served in the Lake View Restaurant. It is such a shame that you didn't bring your concerns to our attention whilst at the hotel, as we would have undoubtedly have been any to resolve any issues and saved the need for you to leave us less than satisfied. I feel confident that our food standards are extremely high, a fact that is clearly evident by the vast majority of reviews on this site, and I remain disappointed not to have been made aware of your unease at the time of your stay.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stapleford Abbotts
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The staff were terrific and we enjoyed some fantastic meals, the best we have tasted in a hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: We stayed in lake view rooms- well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Primarily we went to this hotel to attend a friend’s wedding but we stayed 3 nights to make it a mini-break. We weren’t particularly involved with the wedding arrangements but from what we could see the hotel provided a very helpful and efficient service. Certainly we enjoyed the whole experience and would recommend it as a wedding venue.

The hotel is pleasantly situated, close to the lake and the falls are almost in its grounds. A lovely place to stay (and get married).

We got a free upgrade from a lake-view to a 2-room suit so we are biased but we were pleased with the service and amenities. There is a fairly warm outdoor pool and a very pleasant indoor pool and sauna. (Hot tub OK but limited).

Service was good (although they did forget our breakfast order once). The Friday night barbecue food was of excellent quality; the normal restaurant meals were good but not exceptional.

I did cause a bit of a commotion at reception as I wanted to pay for something that had been left off my bill. They had to get the duty manager to sort out such a request!

Do be aware – it isn’t cheap. But I would go again if in the area.

(One very small concern. They were very keen for me to write a review on TripAdvisor, even offering a small incentive if I showed them my review if I stayed again. Would I have been encouraged in the same way if I had had cause to complain? Is this open to misuse? No accusations, just a niggle of the potential for abuse of the system).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcluer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puglia, Italy
Level Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel. The emphasis is on good old fashioned service, cleanliness, excellent food and quality furniture and decor.

From the moment we arrived we found the staff exceptional in every way and would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,298 reviews
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,566 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,233 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing