We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A FANTASTIC, RELAXING STAY, IN A BEAUTIFUL,FRIENDLY HOTEL”
Review of Lodore Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodore Falls Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A FANTASTIC, RELAXING STAY, IN A BEAUTIFUL,FRIENDLY HOTEL”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Just returned from our third visit to this fantastic hotel.Alex on reception welcomes us back more like old friends than just guests. The staff are so friendly and helpful, there is nothing they wont do for you.The food was wonderful and the comfortable settees and chairs by the fires are just right to fall into and relax afterwards sipping our coffee. Our room each time has been perfect, comfortable and roomy.My husband and son-in-law and 3yr old grandson had a great time in the swimming pool and hot tub every afternoon after our little walks.There are lots of walks out and around the hotel and near by. Its just perfect for our needs and cannot wait to return for our 4th time with more of our family. Thanks Alex and your fantastic team for giving us a wonderful short stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186346william
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    524
    180
    81
    72
See reviews for
384
1,262
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Polegate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Beautiful hotel , nice location with overlooking mountains and river.easy to acess.Room was nicely furnished , excellent house keeping. food was deleicious ,very friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawas60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on this site, the whole team here at Lodore are delighted to read of your enjoyment of the hotel and facilities. We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to this beautiful part of the world again in the future.

Many thanks once again for your kind words.

kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Really enjoyed this hotel, which is in the most fantastic position. The service had a personal touch.All the staff were friendly and went out of their way to help. The public rooms had squashy sofas and fires and were really pleasant places to sit. Rooms were well decorated and very comfortable. Free upgrade of room helped to make really good value for money. Breakfast was excellent and everywhere was clean and well maintained. It isn't cheap but I felt that we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finnsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel on this site, the whole team here at Lodore are delighted to read of your enjoyment of the hotel and facilities and very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to this beautiful part of the world again in the future.

Many thanks once again for your kind words.

kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridlington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We have been lucky enough to stay at some very special hotels on our travels and seldom has trip advisor let me down. However on this occasion - what can i say? I find it hard to believe all of these rave reviews are about the hotel we stayed at! Maybe we are just of the wrong generation (I do not wish to offend anyone!) however, I did get a distinct feel of the 'residential home' as soon as we walked through the door. A poor elderly gent had collapsed at the bottom of the stairs as we were leaving...
Negatives...
Seriously dated and in need of renovation, ancient lift, rooms nothing special and poorly designed bathroom (wc too close to toilet roll holder and door, damaged bathroom surface and socket hanging off the wall)
Poor value for money - I paid £150 'managers last minute special' and felt seriously cheated- the room was supposed to be over £200.
Positives
Good location
Largely foreign staff tried hard to please
Free wifi
Food not bad, husband had roast beef and Yorkshire pudding (chef forgot the Yorkshire pudding but this was swiftly rectified). I had strawberry pavlova for dessert, it was made with a bought in meringue nest.
All in all we felt pleased to leave and felt the place did not live up to expectations portrayed by the company web site.
Also - be careful when leaving, it's situated on a lethal blind corner, needs a pedestrian crossing!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodoreGM, General Manager at Lodore Falls Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our beautiful Lodore Falls Hotel on this site.

I'm somewhat bemused by your comments regarding the hotel being like a "residential home" as one of our major business sources is from the family market! People love the fact that we have indoor and outdoor swimming pools, hot tub, gymnasium, sauna, beauty salon, tennis court, squash court, private waterfall, 40 acres of grounds, two restaurants and two bars - hardly the typical residential home.

It is unfortunate that you didn't advise us of the maintenance issues in your room at the time you were here as we could have rectified them immediately, thereby ensuring that there was no inconvenience caused. I do however apologise for there being a problem in the first place and assure you that this has now been rectified.

The gentleman whose knee gave way whilst coming down the main staircase of the hotel is now feeling much better following a stay in our local hospital.

I am pleased to advise you that the meringue nest used in the pavlova was made on site here at Lodore and that we would never dream of "buying in" such a product.

Finally I would point out that your review is very much at odds with the vast majority of contributors to this site, a fact other readers will, I'm sure, take into consideration when deciding where to stay in the Lake District.

Kind regards

Stephen Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We had booked a 2-night special offer through Travelzoo and had a most enjoyable stay at this excellent hotel. A great location on Derwentwater with easy access to local walks and the lake ferry but only a couple of miles to Keswick with all its facilities. Our room had a view of the fells and was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food and service excellent for both breakfast and dinner (included for our first night). I was very pleased to see a top-class hotel serving real ale at the bar, most unusual in my experience. We were offered a third night at a similar reduced rate but unfortunately had to return home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanleeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights DBB. The hotel was very clean and the staff were approachable, happy and enthusiastic. The food at breakfast and dinner was of a high standard. Our lake view room which may better be described as a side lake view was spacious and spotless. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

This was our second stay at the Lodore Falls Hotel, first staying there 3 years ago for our wedding honeymoon. This stay was for our wedding anniversary. We were luckily and received had a free room upgrade (not because of our wedding anniversary). When they discovered it was our anniversary we received a box of chocolates. The food is excellent as is the service. We are wondering why we did not return sooner after our honeymoon. We now intend to make an annual visit to the Lodore Falls Hotel.

Kev & Aimee

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kev1273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borrowdale
15.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
940 reviews
9.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,272 reviews
9.4 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodore Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodore Falls Hotel

Property: Lodore Falls Hotel
Address: Borrowdale | Keswick, Borrowdale CA12 5UX, England (Formerly Hilton Keswick Lodore)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodore Falls Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Borrowdale valley and overlooking Lake Derwentwater, the Lodore Falls Hotel has one of the finest settings in the Lake District, with access to some of the most impressive walks in the area from the front door. The hotel offers the Lakeland welcome associated with family ownership and courteous staff, who are always on hand to welcome and assist you in a friendly way during your stay. Delicious light meals and afternoon teas are available throughout the day in the comfortable lounges overlooking Derwentwater and in the early evening you can enjoy a drink in the bar before experiencing some of the region's finest cuisine served in the elegant Award Winning AA Rosette Lake View restaurant. Famous for style, service and hospitality, the Lodore Falls Hotel offers the perfect location to suit all tastes. Hotel Improvement works 2017 We have exciting plans to create a new chapter in the history of the Lodore Falls Hotel. The ground floor of the hotel has been completely renovated, from the start of our renovations in January 2017 our leisure club and beauty salon will remain closed until Summer 2018, when we reveal our brand new luxury spa and a brasserie restaurant with an outdoor terrace, as well as 18 new exclusive bedroom suites. While this carefully planned development is underway we will do everything in our power to ensure these works do not impact on our guests experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Lodore Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodore Falls Keswick
Hotel Lodore Falls
Lodore Falls Hotel Borrowdale/Keswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing