We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's ok but dated”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“It's ok but dated”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed for three nights. The room was nice but hot as there is no air conditioning.
We expected fresh food for breakfast, so was disappointed to see most of the fruit was tinned! The bar could do with being modernised along with the restaurant, it's a great look for the 70's!
There doesn't seem to be any local staff that work at the hotel, they all seem to be Eastern European and not particularly friendly.
The location of the hotel was wonderful overlooking the lake. There is a boat that takes you to Keswick which is a very nice market town. That said the hotel is situated in a great location to explore the Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick-in-Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    516
    176
    78
    72
See reviews for
377
1,248
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here 3 months ago on a 2 night Special Deal on Trip Advisor and loved it so much we just had to come back - this time for 3 nights. Of course it was more expensive but was now in season. The restaurant, food and staff were great. Unfortunately as the weather was so good we did not get round to trying the Spa or the Swimming Pool! We will be back again next year!

Room Tip: On each occasion we had a lakeside view room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweedledumHungerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The whole experience was second to none. The wedding was absolutely superb and all aspects of the hotel service and food could not be faulted.
Our lake view room was of the highest quality. I would recommend the hotel and fully intend to return
thank you

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizpurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2011

After our sixth stay at this wonderful hotel , all I can say is that it gets better. Staff very friendly , it feels like a second home to us.

Room Tip: Ask about the lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les_fish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2011

My daughter got married on 14th May this year, the Hotel was the best place ever for the wedding, the staff were brilliant, the venue was superb. The staff set up the wedding venue which looked fantastic each time they had to change the room we never knew they were there that’s how efficient they were. The rooms were of a very high standard, we all love staying there. I would highly recommend the hotel for a wedding or even just to stay there for a holiday.

Many Thanks
Les James
Father of the bride

Room Tip: The penthouse is a very high standard room with excellent views of the lake and fells
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyjames27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Only stayed the one night DBB and can't fault the hotel for location and cleanliness. Staff were generally very friendly but felt certain aspects of the room required tidying up for the price of the room and the food on the evening was disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooreh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on this site. I am disappointed to read you felt that our food at dinner was disappointing, I would be pleased to know a little more detail so as we can ensure any deviation from our normal high standard is rectified immediately. My contact details are: stephen@lodorefallshotel.co.uk or 017687 77285.

Thank you once again for reviewing the Lodore.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

The hotel was fabulous and had two great pools, one indoor and one outdoor. Breakfast and dinner were both superb. We got a free room upgrade, which had stunning views over the lake. There are amazing walks in the vicinity of the hotel and you can catch the boat to keswick from the nearby pier.

I have only one minor quibble about the hotel....We wanted to get some sandwiches just after 5pm, to keep us going till dinner. We were told in the bar that they had stopped serving food since 5, but that we could get food in the leisure centre. When we arrived in the leisure centre, the menu was exactly the same as the bar and therefore I presumed it was being prepared in the same kitchen. In fact, we sat outside at the same table that we were sitting at when we'd tried to order the food in the bar. All very strange and I'm not sure why customers would be sent from one part of the hotel to the other to be served the same food at the same table. Clearly not thinking of their customers on this one. Apart from that minor faux pas, everything was great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillLaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing