We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ashness Farm
Nearby Hotels
$297
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
$269
$260
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
$207
$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$215
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveler rating
71
16
10
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
16
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaiden moorb broad leadingcausey pikenarrow bridgestunning viewsbassenthwaite lakeguest loungestorage spacehomemade breadcooked breakfastbreakfast was excellentother guestssurprise viewa great place to staystayed for nightsanne
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 99 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Thank you Ann for your kindness and well kept farm B and B, and thanks to an amazing week of lovely weather for our first ever week in the Lake District. The views and surrounding area to Ashness, are so beautiful and with the lovely sunshine we were comparing our holiday to the South of France- favourably!
The farm, bedroom and breakfast were lovely and we felt like we had a real experience of the English countryside and farm life. Talking to Ann was like having a discussion with Ruth from the Archers! We loved it. As the weather was so completely fantastic we spent most of the day walking and sightseeing, eating and drinking, and little time at the farm and missed out a bit on seeing the animals. One night we went to the Theatre at the Lake to see An Inspector Calls which was a very good production. We have missed Borrowdale since coming home, back to much cooler weather and city life. Great memories from this holiday will keep us going until our next holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay at Ashness Farm. The location is perfect with views out over the hills and Derwent water. Lovely comfortable and clean ensuite room, a fantastic breakfast and a packed lunch set us up for a days walking in the most beautiful scenery. A visit to see a play at Keswick's Theatre by the Lake was a treat in the evening. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_and_Tina_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We arrived on a beautiful evening in the middle of the lambing season. The field under our window was full of new born lambs which was absolutely delightful. WE enjoyed walking from the farm gate moments from some of the most stunning views in Borrowdale. The hospitality was superb. We had the residents lounge with its huge log burner to ourselves and just enjoyed relaxing with our glass of wine - neer for a moment did we consider putting on the TV! Being in the middle of nowhere the WiFi is not terribly fast but perfectly adequate. We were pleasantly surprised to have a good mobile signal too. If you want to get away from it, in great comfort, this is the place!

Room Tip: Only some rooms have baths, the rest showers; ours was as big as the main room!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosalin101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

You are in for a relaxing comfortable stay. This is a gem in Borrowdale showing life on a real live farm. Bedrooms are simple but comfortable and warm. We have been coming for the past 10 years and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in March at this Farm and had a great time. Our room was Armboth, ensuite with a huge bath and plenty of hot water for a good shower. If you ask for the folding bed as we did, the room is a bit snug for three people. Very clean. Great views and central location, close to Keswick (10 minutes by car).

The family is very friendly, make you feel welcome and are happy to chat. This is a nice touch because at other b&b you sometimes feel like an intruder.

As in other comments, if you have to be away at a certain time its best to ask for an early breakfast as this can take a while.

Breakfast was good, thick bacon and fresh loaf of bread every morning.

Would recommend this place!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5tumplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews