We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and wine, albeit a bit expensive”

Langstrath Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Borrowdale
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Costa del Sol
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very good food and wine, albeit a bit expensive”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Despite not having visited the restaurant for two years, we were immediately recognised by the senior waitress, who made us feel very welcome. There were some communication problems with the Polish waitress whose command of English isn't great, and she needs some training in how to put dishes gently on the table, but she smiled throughout! The starters of soup and smoked trout were very good, although the bed of rocket under the smoked trout could have been omitted or replaced by some simple green leaves. The wholemeal bread was very good, but we were disappointed that there was only one slice each - when we asked for more, we were told that only sliced white bread was available. A restaurant of this type should have plenty of bread available at all times.
The main courses of Cumberland sausage and gammon were really good and more than adequate - my wife couldn't finish her sausage dish.
The wine list is a bit limited and very expensive, but the Italian red that we had was unusual and truly delicious. It would be good if there were house wines available at a more reasonable price - everything is over £20 a bottle.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeevesCostadelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    57
    8
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flawless, even on a bank holiday”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Visited the Langstrath on Sunday 25th August in the middle of a very sunny bank holiday. The pub and the gardens both heaving with customers yet the staff made everyone welcome and tried their best to accommodate everyone even if they had not booked. If there was space to sit down, the staff did their best to get food to them. We, luckily had booked.
Considering how busy it was, I would have expected standards to have slipped a little but this was not the case at all. All our food was excellent and by far the best food I have had in a very long time and we eat out a lot, about once a week.
Thank you to all the staff. Keep up the great work!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YT_Skieveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice place but over priced”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stopped at the Langstrath for a lunchtime snack whilst walking in the area. The Inn is very clean and tidy with well appointed furnishings and a pleasant atmosphere. We had soup, bacon baguettes and a drink – all of which were very nice but very over priced for what was being offered. The staff were attentive, but not over friendly, and we felt that the pricing was probably determined by the location and lack of other facilities in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Lovely Lakeland country inn set magnificent surroundings. Ate in the restaurant which was at the rear of the pub with fabulous views. Quite a good selection of dishes on the menu. We both had the fish pie which was good served with lovely home cooked chips.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice family meal”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a perfectly pleasant meal here - 2 adults, 2 children. The waitress was friendly and helpful. The food was nicely cooked, delivered swiftly and plentiful. We would certainly be happy to recommend this place and to come again ourselves.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Langstrath Country Inn also viewed

 

Been to Langstrath Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing